Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Witness protection programme

• 31-01-2013 8:37pm
    Site Banned Posts: 49

If you could enter the Witness protection programme would you?
    A new life, new passport, job, mortgage paid; but you can never go back to your old life, family and friends. It would be a chance to start again, leaving everything from the past behind. But would you miss your old life too much and want out?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭DazMarz

Depends on what I had done that would mean I had to leave my old life behind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,689 ✭✭✭Tombi!

I don't think it'd work for me.
    Anywhere I go, all I'd here is "that's a bleedin' skanger from Dublin".

Can my name be Max Power?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 407 ✭✭Noel Kinsella

You could always do what Sammy (the bull) Gravano did and enter the witness protection programme (he ratted on John Gotti) and then get re-arrested for selling drugs LOL smart or what :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

I wouldn't want to anyway, I'd feel like a prisoner more than a protected witness.

Imagine you could never aspire to be successful in your field or that you could never put yourself above the parapet for fear of your identity being discovered?

Imagine then too if you had children that had to go into the program with you- social networking surely must be a nightmare for whoever controls the witness protection program.

There's far too many negatives for me definitely that outweigh a sedentary life in the suburbs and never being allowed to make something of yourself.

I'd sooner take the risk of keeping the life I have now and being shot on my front doorstep, than live a life constantly looking over my shoulder and having to live somebody else's idea of an "ideal" life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

You could always do what Sammy (the bull) Gravano did and enter the witness protection programme (he ratted on John Gotti) and then get re-arrested for selling drugs LOL smart or what :-)

Nasty bit of work, he admitted to something like 17 mob hits to get the deal. I was happy when the jackass got himself caught again, although if it was up to me I just would have informed the Gotti/Gambino family where he was instead. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭branie

From Goodfellas

And that's the hardest part. Today everything is different; there's no action... have to wait around like everyone else. Can't even get decent food - right after I got here, I ordered some spaghetti with marinara sauce, and I got egg noodles and ketchup. I'm an average nobody... get to live the rest of my life like a schnook.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Would I have to change my username?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

Henry Hill wrote:
    As far back as I can remember, I always wanted to be .... on a Witness Protection Program!

• Site Banned Posts: 49 johnnycarrick

The funny thing is a high percentage of those entering the programme end up committing crimes and get caught. Many are former criminals not just witnesses, and they find it hard to leave their old criminal life behind for good. The cover of anonymity, and a new identity is abused.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

DazMarz wrote: »
    Depends on what I had done that would mean I had to leave my old life behind.

You would have been a witness to a crime!

The funny thing is a high percentage of those entering the programme end up committing crimes and get caught. Many are former criminals not just witnesses, and they find it hard to leave their old criminal life behind for good. The cover of anonymity, and a new identity is abused.

Yeah, Henry Hill himself was another criminal turned informer who was kicked out of the programme for re offending.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,802 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

A new life, new passport, job, mortgage paid; but you can never go back to your old life, family and friends. It would be a chance to start again, leaving everything from the past behind. But would you miss your old life too much and want out?

How do you know i'm not already?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

You can do all those things on your own, no need for WPP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

Nasty bit of work, he admitted to something like 17 mob hits to get the deal. I was happy when the jackass got himself caught again, although if it was up to me I just would have informed the Gotti/Gambino family where he was instead. :pac:
    They knew anyway. Him and Roy DeMeo were psycopathic killers, there wasn't exactly a queue forming to be the one sent to kill him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

Would I have to change my username?

Yes, how does Nurse Bollockmena sound ?

branie wrote: »
    From Goodfellas

And that's the hardest part. Today everything is different; there's no action... have to wait around like everyone else. Can't even get decent food - right after I got here, I ordered some spaghetti with marinara sauce, and I got egg noodles and ketchup. I'm an average nobody... get to live the rest of my life like a schnook.
    There's the rub. Hard to go back to following the rules and being nice to people if your usual answer is a belt of a baseball bat. The desire to use the bat never goes away either, it's like a smoker quitting, they always feel like a cigarette when they're under pressure.

Where To wrote: »
    You can do all those things on your own, no need for WPP

New name on your (real) passport?
    Mortgage paid for life?
    No you can't!

Pottler wrote: »
    They knew anyway. Him and Roy DeMeo were psycopathic killers, there wasn't exactly a queue forming to be the one sent to kill him.

They did take out DeMeo and dismantle his crew once he became a liability though.

Maybe with the Bull it would been have hard to do anything because the cop's attention would obviously focus back to them. Also after John Sr went to prison the Gambino family began to fall apart under his son.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 297 ✭✭dienbienphu

Its actually very easy to obtain a new identity and you don't have to join the witness protection programme to do it. However, it is illegal and very immoral but everything has its price :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 253 ✭✭Pinklady11

There is many a stressful day when I would love to leave it all behind a start a new life!

But in reality I probably wouldn't last 5 minutes...I'm a homebird and love familiarity. I don't deal with change very well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,288 ✭✭✭TheUsual

Any way to get the t-shirt and baseball cap on the CIA website ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

New name on your (real) passport?
    Mortgage paid for life?
    No you can't!
    You can change your name by deed poll. If you're going to do the rest you won't be too about a mortgage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭3ndahalfof6

Yes I would, but the conditions would be I keep my maiden name and I would be able to see my family when ever I felt like they need to be protected,, that is all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,171 ✭✭✭triple-M

where do i sign?

Yes I would, but the conditions would be I keep my maiden name and I would be able to see my family when ever I felt like they need to be protected,, that is all.
    that's not a given even if you're not in a WPP.

So I will subject, WPP is now WPS, now we can speak and tell, no remorse, that is all.

It can't be all, cos I have no idea what that ^ means:confused:

You let them decide, or you decide for yourself, who wins, that is all.

Will you ever knock off the cryptic stuff:D I've no idea what that ^ means either. FFS, it's thursday, I'm knackered, you'll have to spell it out.

The swans follw the seagull but only in base football, if the trawler is out to sea land means nothing unless you are wearing LEVI'S.

Oh, right. Why didn't you just say that in the first place?

I did, that is all.

Eyes closed wide, that is all.

Good man lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,494 ✭✭✭The_Gatsby

Its actually very easy to obtain a new identity and you don't have to join the witness protection programme to do it. However, it is illegal and very immoral but everything has its price :D

Just out of interest...how? Or are you talking about Breaking Bad?

The_Gatsby wrote: »
    Just out of interest...how? Or are you talking about Breaking Bad?
    Was just discussing this at work today, usually involves using the identity of a child who died at birth/shortly after, our generall opinion was that it was too scummy for words, but there you go.

I wonder if you would be able to tell new partners your are on the programme or not?
    I suppose they would have to know anyway, for their own safety.