Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Roganstown Golf Club opinions?

• 30-01-2013 6:29pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭

My membership has expired in my current club(elm green) and I'm looking for something that's more of a challenge. I've pretty much decided on Roganstown but I'm a little bit put off by the length of the course. It's almost 6600 yards off the whites and 7000 off the blues! I'm currently playing off 19 but I hope to get down to about 15 if possible this year and I'm wondering if Roganstown might be too much of a challenge to have as my base course, especially considering elm green is so short in comparison?

Anybody have any opinions on Roganstown these days, or any handicappers similar to myself, how do ye find he course?

Im aware there are some threads already done on roganstown but I can't find a recent one!

many thanks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 589 ✭✭✭Dealerz

Hi
    This is the start of my 2nd year in Roganstown- joined with hc of 19 and am now off 17. I'm far from long off the tee with driver or with my irons. It is a long course but it's flat except for 16th. If your short game is solid then lenght shouldn't matter.

The drainage on the course is excellent even now and the greens are in great nick

Also there's never an issue getting a timesheet slot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭Quandary

Good to hear mate, and thanks for the reply!

How do you find the other members, are they a friendly bunch or is it a bit snooty?

Did you find the course busy at all or is it fairly quiet? I'm hoping it's not too packed with societies.

The members I've met are mostly grand but you get tossers everywhere- more than a few in elm green when I was there for a year. Societies are never out during members time ever!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 377 ✭✭brianrcarney

Dealerz wrote: »
    The members I've met are mostly grand but you get tossers everywhere- more than a few in elm green when I was there for a year. Societies are never out during members time ever!!!
    is there Sunday comps?

yes there is!

I was out at the course this evening and I spoke to a lady called Mary who was working in the pro shop. Had a good chat with her, seems like a nice lady. I had a look around the changing rooms etc, it seems like a fairly well kept place.

Have you any complaints about the place?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 605 ✭✭✭meath4sam

How much is membership if u dont mind me asking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 178 ✭✭lettuce97

Well I left last year after 2 years there to save a few quid and came back this year - total false economy and I'm delighted to be back!

€1439 with a deal incentive of free leisure (gym and pool) membership for you and €400 for your spouse

Are they still doing a referral bonus if an existing member manages to recruit a new joiner?

I'm not sure-ring the proshop

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,331 ✭✭✭mike12

I joined this year and have Zero complaints, i sort of knew a member so got €100 of the referral bonus back off him. The gym/pool/sauna is a nice touch thrown in plus you get a free 4ball.
    There are comps every Saturday and Sunday with a good few off the yellow tee have a look at roganstowngc for the full fixture list. They also have opens every Tuesday and members comps every Wednesday.

The course is the driest parkland i have played in winter it is more like a links the way it drains.
    Mike

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 379 ✭✭Someday

I joined this year also ! I played a lot last year with my Bro, the Drainage is brilliant as said earlier and they have a low amount of members which is good ! Best course in North Dublin imo when you consider everything !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,176 ✭✭✭blackwhite

One word of warning before joining here (or any hotel-linked Celtic tiger club).

Ask to see the most recent accounts and take a good look at the balance sheet. Establish if they are in Nama.
    And most importantly, see if you can pay by either direct debit or by credit card - it gives you some element of protection if things go pear-shaped.

This isn't intended as a dig at Roganstown - I've no idea what sort of financial state it is or isn't in. Just some general advice about joining any club that was financed with large bank borrowings in the last 20 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭BigChap1759

How many players would there be in the Sat & Sun comps?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭link_2007

blackwhite wrote: »
    One word of warning before joining here (or any hotel-linked Celtic tiger club).

Ask to see the most recent accounts and take a good look at the balance sheet. Establish if they are in Nama.
    And most importantly, see if you can pay by either direct debit or by credit card - it gives you some element of protection if things go pear-shaped.

This isn't intended as a dig at Roganstown - I've no idea what sort of financial state it is or isn't in. Just some general advice about joining any club that was financed with large bank borrowings in the last 20 years.

Would certainly agree that looking at the financial statements would be a good idea although I would be more inclined to focus on the cash flow statement (if available) rather than the balance sheet.

How many players would there be in the Sat & Sun comps?

Saturday wouldn't be as busy as Sundays as it's played off shorter tees on Saturdays- 68players due out this Saturday and 128 due out on Sunday but winter time and bad weather will impact on that.
    In general the members comp time on Saturdays is sunrise till 10am and sundays its sunrise till 12 noon. You can play non comp golf outside of this time assuming tee is free

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,176 ✭✭✭blackwhite

link_2007 wrote: »
    Would certainly agree that looking at the financial statements would be a good idea although I would be more inclined to focus on the cash flow statement (if available) rather than the balance sheet.

I think both would be important.

