Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

World migration and remittance money

• 02-02-2013 8:42am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,050 ✭✭✭

The Guardian have an interactive map which shows global migration figures and the amounts of money migrants send home every year, called remittance money. 3% of the world's population live in a different country to that of their birth and they send $500 billion home every year, three times the global aid budget.

I found Ireland's stats really interesting, especially considering all the talk of foreign aid and immigration that goes on here. I kind of expected there to be a fairly massive in/outflow of money to/from the UK, but more money is sent to Britain than is sent here which kind of surprised me. I'm thinking these are annual figures, and if I'm right (and someone correct me if I'm wrong) Nigerians in Ireland send USD$601 million back to Nigeria every year, the Polish send just over a third of that back home. Considering there are only 24,000 or so Nigerians here and 93,000 Polish here, I definitely thought that would be the other way around.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 829 ✭✭✭xLexie

Tldr.

Why this thread not about free money :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,050 ✭✭✭token101

xLexie wrote: »
    Tldr.

Why this thread not about free money :(

It's 6 ****ing lines. Here's the Daily Mail headline you clearly need:

NIGERIANS SEND 601 MILLION OUT OF IRELAND EVERY YEAR

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,574 ✭✭✭✭Victor

token101 wrote: »
    I'm thinking these are annual figures, and if I'm right (and someone correct me if I'm wrong) Nigerians in Ireland send USD$601 million
    Where does this number come from?

It would seem unrealistic that they are averaging $25,000 (€18,300) each.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 829 ✭✭✭xLexie

It's 6 ****ing lines. Here's the Daily Mail headline you clearly need:

NIGERIANS SEND 601 MILLION OUT OF IRELAND EVERY YEAR
    Well you coulda just said that! :mad:

Who knew Nigerians were so generous?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Nigerians in Ireland send USD$601 million back to Nigeria every year... . Considering there are only 24,000 or so Nigerians here .

So every Nigerian in Ireland is sending $25,000 back home each year?:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,590 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Men,women and children.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭juan.kerr

xLexie wrote: »
    Well you coulda just said that! :mad:

Who knew Nigerians were so generous?

You mean the Department of Social Protection.

The 24,000 figure is well off the actual figure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭juan.kerr

Does the 601 million exclude 419 scams?

Victor wrote: »
    Where does this number come from?

It would seem unrealistic that they are averaging $25,000 (€18,300) each.

World Bank. I thought it seemed implausible too to be honest, at first I thought it might be an accumulation over a decade. Bear in mind that I'd imagine there are 24,000 official migrants in Ireland, there might be an awful lot more here that aren't included in that figure. They also might not include Nigerians who became citizens. But I'll stress that I'm guessing there!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Anyone

Considering the history we have of exporting people, and them sending money back home dont we look very stupid commenting on other nations doing the same.

It happens, it has always happened. People want to look out for and help their family.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,775 ✭✭✭Death and Taxes

Fair play to them.

Anyone wrote: »
    Considering the history we have of exporting people, and them sending money back home dont we look very stupid commenting on other nations doing the same.

It happens, it has always happened. People want to look out for and help their family.

It's not stupid at all. Massive capital flights out of a small, insolvent country should be a bit of a concern to be honest, regardless of the stuff about what Irish people do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,156 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

Der takin our muney.....

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

It's not stupid at all. Massive capital flights out of a small, insolvent country should be a bit of a concern to be honest, regardless of the stuff about what Irish people do.

Those figures are not "massive" and this country isn't "insolvent".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,956 ✭✭✭Doc Ruby

So you're saying what, they should be deported or forced to keep their money in Irish banks or something?

That entire article is very fishy, I'm pretty sure there's a lot more than 98,000 Polish people here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,156 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

Doc Ruby wrote: »
    So you're saying what, they should be deported or forced to keep their money in Irish banks or something?

That entire article is very fishy, I'm pretty sure there's a lot more than 98,000 Polish people here.

How sure?

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

According to the last census it was over 122,000
    http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/breaking/2012/1004/breaking27.html

How sure?
    Well the census in 2011 said 122,000 for starters, so the figures in the article have at minimum a 25% margin of error for something as basic as population numbers, making the entire exercise farcical. Why, does it bother you?

