Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Shaft stiffness!!!

• 01-02-2013 11:22am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 757 ✭✭✭

It's not what you think!!

Is there a "stiffness scale" that will allow you to compare different manufacturers shafts to each other.? Or do they all have their own scales of stiffness?
    The reason I ask is a while back I broke the shaft in my TM R7 9 iron. (Accident not anger btw!) It was going to take a couple of weeks to get it back to TM to get an original shaft fitted so I got an equivalent True Temper shaft fitted. I have been working on my swing and ball striking has improved enormously. .. most of the time... and have found the 9 iron flying as far as the 8!! Loft and lie checked not so long ago!
    It even feels quite different to me. I know you low handicappers can tell when you are using a different shaft!!
    Any thoughts?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,091 ✭✭✭Peterdalkey

MiniGolf wrote: »
    It's not what you think!!

Is there a "stiffness scale" that will allow you to compare different manufacturers shafts to each other.? Or do they all have their own scales of stiffness?
    The reason I ask is a while back I broke the shaft in my TM R7 9 iron. (Accident not anger btw!) It was going to take a couple of weeks to get it back to TM to get an original shaft fitted so I got an equivalent True Temper shaft fitted. I have been working on my swing and ball striking has improved enormously. .. most of the time... and have found the 9 iron flying as far as the 8!! Loft and lie checked not so long ago!
    It even feels quite different to me. I know you low handicappers can tell when you are using a different shaft!!
    Any thoughts?

Dont even think about it. Get them all done!!

P :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,331 ✭✭✭mike12

http://www.golfwrx.com/forums/topic/496072-new-and-improved-shaft-chart/
    This is what you are looking for. Are u sure the shaft is the correct length di dyou cut it yourself?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,865 ✭✭✭TRS30

mike12 wrote: »
    This is what you are looking for. Are u sure the shaft is the correct length di dyou cut it yourself?

As this chart shows it's all about the FCM.

To be able to compare the two shafts you will need to know what shaft TM use in their R7 irons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,476 ✭✭✭ShriekingSheet

I had a similar puzzling situation. When changing sets of clubs I went from fairly bulky TM irons, which were a couple of degrees strong (as are most TM clubs) to more bladey Titleist irons, with weaker lofts.

The TMs had Project X 6.0s, and the new Titleists have slightly stiffer Dynamic Gold x100 shafts.

All of that to me suggested my new clubs would fly a good bit shorter, but the Titleists, for whatever reason, go a couple of yards further. I don't know why, and I don't really care, but there you are.

I had a similar puzzling situation. When changing sets of clubs I went from fairly bulky TM irons, which were a couple of degrees strong (as are most TM clubs) to more bladey Titleist irons, with weaker lofts.

The TMs had Project X 6.0s, and the new Titleists have slightly stiffer Dynamic Gold x100 shafts.

All of that to me suggested my new clubs would fly a good bit shorter, but the Titleists, for whatever reason, go a couple of yards further. I don't know why, and I don't really care, but there you are.

The PX and the DG have different characteristics so could be that the DG are more suited to your swing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 757 ✭✭✭MiniGolf

mike12 wrote: »
    That is exactly what I was looking for.... more out of curiosity than anything else.
    I got my local pro to fit it so length should be ok.
    Thanks!
    Just need to get the FCM of both shafts to compare. I am hoping to upgrade my irons soon so it might hint towards the shaft that is suitable for me... still going to get fitted though :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 Paranoid Android 2

Wish the industry could agree on a standard measure of effective shaft stiffness and print it on shafts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 757 ✭✭✭MiniGolf

After a bit more research I have come to the conclusion it is more to do with the weight of the shaft than just the stiffness.
    The True Temper shaft is in the region of 122/124 grammes (not exactly sure which TT shaft I have!) whereas the TM T-Step is 90 grammes. The higher weight shaft just might suit my swing!!??
    A veritable minefield is the whole world of shaft and club fitting. It just shows how easy it is to get the wrong (or right) combination.

MiniGolf wrote: »
    After a bit more research I have come to the conclusion it is more to do with the weight of the shaft than just the stiffness.
    The True Temper shaft is in the region of 122/124 grammes (not exactly sure which TT shaft I have!) whereas the TM T-Step is 90 grammes. The higher weight shaft just might suit my swing!!??
    A veritable minefield is the whole world of shaft and club fitting. It just shows how easy it is to get the wrong (or right) combination.

Shows the importance of getting fit........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,476 ✭✭✭ShriekingSheet

TRS30 wrote: »
    Shows the importance of getting fit........

Yeah, ignore the other thread with a stream of people who got fit and had little or no improvement, or disimproved.

THIS proves fitting is a must.

Yeah, ignore the other thread with a stream of people who got fit and had little or no improvement, or disimproved.

THIS proves fitting is a must.

I don't think anyone said it was a must; certainly I didn't.

All shafts have different characteristics meaning some with suit a particular swing and others will not.

If you find that out yourself or by a fitting doesn't really matter, you have a better chance of playing better using clubs that are suited to you. Most people find this easier to do by being fitted by a professional.

This is obviously just my opinion and I'm sure many will disagree.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,238 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Lads - swung a club today and on the muzino DNA job, said I needed stiff iron shaft - 83 mph - not sure if it was a six iron ? Was only a quick try of the technology (not a full fitting). Also in the heavy range ???? -

Anyway - has anyone ever gone up to stiff for irons ? What is the heavy getting at.
    Would it improve short irons much - the pro was hinting at this ?

Can't see it making much difference ? Is it all a load of balls. If you look at chart there is 21 shafts to fit anybody - to me that means if you walk in , you need a shaft no matter what.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭John Divney

Shaft is really not an exact science set about swing speed. I think that Mizuno analyser does tempo and transition, but also the release is key, early or late.

But Feel is the most imortant thing overall, if they feel like you are htting rocks, and the computer says that's your shaft, it isn't your shaft, no matter what.

Having said that I think everyone can play with DGS300's to be honest, performance shafts in irons won't make a huge difference for most of us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,238 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Shaft is really not an exact science set about swing speed. I think that Mizuno analyser does tempo and transition, but also the release is key, early or late.

But Feel is the most imortant thing overall, if they feel like you are htting rocks, and the computer says that's your shaft, it isn't your shaft, no matter what.

Having said that I think everyone can play with DGS300's to be honest, performance shafts in irons won't make a huge difference for most of us.

Yes it feels grand - but I would worry that the snake oil is some sort of magic. It does seem a bit tragic to be told a shaft is too light - it is hard enough work to swing a good shot and then it is going right or left due to a shaft issue - making life harder there.

Did try stiff in range one day - but felt awful, like hitting a brick.

Jaysus - enough on my plate - it is just this crap is in most shops and ranges now.

As I said - a lad playing the best golf of his life could walk in there and be told - his clubs are wrong, shaft , lie. :confused:

Sure if there are so many options - you invariably have the wrong equipment if off shelf.

Yes it feels grand - but I would worry that the snake oil is some sort of magic. It does seem a bit tragic to be told a shaft is too light - it is hard enough work to swing a good shot and then it is going right or left due to a shaft issue - making life harder there.

Did try stiff in range one day - but felt awful, like hitting a brick.

Jaysus - enough on my plate - it is just this crap is in most shops and ranges now.

As I said - a lad playing the best golf of his life could walk in there and be told - his clubs are wrong, shaft , lie. :confused:

Sure if there are so many options - you invariably have the wrong equipment if off shelf.

Another thing is off matts at the range it can feel a bit more stingier, pain in the head alright.

Have a look at this video from Mark Crossfield, think he swings around what the Mizuno thing gave you.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8MLDfgiJuFI

I used the Mizuno analyser after changing to lighter shafts earlier in the year and not being able to hit them out my way. The three shafts it suggested were all heavier which are suited to a late release.

TRS30 wrote: »
    I used the Mizuno analyser after changing to lighter shafts earlier in the year and not being able to hit them out my way. The three shafts it suggested were all heavier which are suited to a late release.

Did you change to the heavier stiff shafts after? How did you get on?

It's a bloody expensive business, but you can get Dynamic gold shafts for a tenner or less each,

Did you change to the heavier stiff shafts after? How did you get on?

It's a bloody expensive business, but you can get Dynamic gold shafts for a tenner or less each,

I went to the first suggestion which was Project X 6.0 shafts. Picked them up cheap on adverts and probably had my best ball stricking year.