If there's massive debt on the balance sheet and no sign of any repayments/servicing on the cash flow I'd be asking some pointed questions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 379 ✭✭Someday

YOu can pay over 8 months for a small bit extra, they are not in nama !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 787 ✭✭✭RGS

Been a member of roganstown for 6/7 years and enjoy the challenge, Started with a hcap of 19 now play off 11 so its possible to drop your hcap in roganstown.
    As previously stated comps sat sun and midweek.
    Payment by DD or by credit card is acceptable.
    We also have a number of inter club teams.

Never had to play with mats or temporary greens.

Hope you join and enjoy the golf.

Not a NAMA course.

It does seem like a very good course alright.

The lady working in the pro shop was saying there is a private bar for golf members only in the hotel. If a current member could answer just a few questions that would be much appreciated :)

Is there a decent atmosphere around the place?
    Is the food decent quality, and is it expensive?

Also, are there any bad points about the club which would be worth mentioning?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 189 ✭✭Wftablueboy

Quandary wrote: »
    It does seem like a very good course alright.

The lady working in the pro shop was saying there is a private bar for golf members only in the hotel. If a current member could answer just a few questions that would be much appreciated :)

Is there a decent atmosphere around the place?
    Is the food decent quality, and is it expensive?

Also, are there any bad points about the club which would be worth mentioning?
    Private bar my hole , the MEMBERS BAR caters more for christinings and is closed off to members on a regular occurance ... theres a hard core of about 20 members that frequent the bar on a Sunday , but the service is rubbish !!
    The course is a good challange , but subs arnt worth 1500 , as for NAMA McInerneys had a hugh interest in the developement of Roganstown so not sure how secure McInerneys are now....

I'm a current member of Roganstown "GOLF" club- I don't go to drink beer in the bar as I don't drink and drive and I don't go to eat food as I have food at home! I go to play golf on a tough but extremely well maintained course. As far as I can remember it has closed two days in the last 15 months due to the weather- not a bad stat for Ireland parkland course.

I'm not here to convince anyone of how good it is compared to anywhere else because I look forward to playing it every week and well worth the €1439- which compares very well to similar courses in the area.

I played inter club with Roganstown last year and was a great experience getting to know lads and having beers after the matches was good crack

My only complaint is the sign in process to comps each week just takes way too long and way longer than any other course I've entered comps to

Cheers for the replies folks.

I'm waiting for a semi-dry day to go for a round there to get a proper feel for the place.

I played Druids Glen there about 3 weeks ago and it's a similar length to Roganstown. I didn't find it too long, aside from one of the par 4s which was 440yds into the wind :). I was hitting the ball very well that day though!

Has anyone here played the course in the last week or so?I know the course is very well drained but how is it playing after all this weather?

Cheers for the replies folks.

I'm waiting for a semi-dry day to go for a round there to get a proper feel for the place.

I played Druids Glen there about 3 weeks ago and it's a similar length to Roganstown. I didn't find it too long, aside from one of the par 4s which was 440yds into the wind :). I was hitting the ball very well that day though!

Has anyone here played the course in the last week or so?I know the course is very well drained but how is it playing after all this weather?
    It's dry at the moment.
    Mike

• Closed Accounts Posts: 92 ✭✭IanPoulter

I'm a current member of Roganstown "GOLF" club- I don't go to drink beer in the bar as I don't drink and drive and I don't go to eat food as I have food at home! I go to play golf on a tough but extremely well maintained course. As far as I can remember it has closed two days in the last 15 months due to the weather- not a bad stat for Ireland parkland course.

I'm not here to convince anyone of how good it is compared to anywhere else because I look forward to playing it every week and well worth the €1439- which compares very well to similar courses in the area.

I played inter club with Roganstown last year and was a great experience getting to know lads and having beers after the matches was good crack

My only complaint is the sign in process to comps each week just takes way too long and way longer than any other course I've entered comps to

Confused.com :confused:

But you're dead right about the sign in process. No co-operation between the pro shop and Men's/Ladies clubs.

What about the delays on the tee? Never get off on time :mad:

Op was talking about weekly beers after each round- I was talking about prearranged nights out after a inter club match- hope that's clarity for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 523 ✭✭✭leinsterdude

Pay with direct debit, they are a little unsteady....dont give over all your money, the Owner is a bit crazy too, he is nice one day and not the next, didnt Royston Brady have a run in with him ?

I think we are getting a wee bit off topic now assuming the MD is crazy cause he had a run in with the one and only Royston Brady.

I was intending to pay by DD alright, that'll give me some protection if anything drastic were to happen.

ill play the round as soon as i can, and provided I like the course ill join up.

Thanks for your input guys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,191 ✭✭✭Dr_Colossus

Have only played the course a few times but my own impressions are is that's it's a good course with nice practice facilities and well maintained (would rank it the 2nd best parkland in Dublin based on the courses I've played to date). It's a good long test of golf off the white tees (less so off the yellows) with a nice mix of water hazards and bunkers but quite generous off the tee so you can get away with being errand also.

I was considering joining it this year but can't justify the membership subs of €1419 when you factor in travel time (19km each way for me or 1/2 hour on the north Dublin roads). My inquiries also led me to believe the competition fees were on the expensive end at €7 (includes 2's I think) and that the prizes for such a competition fee were not good. I would join for €1k but that's unlikely to happen in the next few years as they don't seem to have difficulty in reaching their membership targets.

Interested to hear more about the problems/delays in signing into competitions, surely this is a relatively simple process of having your name on the timesheet and then logging into the computer on arrival? Are the timesheets online? The club is on HowDidIDo so has the necessary software and didn't have problems previously either signing in or teeing off on time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 92 ✭✭IanPoulter

IanPoulter wrote: »
    Confused.com :confused:

But you're dead right about the sign in process. No co-operation between the pro shop and Men's/Ladies clubs.

What about the delays on the tee? Never get off on time :mad:
    Op was talking about weekly beers after each round- I was talking about prearranged nights out after a inter club match- hope that's clarity for you.

OP has 7 posts in this thread and not one mentions beers.

It might be more helful to the OP if you confirmed or denied my view on delays on the tee-box.

BTW The owner is arrogant to say the least

IanPoulter wrote: »

OP has 7 posts in this thread and not one mentions beers.

It might be more helful to the OP if you confirmed or denied my view on delays on the tee-box.

BTW The owner is arrogant to say the least

I have played in 42 competitions in Roganstown gc since i joined and I can confirm I have never ever been delayed on the tee box ever- maybe the slow players are behind me.

As regards the owner I can't offer an opinion as I have never met the man as I just go to Roganstown gc to play golf and the enjoy the fresh air and the €2 bets with my mates

The op mentions the private members bar so maybe I jumped to the conclusion that the bar served beers- I can only apologise for that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Mister Sifter

My thoughts as a former member:

+ Nice enough course, if a little bland. A lot of long and boring holes with slopey greens. I wouldn't be put off by the length - the CSS is high at 34 pts white / 35 pts yellow. Scoring is never really ridiculous - shoot 40 points either day and you'll likely be in the prizes.

+ Prizes tend to be very poor. Top prize for everything tends to be a €50 Roganstown voucher. To put that in context, a box of 12 Pro-Vs in the golf shop there costs about €65.

+ The bigger events are very expensive: e.g. to play in Captain's Day you must also pay for the afters. Price to play it last year was €50 (€10 of which was subsidised by the men's club), regardless of whether you could make the dinner. Vice Cptns, i think, was €30, again with no golf only option.

+ Condition of the course is generally always good, but very rarely great. Bunkers are a major let-down. But it's always playable.

+ I found the club to be very poorly run, particularly in terms of inter-club etc and it's little wonder that they get dumped out of everything in the early stages each year.

+ Someone mentioned arrogance on the part of the owner - unfortunately arrogance runs right through the whole place and is particularly prevalent on the committee.

+ In terms of financial security - take a look at the accounts and make your own mind up, but they certainly ain't pretty. Choose your payment option wisely - that would be my advice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,091 ✭✭✭Peterdalkey

There is a pretty fundamental difference between commercial golf courses that have a club operating on site and a member owned traditional golf club. Many of the commercial courses are of high quality and Roganstown is a super facility.
    However, it appears to me that there is a constant them and us detente between the club and the course owners of commercial golf operations.. Member tee times and competition times are much more restricted than would be the norm in a members club. One has the impression that the members are there only to provide the hard core cash each year and the operating company is really only interested in selling tee times to generate extra revenue with outings, societies and catering to weddings, christenings, bar mitzvahs etc etc.
    Many of the commercial courses clubs that I am familiar with seem to suffer from a lack of “club atmosphere” and most of the camaraderie is among those who play on the representative teams. Commercial course memberships tend to be very much more likely to be in the “car park member ” category, those who just want to play their golf and go. This suits many people who have limited time available to play and is ideal for them. Those looking for more should bear this in mind.
    Members clubs and commercial golf operations are quite different beasts and have uniquely different motivations, goals and objectives. The financial stability of any club one is considering joining is an area that should be examined carefully in terms of cashflow and of the totality of any debt burden. Additional important considerations are proximity to your home, quality of course and facilities and these are probably more important than just the price. If you can rarely get to play at a fabulous distant course that is only E500 a year, each round can become very expensive and frustrating. If you are around the corner and get out a few times a week, even if only for a quick extra 9 on summer evenings, your value for money is linked more to frequency of play than to the headline sub price.
    In deciding where to join, it is a good idea to do a shopping list of things that are important to you with the most important at the top and the least at the bottom and then score all the clubs under consideration to find the best balance and value for YOU.
    In Dublin it is much more difficult to access member owned clubs but it may still be worthwhile to you to pay the extra to get what you really want.