Edit: ninja'ed by a coyote!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Herb Powell

They earned their money, they can do what they like with it. If they're tax dodging, or doing anything illegal, that's obviously wrong, but to infer that there is some serious moral problem with them sending back money to families is more than a little bit cuuntish, considering our own history. Obviously it would be better for our own economy if they spent it all here, but it's exactly the same the world over. That is the way the cookie crumbles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,448 ✭✭✭crockholm

Would that money be nice,right about now?youbetcha.
    Would telling a person what to do with their own money be a much,much greater injustice? youbetcha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,390 ✭✭✭IM0

someone has way way way to much time on their hands in the guardian

stop reporting peoples scummy agendas and tell us more about poor cats stuck in trees and **** like that

They earned their money, they can do what they like with it. If they're tax dodging, or doing anything illegal, that's obviously wrong, but to infer that there is some serious moral problem with them sending back money to families is more than a little bit cuuntish, considering our own history. Obviously it would be better for our own economy if they spent it all here, but it's exactly the same the world over. That is the way the cookie crumbles.

Can someone point out where morality or deportation was mentioned? Or where anyone said anyone should be forced to do anything? Assuming that the figures are correct, if you don't see any economic problem with 600 million leaving a country that's cutting spending massively, then you're a ****ing idiot really! They could surely be incentivised to keep that money here. And there's also the fact that Ireland still sends Nigeria 'aid', which after reading that is a bit of a joke really. Particularly when you consider that some of that money is welfare money.

They're World Bank figures, they're probably about as reliable as you're likely to get.
    Anyone wrote: »
    Those figures are not "massive" and this country isn't "insolvent".

Are you ****ing serious? :pac: Do you really think that a Labour government would be confronting the unions if the country wasn't absolutely ****ed economically?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Herb Powell

Can someone point out where morality or deportation was mentioned? Or where anyone said anyone should be forced to do anything?

You didn't. I was just pre-emptively countering the inevitable-it's not a large jump to make at all, especially to those with an agenda.

I wouldn't be against trying to provide an incentive for immigrants to keep as much of their money here as possible. Incentives, rather than forced measures though, that's the key. It would still be entirely up to the individuals themselves what to do with their money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,574 ✭✭✭✭Victor

And there's also the fact that Ireland still sends Nigeria 'aid', which after reading that is a bit of a joke really. Particularly when you consider that some of that money is welfare money.
    http://www.irishaid.gov.ie/media/irishaid/allwebsitemedia/20newsandpublications/publicationpdfsenglish/2011-irish-aid-annual-report.pdf See Annex 8.

Of a total aid budget of €450m in 2011, only €1.3m was spent in Nigeria.

Can someone point out where morality or deportation was mentioned? Or where anyone said anyone should be forced to do anything? Assuming that the figures are correct, if you don't see any economic problem with 600 million leaving a country that's cutting spending massively, then you're a ****ing idiot really! They could surely be incentivised to keep that money here. And there's also the fact that Ireland still sends Nigeria 'aid', which after reading that is a bit of a joke really. Particularly when you consider that some of that money is welfare money.

They're World Bank figures, they're probably about as reliable as you're likely to get.

Are you ****ing serious? :pac: Do you really think that a Labour government would be confronting the unions if the country wasn't absolutely ****ed economically?

They are wholly unreliable and at serious variance with the official census figures published by the CSO.
    Whole thing is bollocks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,568 ✭✭✭Chinasea

I'm pretty sure there's a lot more than 98,000 Polish people here.

Ye do, with that well known cead mile failite thingy that we have had did we? where we?

Ah ok, I wasnt aware that a politcal party speaking to a trade union was the necessary requirement for declaring a nation insolvent. When did they introduce that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,884 ✭✭✭Eve_Dublin

Fair play to them.

I agree. I'd do the same if my family were broke back in Ireland.

Can someone point out where morality or deportation was mentioned? Or where anyone said anyone should be forced to do anything? Assuming that the figures are correct, if you don't see any economic problem with 600 million leaving a country that's cutting spending massively, then you're a ****ing idiot really! They could surely be incentivised to keep that money here.
    So you're saying that you perceive a problem. What do you propose to do about this problem that you see, or are you just trying to stir up general feelings of ill will towards immigrants from poor countries? I mean what exactly are you getting at here.
    They are wrong, flat out, plain and simple. Between populations being off by 25% and every African man woman and child sending back thirty grand per annum surely you can see that?

Even if they were correct, and they aren't, the amount being sent out of the country would come to about a third of a percent of our GDP, which is 0.003. That won't make a difference to anything one way or the other.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 388 ✭✭Truncheon Rouge

Even if they were correct, and they aren't

I read that in David Mitchells voice. :)

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,563 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

[QUOTE=token101;83012080 3% of the world's population live in a different country to that of their birth and they send $500 billion home every year, three times the global aid budget. [/QUOTE]http://evatt.org.au/papers/tackling-tax-havens.html
    The money lost by developing countries from ‘illicit financial flows’ is vast, mainly through tax evasion and tax avoidance but including other forms of corruption and crime. Anti-corruption non-government organisation, Global Financial Integrity, estimated that in 2008 alone, Africa lost US$64 billion in illicit flows, while the Philippines lost US$16.4 billion, India US$21.5 billion and Indonesia US$16.5 billion. Globally, overseas aid in 2009 was only US$120 billion.

Christian Aid estimated that, through tax evasion and tax avoidance by transfer mispricing and false invoicing, in 2008 developing countries lost an estimated US$160 billion in tax. They estimated that, if this money was used in the same way as the taxes actually collected, it would have saved the lives of 350,000 children.

The Tax Justice Network has recently released research that estimated the amount of unreported private financial wealth owned by wealthy individuals held in tax havens was between $21 trillion and $32 trillion. This is at least the size of the US and Japanese economies combined. The lost tax revenue on this hidden wealth is estimated to be between $190 billion and $280 billion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 304 ✭✭The Road Runner

That can't be right. the poles are sending an average of about 1750 euro a year back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

That can't be right. the poles are sending an average of about 1750 euro a year back.
    The Poles are (not all obvs) driving forklifts and manning counters, the Nigerians are all doing much better paid work, such as..errr,....ummm...jasus, what do they do to earn this?

which is pretty much the only angle of this thread that interests me, they can burn it for all I care if that's what they want to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

The article itself is an accurate representation of a World Bank report,although some posters who would normally be hugely respective of such a source have suddenly gone all dissy of the poor ould World Bank as if it had suddenly been taken over by raving Right-Wingers !!!

http://web.worldbank.org/WBSITE/EXTERNAL/TOPICS/0,,contentMDK:21924020~pagePK:5105988~piPK:360975~theSitePK:214971,00.html

Some quite interesting stuff about the actual cost of remitting all this money too....underlining the new niche industry of "Cash Transfers" as epitomized by the likes of Western Union.

http://siteresources.worldbank.org/INTPROSPECTS/Resources/334934-1110315015165/Bilateral_Remittance_Matrix_2011_Final.xlsx

I'm just glad to know that at least one Saudi Arabian managed to transfer a million bucks back home...;)

There are many reasons for the disparity between the Nigerian and "Rest of World" figures,but it is most likely to do with the hugely successful nature of Nigerian Businesspeople at the very highest levels,whereas many of the other nationalities tend to perform somewhat more menial and less well remunerated work....;)

It is always open to posters to question the World Bank on the veracity of it's statistics,and i'd fully expect the WB to be able to verify it's sources too...:)

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 413 ✭✭noxqs

If they earned the money, do we really have a say in how they spend/where they send them? Its their money, not your money.

And how much money has Ireland received over the years from especially the migrants from the US, UK ?

From a global economic perspective it is interesting figures - but when applied locally and people shout about it, its nothing but a thinly veiled : dey tok er money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 262 ✭✭Push Pop

You are dead right. I can only assume you are educated in economics/finance. The lefties would rather we go bankrupt rather than stop the BS that goes on at the expense of the Irish. Who voted to let them in en masse to do this??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,568 ✭✭✭Chinasea

Push Pop wrote: »
    The lefties would rather we go bankrupt rather than stop the BS that goes on at the expense of the Irish. Who voted to let them in en masse to do this??

Who voted what 'en masse' to do WHAT, WHERE and when pray tell?

AlekSmart wrote: »
    The article itself is an accurate representation of a World Bank report,although some posters who would normally be hugely respective of such a source have suddenly gone all dissy of the poor ould World Bank as if it had suddenly been taken over by raving Right-Wingers !!!
    Doesn't matter if Jesus O'Buddha said it, the facts are wrong. Why is this still up for discussion.
    Some quite interesting stuff about the actual cost of remitting all this money too....underlining the new niche industry of "Cash Transfers" as epitomized by the likes of Western Union.
    Western Union has been around since 1851.
    There are many reasons for the disparity between the Nigerian and "Rest of World" figures,but it is most likely to do with the hugely successful nature of Nigerian Businesspeople at the very highest levels,whereas many of the other nationalities tend to perform somewhat more menial and less well remunerated work....
    Not to disparage Nigerians, but what on earth are you talking about?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

Doesn't matter if Jesus O'Buddha said it, the facts are wrong. Why is this still up for discussion.

Not to disparage Nigerians, but what on earth are you talking about?
    No-ones managed to say what sort of enterprises the Nigerians are involved in to raise this $601,000,000.00. That's a nice chunk of change, what sort of madly successful businesses of the "highest level" are they running? I'm genuinely very interested as I've never noticed them running anything except Churches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Obviously it would be better for our own economy if they spent it all here,

Economically, t would be even better if they f**ked off home :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Gyalist

Pottler wrote: »
    No-ones managed to say what sort of enterprises the Nigerians are involved in to raise this $601,000,000.00. That's a nice chunk of change, what sort of madly successful businesses of the "highest level" are they running? I'm genuinely very interested as I've never noticed them running anything except Churches.

I know one with a PhD in Pharmacology from Trinity who owns a few pharmacies. He must be one of them sending money to Nigeria.

Gyalist wrote: »
    I know one with a PhD in Pharmacology from Trinity who owns a few pharmacies. He must be one of them sending money to Nigeria.

Die he ever venture an opinon on Mary Harney perchance ?

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

I only found it interesting in the context of usually having the likes of World Bank Statistics quoted at me to refute personal opinon's which differ from other more "Statistically inclined" posters.

The usual line would be to quote some substantial tract from these reports as if handed down from a nearby mount by an aged gent in toga and sandals.

Well I never....but at least now they have competition...at least 10 other companies offering similar services
    Not to disparage Nigerians,but what on earth are you talking about?

I'm not taking you as despariging Nigerians at all...I'm simply pointing out the highly succesful nature of the Nigerian entrepreneurial emigré in Ireland.

The World-Bank is supplying a set of figures which,on the surface,could imply some Taxation Related issues for Ireland.

You may well decry and dismiss the World Bank as an agency of note,but yet our own Government uses their services during it's own financial planning and decision making processess....Perhaps Ireland needs a to seek a new World Bank from which to seek advice ?

I dunno ....:confused:

Pottler wrote: »

I've been unable to find it again,but at some location in the World Bank's "Factsheet" it mentions Taxation as one of the issues arising from these transfers.

I can't help wondering what,if any,input the Revenue Commissioners has had into this €601,000,000 or whether its pre of after tax in Ireland ?

There sure seems to be a few juicy questions raised by our Banking friends in The WORLD :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,752 ✭✭✭markesmith

Push Pop wrote: »
    You are dead right. I can only assume you are educated in economics/finance. The lefties would rather we go bankrupt rather than stop the BS that goes on at the expense of the Irish. Who voted to let them in en masse to do this??

Who do you think we should have voted in? The Blueshirts disbanded in the '30s.

markesmith wrote: »
    Who do you think we should have voted in? The Blueshirts disbanded in the '30s.

Hmmm,now there's an idea....:)

http://www.reuters.com/article/2013/02/03/us-italy-vote-idUSBRE91206320130203

I just love a bit of reinvention :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,201 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Bambi wrote: »
    Economically, t would be even better if they f**ked off home :)

Maybe many of them are home?