Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Minor public obstructions

• 01-02-2013 6:13pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭

What is it with some people?

Ones who just stop to have a chat on the pavement, now that's grand if you move in out of the way. But some just stop there, blocking the whole pavement, some times with a pushchair or pram the size of a small car.

People who are not prepared when queuing for an ATM. Waiting in line the other day, 5 or 6 in front of me. Person immediately in front of me waits until its their turn before looking for their card, spends a couple of minutes searching through their bag. Couldn't you have done that whilst waiting in line? Then you have the ones who produce a second card to carry out another transaction.

Then there's petrol stations. People who have filled their car, then spend 5 minutes in the shop browsing or chatting, or even worse, people who dont need petrol, but park at the pumps to go in and do their shopping!!

THERE'S PEOPLE WAITING WHO WANT TO GET ON WITH THEIR LIVES!!!

:mad:

Anyone else that have them minor public obstructions that bug them?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Have a Malibu and chiiiiillll.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭Max Power

Idiots who park on the side of the street then proceed to swing open the door forcing me to swerve to avoid hitting it. One of these days I will just keep going and take the whole fucking door off. Arseholes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

I had a bull bar welded to my thighs, I just batter my way through these days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

Christ AH has become an awful forum for trivial and petty bitching nowadays?

Does a separate thread really have to be started every time someone is mildly inconvenienced by every day minor interactions that for everyone else means just brushing it off and going on about their business?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 595 ✭✭✭books4sale

Idiots who park on the side of the street then proceed to swing open the door forcing me to swerve to avoid hitting it. One of these days I will just keep going and take the whole fucking door off. Arseholes.

If you have to serve to avoid it then you are going too fast. Ease up on the speed there in future and be prepared to brake at all times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭Max Power

books4sale wrote: »
    If you have to serve to avoid it then you are going too fast. Ease up on the speed there in future and be prepared to brake at all times.
    Thank you Leo Varadkar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Czarcasm wrote: »

Does a separate thread really have to be started every time someone is mildly inconvenienced by every day minor interactions that for everyone else means just brushing it off and going on about their business?

But I got three into one thread.

:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,618 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

People aren't doing things the way you'd like op.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,766 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Women out for their nightly walk that don't walk in single file or move in for oncoming joggers, thus forcing the jogger to either step out onto the road, or slow down and wait for an opening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,927 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Totally with you OP.

People stopping at the top of escalators for no reason - look behind you, people are trying to get past and someone will get knocked for six.

Women - would it be that difficult to have your cash or card ready at the till? Don't start rooting through a handbag full of sh*te when you've been told the amount to pay.

When i'm at the till in a shop i don't need you behind me to stand a quarter of an inch from me - i can smell your breath and hear you breathing. F*ck off back a bit (actually when this happens i deliberately turn around quickly and walk into them).

People really are getting dumber...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,627 ✭✭✭Lawrence1895

Cars using my cycle lane or parking on it. Where is the death penalty for that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭hardCopy

Airport security queues
    Standing in the aisle to stow overhead luggage
    Blocking the people behind you while you wait to turn right in a wide lane
    Parking in yellow box

Aaarghhhh!!!11oneone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,736 ✭✭✭Gannicus

It'll be their insurance paying for it if you hit it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Inconsiderate men who don't get their Mickeys in their hands before they queue up to pee in a nightclub!

And yet they stare at me, just because I've mine already in my hand marching from the dance floor to the jacks?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,899 ✭✭✭Paddy@CIRL

OP, it's called a footpath not a ****ing pavement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

Czarcasm wrote: »

Awh, I wanted to start a thread on nose sniffers. :(
    I'll do it next Friday so. Give ya a break from reading all this nonsense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Lars1916 wrote: »
    Cars using my cycle lane or parking on it. Where is the death penalty for that?

It's ok, cyclists never use them anyway.

People who just stop on the road in their cars to make or take a call, thinking its fine cos they have the hazards on but still blocking the traffic. Its still illegal!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,627 ✭✭✭Lawrence1895

smash wrote: »

But I do, I am a good cyclist, I adhere to all the rules of the road :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,775 ✭✭✭Death and Taxes

irish-stew wrote: »

Ones who just stop to have a chat on the pavement, now that's grand if you move in out of the way. But some just stop there, blocking the whole pavement, some times with a pushchair or pram the size of a small car.

People who are not prepared when queuing for an ATM. Waiting in line the other day, 5 or 6 in front of me. Person immediately in front of me waits until its their turn before looking for their card, spends a couple of minutes searching through their bag. Couldn't you have done that whilst waiting in line? Then you have the ones who produce a second card to carry out another transaction.

Then there's petrol stations. People who have filled their car, then spend 5 minutes in the shop browsing or chatting, or even worse, people who dont need petrol, but park at the pumps to go in and do their shopping!!

ok Op...now relax, deep breath, hold and slowly release, thats good Op now repeat.
    Now OP where did you last see your medication, just relax and try to remember, medication, where did we leave it?

Now thats better isn't it?:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

smash wrote: »

Cos theres flippin cars parked in them

:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 233 ✭✭MarkHitide

How much happier the world would be if old ladies emptied the change from their purses into a penny jar after each visit to the shops.
    They could then give the contents of the jar to their birthday grandchildren in turn.
    No more tiresome rooting around for change to be used up at every till.
    No more queues of patiently fuming fellow shoppers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

irish-stew wrote: »

You're a bit on the angry side for a Friday night Stewie :pac:

I agree with all of the above though, really grates on me. You'll find the same shít in a supermarket, I cannot STAND people who just abandon their trolleys in the middle of an aisle. Yesterday I had a group stop dead in front of me for a chat, so I'd to walk onto the road to get around them.

Some people are just out and out cúnts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭danslevent

Reading the constant threads on AH moaning about trivial things has worsened my social paranoia!

Abi wrote: »
    You're a bit on the angry side for a Friday night Stewie :pac:

I agree with all of the above though, really grates on me. You'll find the same shít in a supermarket, I cannot STAND people who just abandon their trolleys in the middle of an aisle. Yesterday I had a group stop dead in front of me for a chat, so I'd to walk onto the road to get around them.

Some people are just out and out cúnts.
    I'm feckin telling you, bullbars are your only man.
    I play chicken when walking down the street, try walking in a dead straight line, eyes forward, give no quarter, if you come up behind slower walkers, you're not allowed slow or deviate, you have to intimidate your way through. It never works, there's always some old couple in his and hers matching knitwear who doddle along in front and won't move, or a dufus with headphones on walking off their last spliff, but it's a challenge and makes walking more fun. The oncoming traffic is no bother, part like the red sea, it's the dodderers who mess you up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,400 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

The man the other day in the supermarket who put all his shopping through the till, then sent his kid off to find something he'd forgotten. Stood looking gormless for about 5 minutes. Then wandered - not rushed - off to find the kid. Kid returns with a packet of waffles. No Dad. Everyone waited, and waited, and waited. Eventually he strolled back. Nice and calmly. No rush.

I swear, my head nearly exploded.

ETA the only reason I was in that queue in the first place was because TWO of their express DIY tills decided halfway through the process to sit down and refuse to play. Express my arse:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 581 ✭✭✭Ms. Pingui

HeidiHeidi wrote: »
    The man the other day in the supermarket who put all his shopping through the till, then sent his kid off to find something he'd forgotten. Stood looking gormless for about 5 minutes. Then wandered - not rushed - off to find the kid. Kid returns with a packet of waffles. No Dad. Everyone waited, and waited, and waited. Eventually he strolled back. Nice and calmly. No rush.

I swear, my head nearly exploded.

ETA the only reason I was in that queue in the first place was because TWO of their express DIY tills decided halfway through the process to sit down and refuse to play. Express my arse:mad:

Everyone knows that the express ques are always the slowest!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 595 ✭✭✭ElvisChrist6

Paddy@CIRL wrote: »
    OP, it's called a footpath not a ****ing pavement.

Could be worse, they could have said sidewalk!

or been driving down the Boardwalk. Although...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

Cyclists on a narrow road or path. Same with double prams on a path.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 381 ✭✭Bad Santa

I had people that tail gate me when I'm walking. I find it far worse than when I'm driving. Like fcuk tards in supermarkets who see you walking towards a checkout and walk really fast up behind you and start looking around you as much as to say: "I'm walking faster than you, let me passed please". Bastards **** fcuks.

The worst of 'em is when you're in places with segregated rope and you have entered that area and other prat bollox arse tits slip under the rope and cut you off. Or do the other thing again and stat running up behind you wanting to go faster just so you can get to the stationary end of the queue three seconds quicker.

These soulless slivers will then usually sigh, bitch and moan all the time they are waiting also, thinking that if they watch the tills intently while tutting, that this will some magically make the queue move faster. They want murdering.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 688 ✭✭✭maxfresh

Had this today going into tesco ,4 people in a row having a chat and blocking the entrance, makes it worse when they have trolleys aswell, can they not just stand out of the way:mad: