Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Life after prison - is it possible?

• 02-02-2013 9:55pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 257 ✭✭

The young son of a family friend has been given a short prison sentence due to an assault he committed while out drinking. It was out of his character but he deserves to be punished for what he did.

His parents are obviously distraught and continue to comment that he will never be able to rebuild his life after his sentence. They believe he will never get a job, no decent woman will want to marry him etc.

It made me think is that really the case? Does anyone know anyone who went to prison young but has since moved on to live a successful, happy life? Or are his parents correct and you can never get rid of the baggage of being in jail?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,754 ✭✭✭Odysseus

Yes, I know plenty of guys who have a string of serious convictions who have left that life behind. It is really down to this guy, it will have some impact on his life, but it does not have to set the tone for the rest of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,956 ✭✭✭Doc Ruby

This isn't the US, he should be fine. I know a fair few lads that did well for themselves after their time. Mostly blue collar mind you; how prevalent are background checks of that sort from HR departments these days?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 955 ✭✭✭Scruffles

yes,some people have good law abiding lives after prison.
    people who can come out with a positive can do attitude rather than one which puts all their energy and focus on hating the govmint and police for their own criminal fckups will keep going back to stage one.
    people who blame everyone else for the way they are and cannot see they make the choice to do criminal acts and be imprisoned will stay at their stage one.

ex offenders shoud access every bit of support available if they have the chance as it may give them ways of thinking they never had.
    companies shoud also be trained on ex offenders to as many woud make great staff but get ignored because they truly made criminal fck ups in their life rather than it being a fault in their personality.

the people that know who have been to prison were all old neighbours of mine,one of them was in his twenties and was a trainee fire man, one-a total dckhead that had been bullied by everytime had walked out the house and brought class a drugs on the street turned his life around and was going through the army join up process the last had heard.
    another neighbour was a fifteen year old at the time had known him,he had been imprisoned many times in a YOI; forest bank prison,he was a great kid very well mannered but he had been joy riding for years and didnt like authority.
    itd be nice to hear that he has gone far with his life because he had it in him.

people who are coming out of prison shoud never let the label imprison them as well and think their life is over so they may as well get used to prison.
    yes there may be times they will be discriminated,abused or wrongly judged because of their offending but many of us live with much bigger and easier targets for discrimination and abuse every day; its about making the most out of what have got,finding alternative ways around the 'barriers', not focusing on what have not got,or resenting those who have got the life are wanting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,081 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Mark Wahlberg was charged with attempted murder and he's doing alright for himself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,695 ✭✭✭December2012

I'd like to think so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 257 ✭✭Red About Town

Doc Ruby wrote: »
    This isn't the US, he should be fine. I know a fair few lads that did well for themselves after their time. Mostly blue collar mind you; how prevalent are background checks of that sort from HR departments these days?

Good question.

Would a large multi national for example, take on an ex-prisoner?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭Reamer Fanny

Not if your on death row

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭longshanks

A chap called Stephen Fry served time for credit card fraud when he was young, apparently he has since made a name for himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 305 ✭✭Kichote

Its nearly impossible to find a job as it is. Even if you want to volunteer in a place many turn down people with criminal backgrounds.

Id say its possible but it will be a dole life or a start your own business life. People just dont want to hear of criminals and this sentiment of fear and distrust is about 5 times worse in the UK. Here people are willing to give them the benefit of the doubt, there they'd be emailing the daily Fail - 'omg criminals in our area.... Our kids arent safe.'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,137 ✭✭✭experiMental

Joseph Stalin did very well for himself after murdering people and robbing banks in his youth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,494 ✭✭✭Sala

I would be more concerned that he will believe what his parents believe - I genuinely believe if you think you're a hopeless case you will become one. If he can be positive and proactive he can do well. The conviction will affect him in certain areas, depending on what type of work he wants to do, but he will have to learn to move on, and /or be prepared to be asked about it.

I wouldn't be concerned about relationships. Its not the type of thing you would divulge on a first date and by the time he gets to know someone I don't think it would be a deal breaker, especially if he can sort himself out professionally first.

I wish him the best

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Mark Wahlberg was charged with attempted murder and he's doing alright for himself

Charged, but not convicted. He was convicted of assault, only did 45 days for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 129 ✭✭AnarchistKen

A mate of mine is doing ten years for drug possession in mountjoy. Definitely think he'll come out twice as crazy as he went in. I know another chap who started to lose his hair from the stress of the place.

To answer the OP question though I think it's all relevant to the person themselves and until time unfolds it's 50/50 whether he'll do anything after release

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,136 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

A lad named Nelson did well for himself, after doing a stint for sabotage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Nelson Mandela did a bit of time, (allegedly)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

The spent convictions bill will do a lot to help people with criminal convictions. After a time that chap's conviction will become spent, so it basically will not exist and he will not have to declare it for most jobs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

Kichote wrote: »
    Its nearly impossible to find a job as it is. Even if you want to volunteer in a place many turn down people with criminal backgrounds.

Id say its possible but it will be a dole life or a start your own business life. People just dont want to hear of criminals and this sentiment of fear and distrust is about 5 times worse in the UK. Here people are willing to give them the benefit of the doubt, there they'd be emailing the daily Fail - 'omg criminals in our area.... Our kids arent safe.'

No , that's not true , a lot of charities will allow you volunteer even with convictions and prison sentences particularly if you are in recovery . Once you don't try and hide anything and its not a particularly serious crime.

Holsten wrote: »
    The spent convictions bill will do a lot to help people with criminal convictions. After a time that chap's conviction will become spent, so it basically will not exist and he will not have to declare it for most jobs.
    Good, long overdue. What's missing from the narrative of many AHers is that to stop people from re-offending, they need to be given a chance and preferably training.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭nbar12

Fr_Dougal wrote: »
    Charged, but not convicted. He was convicted of assault, only did 45 days for it.

what a badass

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

Good, long overdue. What's missing from the narrative of many AHers is that to stop people from re-offending, they need to be given a chance and preferably training.

Yep, very true. Although if you actually read the bill it's a bit of a joke in my view and does not do enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,288 ✭✭✭TheUsual

Prison = bumsex.

Real life, not so much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭senordingdong

This matter is all down to the individual.

He will likely leave prison as he entered it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,935 ✭✭✭randy hickey

Sean Quinn's doing alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

training in what?

Stealing **** = wrong
    Not stealing **** = right

Punching people in the face = wrong
    Not punching people in the face = right

Seriously knowing right form wrong is not a ****ing training course.

dreamers75 wrote: »
    training in what?

Stealing **** = wrong

Everyone did stupid things when they were young. I know I did, I never got caught, but if I had it wouldn't have gone well for me. You probably did. Everyone did really. I'm not talking about lifetime career criminals here just people who made a mistake for one reason or another. As far as I recall the best way to prevent recidivism is to provide work training and options after prison.

I mean would you rather have punished criminals or people who will never commit another crime. Seems pretty simple to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,081 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Fr_Dougal wrote: »

True, still shows how people can turn things around if they really want to.

Tim Allen is another example... he done 2.5 years for trafficking cocaine before he became famous.

http://www.thefablife.com/files/gallery/celebrity-mugshots/tim-allen-mugshot.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,695 ✭✭✭December2012

dreamers75 wrote: »
    training in what?

Stealing **** = wrong

Actually it is, it's usually called parental guidance and done during childhood and adolescence. Not everybody has good e examples to learn from.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 817 ✭✭✭shar01

OP, I think it's the parents who you should have a word with. Their son made a mistake and is being punished for it. He'll need their support when he comes out - self fulfilling prophesy anyone?

Anyway he'll probably be out in a few days...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,359 ✭✭✭fatherted1969

Dog the bounty hunter served time for murder

I'll get my coat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60 ✭✭mckenzie84

Well the parents aren't making the situation any better by acting the drama queen. Tell them to cop on and support their son instead of telling him that his life is over.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭du Maurier

Wayne O'Donoghue seems to be doing just fine.