Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Teagasc Monitor farms

• 03-02-2013 5:53pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,536 ✭✭✭

Any one know some one who is part of this monitor farm thing with teagasc? Lad near me is one of them and heard he gets good bit of funding for research for them. He is top farmer new buildings always reseeding land high yielding cows. How do they become part of this project?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,676 ✭✭✭stanflt

case885 wrote: »
    Any one know some one who is part of this monitor farm thing with teagasc? Lad near me is one of them and heard he gets good bit of funding for research for them. He is top farmer new buildings always reseeding land high yielding cows. How do they become part of this project?

Lad in my group is a monitor-,don't listen to the rumours no extra money I'm afraid

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

stanflt wrote: »
    Lad in my group is a monitor-,don't listen to the rumours no extra money I'm afraid
    we have one in our group also;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,704 ✭✭✭dar31

like wise,

they get nothing at all for being a monitor farm,

maybe a bit more access to people they can learn from
    but they have to a good bit of work, book wise, to be part of it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

They get no direct payment, but if there's a demo. eg fencing. They might get a bit free. Or a dosing demo where they get their cattle dosed for free.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

Was one no money, sorry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,536 ✭✭✭case885

Fella that was putting up a new parlour for him said he was putting in clocks monitoring water as he put up tanks for water harvesting also and teagasc were paying for them they were a few grand each :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 630 ✭✭✭Henwin

Are farmers paid to be in the discussion groups by teagasc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,142 ✭✭✭rancher

delaval wrote: »
    Was one no money, sorry

Was one also, no money but a nice few freebies and always brought lots of help for cattle weighings, etc,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

Henwin wrote: »
    Only the ones that were not in one before, mostly though not wholly made up of people who could not be arsed before.

Henwin wrote: »
    when will we get the final payment, think it was in february last year

ya we r joining one for the first time. so anyone know how much we wud get please.

Do ye find them beneficial lads.

i learnt alot