Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Getting Married to yourself

• 04-02-2013 1:21pm
    Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,198 Mod ✭✭✭✭

What if you decided to have a huge, lavish and opulent wedding ceremony and reception - where you got married to yourself as opposed to another person.

Think of the benefits - wedding presents galore and guests and a fancy reception without the hassle of actually having to shack up with someone else who let's face it would just get on your tits half the time.

Oh, and to ensue the guests actually attended, you would pretend on the invitations that you were marrying someone else but the truth would come out at the actual ceremony.

Discuss...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

this happened on Glee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,354 ✭✭✭nocoverart

Glee? I'm fookin out!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭BUBBLE WRAP

That's a very selfish thing to do OP. :mad:

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,946 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 305 ✭✭Jimminy Mc Fukhead

Then you could go fuck yourself.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,198 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

I've never watched Glee. I actually had a dream about this last night.

Dammit...if I want to marry myself, then why can't I?

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,641 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

Consumating the marriage would be great craic!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,462 ✭✭✭davetherave

But what would the ushers/greeters do?

Good morning sir/Madam, are you with the Bride/Groom or the Bride/Groom?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭Plazaman

It'd be pretty lonely at the top table.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭Max Power

But what would the ushers/greeters do?
    Usher and greet obviously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

Would that technically make you gay?

If people want to get married to thenselves I don't see why they can't.

As Bjork sang on her 1995 song Isobel...

"My name Isobel, married to myself"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

JupiterKid wrote: »

Discuss...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,956 ✭✭✭Doc Ruby

antodeco wrote: »
    Consumating the marriage would be great craic!
    It's an internet love story.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,043 ✭✭✭MurdyWurdy

Would you wear a white dress? (I'm presuming you're male to have even have brought this up in the first place)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭Phill Ewinn

Married a storybook once. Didn't end well.

Why wear a white dress if you are a male (like me)? I'd wear a grooms' tails or maybe a kilt.

Going starkers is also an option - the Betazoids (of which the delectable Deanna Troi is one of) marry in the nude.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,043 ✭✭✭MurdyWurdy

Why wear a white dress if you are a male (like me)? I'd wear a grooms' tails or maybe a kilt.

Going starkers is also an option - the Betazoids (of which the delectable Deanna Troi is one of) marry in the nude.

It's be more entertaining if you wore a white dress. You could wear an outfit that was split down the middle, one half white dress, one half tails.

also, what would your first dance with yourself be?

Good idea, but I'd want a pre-nup, I wouldn't trust me not to take me for everything I have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 901 ✭✭✭Vicar in a tutu

Well what ever floats his boat...

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 12,573 Mod ✭✭✭✭miamee

Didn't yer woman have a wedding party for herself in Sex & The City so she'd get loads of presents?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,468 ✭✭✭CruelCoin

What if you decided to have a huge, lavish and opulent wedding ceremony and reception - where you got married to yourself as opposed to another person.

Think of the benefits - wedding presents galore and guests and a fancy reception without the hassle of actually having to shack up with someone else who let's face it would just get on your tits half the time.

Oh, and to ensue the guests actually attended, you would pretend on the invitations that you were marrying someone else but the truth would come out at the actual ceremony.

Discuss...

So if you're a guy doing this, how does consumation work?

Do you, you know, put it inside yourself?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭danslevent

Some same marriage isn't allowed in Ireland so a male marrying himself who is a male? The church will smite you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭mackeire

iDave wrote: »
    Would that technically make you gay?
    No it would technically make you an idiot!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 901 ✭✭✭Vicar in a tutu

danslevent wrote: »
    Some same marriage isn't allowed in Ireland so a male marrying himself who is a male? The church will smite you

They'd probably burst into a ball of flames at the alter :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

phasers wrote: »
    this happened on Glee.

Change of topic anyone?

Aaaaaaaaaaaand how does phasers know this?? :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,375 ✭✭✭DoesNotCompute

Still a better love story than Twilight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 148 ✭✭marnie d

miamee wrote: »
    Didn't yer woman have a wedding party for herself in Sex & The City so she'd get loads of presents?

No, she just pretended to, her shoes were stolen at a christening party, as all the guests had to take off their shoes, and when she said to the host, she made out like Carrie had nothing but shoes to worry about as she had no husband and kids. So carrie sent a wedding invite to her with a wedding present list,and the only item was the pair of shoes!

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 12,573 Mod ✭✭✭✭miamee

marnie d wrote: »
    No, she just pretended to, her shoes were stolen at a christening party, as all the guests had to take off their shoes, and when she said to the host, she made out like Carrie had nothing but shoes to worry about as she had no husband and kids. So carrie sent a wedding invite to her with a wedding present list,and the only item was the pair of shoes!

Ah right, that sounds familiar alright :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭folan

i'd marry me.

I ****ing love me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

Usher and greet obviously.
    YEAH! (yeah yeah)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

folan wrote: »
    i'd marry me.

I ****ing love me

Isn't that technically flirting with yourself?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

folan wrote: »
    i'd marry me.
    I ****ing love me
    “Would you fúck me? I'd fúck me. I'd fúck me hard. I'd fúck me so hard.”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

If you were schizophrenic it would be perfect.

Who said the marriage would have to be in a church?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,857 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Are there any tax advantages in marrying yourself ?

Could you claim yourself as a dependent , would you get extra baggage allowence on Ryanair.

More importantly would you be able to reserve that bus seat ?

“Would you fúck me? I'd fúck me. I'd fúck me hard. I'd fúck me so hard.”

Oh I'd fook me and fook yu..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭UCDVet

It would require tax law re-writes in a whole lot of countries. Everyone would marry themselves and pay less income tax.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,899 ✭✭✭✭BBDBB

It'll never last

Im too good for me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,678 ✭✭✭jjbrien

Who would give you away OP?