Cheers

Peter

Well written post Peter

I played with the owner and he seems really nice and i've seen him round a lot he play's himself every sunday.

Mike

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,865 ✭✭✭TRS30

OP, I'm not sure where you live or will be traveling from however there are a number of other clubs not too far from Roganstown, especially around Donabate that you might want to consider if your mind is not fully made up.

Thanks again for the input everyone!

Im based in Drumcondra so Roganstown would be about 20 mins away. I used to be a member of elm green but I don't think it's challenging enough.

My brother is a member of Killeen golf club in Kildare. It's nice but it's too far away from me.

I'm looking for a decent club that's less than 20 mins away ideally, not too busy, and not much more than €1200. Roganstown checks a lot of boxes because it saves me payin for a gym too(not that that's a priority, just a nice addition)

Im based in Drumcondra so Roganstown would be about 20 mins away. I used to be a member of elm green but I don't think it's challenging enough.

My brother is a member of Killeen golf club in Kildare. It's nice but it's too far away from me.

I'm looking for a decent club that's less than 20 mins away ideally, not too busy, and not much more than €1200. Roganstown checks a lot of boxes because it saves me payin for a gym too(not that that's a priority, just a nice addition)

Have you looked at Clontarf? A well established club and close by.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 377 ✭✭brianrcarney

TRS30 wrote: »

Have you looked at Clontarf? A well established club and close by.
    not open for members from what I see on their site

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 161 ✭✭markie4

Several people I know left Elmgreen for Roganstown in the last few years and their handicaps generally came down by a couple of shots each within the year, so that should tick another box for you. Not sure if that's because they played more, practised more diligently or somehow Roganstown, despite its extra length, is actually easier to score on (relative to CSS) than Elmgreen. Some have stayed, some have since moved on from Roganstown. To be honest as a 19 h'cap, it's probably more a battle with yourself and your golf game than with the course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,191 ✭✭✭Dr_Colossus

Or how about Hollystown, alot of different membership options and as accessible as you'll get to north city centre Dublin. Have only played the course once during the Intermediate Scratch Cup last year and it was better than I was expecting.
    Thinking of it as a possibility for membership this year so interested to hear if there are any members on here and their take of condition and how busy it gets. Would expect with the 27 holes in play there is always the flexiblity of getting in 9 holes of a summers evening? Should probably start a new thread on the matter as existing Hollystown threads are quite old.

not open for members from what I see on their site

Looking for 5/6 day members according to the GUI website.

Just a quick update folks...

Seeing as the weather was so good today I played a round in roganstown.

My thoughts on the course after the round:

- greens were excellent, very quick & receptive yet not in the slightest bit wet.
    - the fairways were in very good condition and surprisingly firm given the amount of rain we've had
    - Tee off boxes weren't in great condition, a little bit cut up but still ok.
    - the course has some excellent holes with some nice features but it's a little bit flat.
    - I found it was fairly well laid out and there was plenty space between fairways/ greens/ tee off boxes
    - although the course is quite long it isnt overly punishing which is nice.
    - the practice facilities are relatively decent.
    - a fair few bunkers were flooded but that's to be expected

All in all I have to say I really enjoyed the round. I'll be joining next week :)

Thanks again for the input folks.

Just a quick update folks...

Seeing as the weather was so good today I played a round in roganstown.

My thoughts on the course after the round:

- greens were excellent, very quick & receptive yet not in the slightest bit wet.
    - the fairways were in very good condition and surprisingly firm given the amount of rain we've had
    - Tee off boxes weren't in great condition, a little bit cut up but still ok.
    - the course has some excellent holes with some nice features but it's a little bit flat.
    - I found it was fairly well laid out and there was plenty space between fairways/ greens/ tee off boxes
    - although the course is quite long it isnt overly punishing which is nice.
    - the practice facilities are relatively decent.
    - a fair few bunkers were flooded but that's to be expected

All in all I have to say I really enjoyed the round. I'll be joining next week :)

Thanks again for the input folks.

Good to hear you enjoyed it and best of luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 787 ✭✭✭RGS

As a roganstown member i extend a welcome to you and hope you enjoy the course. If you wish to join me in your early outings just pm me and we can arrange a tee time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 848 ✭✭✭Kace

RGS wrote: »
    As a roganstown member i extend a welcome to you and hope you enjoy the course. If you wish to join me in your early outings just pm me and we can arrange a tee time.

You will of course have to deal with that massively complicated competition sign-in process. Here it the tutorial :
    1. Swipe into computer using your GUI card
    2. Sign your name in the competition entry book
    3. Put money in an envelope with your name on it, making sure that your number in the book and on the envelope match
    4. Put envelope into competition entry box.

Must take all of about 40 seconds.