Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

105 to Ultegra

• 31-01-2013 8:40pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39

I went from a 105 chain to an Ultegra. I know it sounds crazy but the bike feels faster. Can this be true, also changed the rear mech, that was 105 as well.

It sounds crazy but my bike feels just a little quicker any thoughts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,469 ✭✭✭TheBlaaMan

You're right :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 573 ✭✭✭el Bastardo

Dare I say that new stuff runs better because, well, it's new and unworn? Anyway, feeling good/fast is important too :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 534 ✭✭✭denbatt

Sweet just got an ultegra chain today, look out strava here comes the toecutter!!!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 vision267

Dare I say that new stuff runs better because, well, it's new and unworn? Anyway, feeling good/fast is important too :)
    I agree new stuff runs better, but the 105 stuff is almost new. Just wanted to try ultegra again. Shifting is so much better:) its not even close. Never again will I downgrade . Any way bought my new stuff online and it was much cheaper than the 105 from my local bike shop. Love to use LBS but its just too expensive.

denbatt wrote: »
    Sweet just got an ultegra chain today, look out strava here comes the toecutter!!!:D
    ultegra is sooo sooo much better than 105.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭colm_gti

Deadly, must get me one of these speedy ultegra chains....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 895 ✭✭✭Dubba

Shimano Ultegra 6701 10 Speed Chain 40% off... and with 50% performance increase! :D

http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/Models.aspx?ModelID=55029

colm_gti wrote: »
    Yeah go for it!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭marketty

Would ya not get a Dura Ace chain or are ya afraid you'd end up going too fast?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 790 ✭✭✭mistermatthew

colm_gti wrote: »

I heard EPO was just a cover up and it was the ultegra chain that had lance winning those tours

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 534 ✭✭✭denbatt

marketty wrote: »
    Would ya not get a Dura Ace chain or are ya afraid you'd end up going too fast?

Woh woh steady on man! One step at a time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,469 ✭✭✭TheBlaaMan

Shure.....ye dont even need to pedal up hills if you got one of those fitted. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭Rallymad

I thought it was just me got a new bike cube agree race which is full ultegra my old bike was 105 took her for the first spin today really happy with it but couldnt get over the differance in the gear changing it was so exact everything went where it should the second i wanted it to at the slightest touch also noticed i spent more time in the sadle where on my last bike id of been out of the saddle for some hills but didnt have to today . Wind wasnt fun tough. Not saying anything bad about 105 i thought it was brilliant and never gave any trouble just the ultegra feels better so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

You have me scared now, I'm going from 2300 to Dura Ace!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 815 ✭✭✭mp31

vision267 wrote: »
    I went from a 105 chain to an Ultegra. I know it sounds crazy but the bike feels faster. Can this be true, also changed the rear mech, that was 105 as well.

It sounds crazy but my bike feels just a little quicker any thoughts

Can I have your old 105 stuff please?

How does this translate to SRAM stuff? Would the equivalent SRAM chain be slower/faster?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 477 ✭✭FirstinLastout

I'll continue to ride Tiagra to give ye guys a chance! :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,278 ✭✭✭kenmc

Don't forget about the weight saving lads, the Ultegra stuff must be what - half a mouthful of water lighter than the 105? *THAT'S* the reason it's so much faster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 477 ✭✭FirstinLastout

Most importantly its a weight saving of approx 10 ~ 12 whiskers of a Full Grown House Cat!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,479 ✭✭✭rollingscone

I've got full Ultegra on my roadbike so space and time just fold around me.

If you notice the world freeze framing that's someone on Ultegra or DA on a spin in your vicinity.

Also op, I can hit similar speeds of 38-40 on the flat on my 2300 equipped commuter to my Ultegra roadbike, handling aside the roadbike advantage is about sustaining power over distance i.e. I feel a lot less tired going fast on my roadbike so I can do it for longer (also see climbing, descending).

So I'd say your improved speed is a mix of shiny unworn part and new bartape effect.

Cheer up though, this means it was your legs making the difference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,076 ✭✭✭gman2k

I used to cycle with a chap who swore that that wearing sunglasses made him faster.
    His logic was that even though he felt faster , he knew it was not possible, so he must have been going slower, therefore he would push himself to go faster to make up....
    Ergo glasses make you cycle faster....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 197 ✭✭Mcofferon

Most importantly its a weight saving of approx 10 ~ 12 whiskers of a Full Grown House Cat!

Damn! Do I have to shave the cat too? I'm still building up the courage to take the razor to my legs:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,278 ✭✭✭kenmc

Mcofferon wrote: »
    Damn! Do I have to shave the cat too? I'm still building up the courage to take the razor to my legs:)
    Probably easier to wax the cat, especially the whiskers... although maybe an epilator would work ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,604 ✭✭✭petethedrummer

Either you have the world's most sensitive nerve endings or it's all in your head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,091 ✭✭✭furiousox

I've had two ultegra chains snap on me over the years.
    KMC chains are much better imo.

CPL 593H

furiousox wrote: »
    KMC chains are much better imo.

How many km/h faster we talkin'?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,305 ✭✭✭Mercian Pro

gman2k wrote: »
    I used to cycle with a chap who swore that that wearing sunglasses made him faster.
    His logic was that even though he felt faster , he knew it was not possible, so he must have been going slower, therefore he would push himself to go faster to make up....
    Ergo glasses make you cycle faster....

Shades of Flann O'Brien