Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

is 2013 the year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 560 ✭✭✭mycro89

WilcoOut wrote: »

Who knows?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,073 ✭✭✭thekopend

well i wouldn't say 2013 for recruitment itself, but i would say that hopefully progress will be made on the matter, 2014/2015 is my guess on actual recruitment, unfortunately the words 'we will be actively looking at recruitment dont say alot, or more importantly they are not words that shatter can be held to. where as if he said 'we will be looking at recruiting next year' rather than 'looking at recruitment' that would be more positive. he is only covering his arse so that if he cannot get something going he can just say he was imploying a simple revision of the matter of recruitment rather than actual recruitment itself, its all in the wording folks, watch the video again and see how carefull he is when he is wording that statment, crafty ministers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 560 ✭✭✭mycro89

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭gardapa

Wouldnt get your hopes up. At the very last graduation in the garda college he said he wanted to recruit in the next 18 months and that was 2010 or so.

He said that back then because the pressure was on him and now that its on him once again he is saying what people want to hear once again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭Canyon86

Hopefully!!

What has everybody been doing while waiting?

work/college/upskilling?

in college myself

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,601 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sierra Oscar

I suspect that Shatter will announce some sort of intake towards the end of the year to help him get through the next round of station closures. I wouldn't be getting your hopes up too much though as the intake will be small I would imagine and highly competitive as a result.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,536 ✭✭✭Dolph Starbeam

Just got a text to say it was just on the radio that there is going to be an intake this year? Anyone else hear it or got any more info?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 cbwex

Canyon86 wrote: »
    Hopefully!!

What has everybody been doing while waiting?

work/college/upskilling?

in college myself

College, Criminal Justice in WIT

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,935 Mod ✭✭✭✭Turner

From Breakingnews.ie

Link.. http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/minister-planning-to-recruit-more-gardai-583853.html

Justice Minister Alan Shatter has today signaled that he may be about to recruit gardaí for the first time since 2009.

The numbers of gardaí retiring is larger than expected and no garda has graduated since April 2011.

Minister Shatter said that he does not want the force to fall below 13,000, which could now happen before the end of this year.

He said that he plans to bring proposals to Government within weeks.

"I am reviewing the position regarding Garda numbers in light of an estimated reduction to just over 13,000 by the end of 2013," he said.

"In this context, I'll be bringing proposals to Cabinet in the coming weeks.

"I'll be making these proposals as part of a wider determination to ensure that the Garda Síochána has the greatest possible resources available to it."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 cbwex

Just heard on the news Shatter is to put a proposal to Dail soon with a view to lift the embargo. Looks like 2013 is the year lads, may go join the gym now lol.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 8 cronyism

I heard of intake also from FG TD on radio into college at the latest September with view to keep numbers at 13,000 so numbers taken in wont be big.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,778 ✭✭✭WilcoOut

cronyism wrote: »
    I heard of intake also from FG TD on radio into college at the latest September with view to keep numbers at 13,000 so numbers taken in wont be big.

panel or fresh recruitment?

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 8 cronyism

WilcoOut wrote: »
    panel or fresh recruitment?

Panel I presume given he said he'd been told September intake at latest which means it could be earlier,campaign couldnt be up and running and have people through all stages in next few months.Also,dont think panel has been disbanded.
    it could be both panel and fresh recruitment time will tell.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,935 Mod ✭✭✭✭Turner

Threads merged

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,778 ✭✭✭WilcoOut

he wouldnt be saying recruitment campaign if he meant intake from panel

watch this space i suppose

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,571 ✭✭✭newmug

How many's on the panel? And if he wants to maintain 13000 members, how many would need to be recruited to bring itup to that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,663 ✭✭✭pah

Be prepared for alternate payscales and contracts in a similar vein to what's been happening with the nurses :(

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,601 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sierra Oscar

The Minister was to bring it to cabinet for discussion sometime later this year, and that has not changed yet. Any government TD commenting on the matter is just spinning for now, I wouldn't expect much news for a few weeks yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭McCoy

I wouldn't hold my breath on it, we've all had so many false dawns already with regards to recruitment. and although this is a rather cynical view can we actually believe a single word this man says anymore.
    the reality is even the minister himself probably has no idea whether or not recruitment will be feasible this year or next.
    however its nice to see some news coming out, at least it will get people talking again.

also does anyone know how many are on the panel ? I'm on it - assuming it still exists that is... and what will the new training regime and training allowance be ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 G man 69

Mc Coy you are dead right in what you say, they have no clue and don't really care at the moment.
    There used to be 152 on the panel but that was years ago. God only knows now!!
    Cheers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭Canyon86