Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Next years recruits....

• 05-02-2013 7:45pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 295 ✭✭

I thought it might be nice to see what ye lads are bringing on for next year. I have no new recruits for birds next year (thank god, couldn't handle 3 years in a row training)

But..... I do have a few new recruits for foxes! The lemon/white & black/white are brother and sister. They are springer x beagle. The other bitch is from barking lines & is barking rabbits at just 6 months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 411 ✭✭garyc007

i will be training up 2 pointer pups and also a springer pup! now theres a handfull! il try and pop up some pics later

• Closed Accounts Posts: 295 ✭✭Shoot2kill

Sorry the other pic didn't come up right.

garyc007 wrote: »
    i will be training up 2 pointer pups and also a springer pup! now theres a handfull! il try and pop up some pics later

Jaysus you will have an eventful summer :D nothing like it though! Ive had young dogs the last 3 years which I thoroughly enjoyed training but next season I'm just looking forward to being able to work them.

Those young pups in the photo will just run away with the other fox dogs, hopefully they will come along themselves through the summer, plenty game and scent is all they need.

il have 2 springers and 2 pointers going for next season hopefully so i should have a good team! heres a pic of one of the pointers and the new pup

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭EPointer=Birdss

My pups is coming on well. Getting strong & easing her into her training.

E11C11E3-8200-4E16-BB52-A52F4241087D-526-00000049C362D5F7_zpsfe6ea492.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,357 ✭✭✭gregers85

Got this lad last weekend! Harvey! Just turned 4 months! showing loads of potential! Fine and strong for his age and very well bred! looking forward to a good summer of training :)

240150.jpg

240151.jpg

Here's a quick video of him retrieving a small dummy for me today :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 210 ✭✭good logs...

deerhound frist cross, and two harriers......all coming on nicely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭Clinty

I've to springers on my hands this year to train one just finished its first season just gone with 23 pheasant a few mallard teal woodcock and a snipe over him absolutely chuffed with him jus put a polish on him over the summer on a few rabbits and he's done. I also have a seven month old bitch who hasn't even seen game yet and has it all ahead of her.. Exiting times ahead

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,147 ✭✭✭dev110

My pups is coming on well. Getting strong & easing her into her training.

What age is she now? It looks like she is going to be a very powerful dog. The width of her chest.
    gregers85 wrote: »
    Got this lad last weekend! Harvey! Just turned 4 months! showing loads of potential! Fine and strong for his age and very well bred! looking forward to a good summer of training :)

Best of luck with him. Lovely looking dog.
    deerhound frist cross, and two harriers......all coming on nicely.

I love that first pic!

I may get a pic of my 3 month old pup up, that's if he will stay still long enough.

5.5 months I think Dev.
    She has a very wide chest & shoulders. Very square. Had her in the bog yesterday. She's was delighted. Have to be careful with em though - coz few drains & holes a pup would get lost in 2 mins if not on the ball.

Most of my shooting land is bog and when training my first springer he fell into a smallish drain with a little water in it. He was 6 months at that stage. It took me ages to get him used to water after it.

Here is my 3 month old springer.

DSC_0044_zps39a844a2.jpg

dev110 wrote: »
    Most of my shooting land is bog and when training my first springer he fell into a smallish drain with a little water in it. He was 6 months at that stage. It took me ages to get him used to water after it.

Ya I was consciously avoiding drains & holes & sticking to the heather & bracken but in places its hard to avoid but you could easily sour a dog so worth some thought. Was doing very well til about 5 mins from home & the older dog shunted her into a drain when she was crossing a board. No harm done but whipped her out, plenty of rubs & off again without much fuss. I could of killed him but just one of those things.
    Worst of all was I lost my good lead. Was discussed so must walk back my tracks later & look for it

DSC_0044_zps39a844a2.jpg

She looks like a right lunatic :D Nice pup!

Shoot2kill wrote: »
    She looks like a right lunatic :D Nice pup!

Its a he :D
    Nothing stops him! Can't wait to see him in the field. I say there won't be any cover left :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,357 ✭✭✭gregers85

Best of luck with him. Lovely looking dog.

Thanks Dev! same to you, he looks a lovely pup
    Its a he :D
    Nothing stops him! Can't wait to see him in the field. I say there won't be any cover left :cool:

My lad is the same mad as a hatter! cant wait to see what he can do when he gets stronger!

DSC_0044_zps39a844a2.jpg

she bears some similarity to my pup dev :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 340 ✭✭xchrisshana

thats not my bitch sorry dont know what happened there il try again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 340 ✭✭xchrisshana

here she is:D this is molly i have high hopes for her she is showing me all good things so far

the new pup and 2.5 bitch. if the pup turns out anything like the current one il be happy

Lovely dogs Gary

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,174 ✭✭✭fiestaman

Heres my lad, hes nearly 13mts old now. I hope he does me proud this november as i didnt hunt him the season gone. I just worked on training, hope it pays off. Il be shooting rabbits in a few months now for him.

LAD DOES ANYONE KNOW WHY WHEN I POST A PICTURE FROM PHOTOBUCKET ON MY ANDROID IT BRINGS UP MY FULL ALBUM. CAN MODS HELP??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 493 ✭✭pheasntstalker

:D:Dsmashing dogs lads, my springer bitch jess will be dropping the nxt generation in about 4 wks time(fingers crossed) so things will be hectic,will let ye know how things go

Lovely dogs Gary

thanks dev. think you might have a brother of the pup there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,008 ✭✭✭TriggerPL

garyc007 wrote: »

thanks dev. think you might have a brother of the pup there?

Dev dog is a full litter brother of your dog Gary along with mine ! Must put up pics she is really starting to motor now !

I'm looking forward to updates on how ye'r dogs turn out. Will be interesting to have 3 from the same litter on here.

my ones showing great signs too. mad for retrieving and id say shel be a demon in the cover,the first time i walked her she ran straight for the first hedge & never left the ditches. id a job keepin her out cos shes too small for some of it yet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

227F39E6_zps9dee3fa9.jpg
    686B7562_zps5e160a53.jpg
    This is Heidi
    Father is a Hungarian vizsla and mother a gwp
    Look forward to bringing her out to the fields
    She knows basic commands And will sit and hold from 20 feet or more
    Next season can't come quick enough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,791 ✭✭✭LIFFY FISHING

http://db.tt/4BtkbyLZ

This is Rosco, he is 27mts old and is the first dog I ever had.
    Got him 12th Jan, and even got to shoot iver him this year, trained by Tom O 'Connor in Kerry, we both cant wait till next season& thanks to all on boards who helped me in choosing the breed , he is really cool.

Lovely Dog and I wish you many a seasons shooting over him