Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New born calves

• 29-01-2013 8:00pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭

Jaysus, you'd forget how small new born calves are when you haven't seen one in a while. Had the 1st couple calf over the weekend and when you go into the pen you just see a little black ball curled up in the corner. Then usually the eyes open, see you, then take off like a wobbly bullet a cross the straw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 633 ✭✭✭PMU

thats what they do in the wild, hide for the first 24hrs in the long grass and flee if they are found

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭mf240

PMU wrote: »
    thats what they do in the wild, hide for the first 24hrs in the long grass and flee if they are found

There's a theory that the cow cleans up the calf and eats the afterbirth to prevent predators from getting the scent. Again what they would do in the wild.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭grazeaway

mf240 wrote: »
    There's a theory that the cow cleans up the calf and eats the afterbirth to prevent predators from getting the scent. Again what they would do in the wild.

Had a heifer calf a few years ago, little Angus calf out in the field. Went to check in the afternoon, no calf, reappeared that evening, then missing again next day. Spent 3 hours checking all the fields and ditch's. found the little fecker in the neighbours ditch, she had burrowed into the briars and made a wee nest for herself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

grazeaway wrote: »
    Jaysus, you'd forget how small new born calves are when you haven't seen one in a while. Had the 1st couple calf over the weekend and when you go into the pen you just see a little black ball curled up in the corner.

Get yourself a Charolais bull and you wont have to be worried about small calves;).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 430 ✭✭Bigbird1

Bizzum wrote: »

Get yourself a Charolais bull and you wont have to be worried about small calves;).

Maybe ai them to cottage devon,no more small calves guaranteed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭grazeaway

ah i'm not too worried about their size, the ones that have calfed so far are all out of angus cows so will be a bit small starting off but the dad is a fine big lim so they'll fill out soon enough. And i'd perfer a small healthy calf then a big dead one. Its just getting used to handeling small wiry little fecker again after spending the last few months westling weanling. I'm sur teh novelity will have worn off by the time i have to carry one covered in mud on my shoulders a few hundred meters accross a muddy field in the lashing rain.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Bodacious

Bigbird1 wrote: »
    Maybe ai them to cottage devon,no more small calves guaranteed

i see his calving difficulty figures dropped a bit to from 21%to 17.38% on the december evaluations.. maybe people wary of him now and only using him on their best proven mature cows..

anyone had calves out of him lately, any trouble? ive one due now to him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,828 ✭✭✭yellow50HX

ah i'm not too worried about their size, the ones that have calfed so far are all out of angus cows so will be a bit small starting off but the dad is a fine big lim so they'll fill out soon enough. And i'd perfer a small healthy calf then a big dead one. Its just getting used to handeling small wiry little fecker again after spending the last few months westling weanling. I'm sur teh novelity will have worn off by the time i have to carry one covered in mud on my shoulders a few hundred meters accross a muddy field in the lashing rain.

we use the digger to bring in any calves that were born out in the field (strip grazing beet). its a hell of a lot easier and safer too. The cow usually follows the digger in while the calf will usually sit in the bucket enjoying the spin, it normally not until we get into the yard and the digger stops that they try to get out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭Dunedin

Jaysus, you'd forget how small new born calves are when you haven't seen one in a while. Had the 1st couple calf over the weekend and when you go into the pen you just see a little black ball curled up in the corner. Then usually the eyes open, see you, then take off like a wobbly bullet a cross the straw.

just be mindful of the mothers around ALL newborn calves. I'm sure you know this anyway but just in case. It's often the quiet ones that catch you. they generally quieten down after a few days but their nature is to protect their young so never take chances. when you're around new born's always have a good stick, spade, shovel or something, always have an escape route and don't be hanging of the mobile as that will reduce your reaction time.......... don't mean to preach but cows at calving are far more dangerous than any bull.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

What I find gas is the cat and mouse game you have to play with the cow to find the calf. You walk around the field with one eye on the cow trying to tell from her reaction how close you are. If you see her looking back over her shoulder then you know you are way off. The calves do like to hide away alright. Survival instinct.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭Dunedin

pakalasa wrote: »
    The calves do like to hide away alright. Survival instinct.

more often it's not about survival but moreso the calf finding a dry sheltered spot - and they always will. just like in a shed, they always lie in the driest part of the straw.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Bodacious

Dunedin wrote: »

more often it's not about survival but moreso the calf finding a dry sheltered spot - and they always will. just like in a shed, they always lie in the driest part of the straw.

This is so true , nature is brilliant

I took a walk lastnight to see where a heifer and calf were situated , horrible cold south east wind howling and not alot of shelter in that field from that wind direction, yet calf had found a lovely dip in the ground and big furze over it and was lovely nestled into it , cow beside her

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

Dunedin wrote: »
    just be mindful of the mothers around ALL newborn calves. I'm sure you know this anyway but just in case. It's often the quiet ones that catch you. they generally quieten down after a few days but their nature is to protect their young so never take chances. when you're around new born's always have a good stick, spade, shovel or something, always have an escape route and don't be hanging of the mobile as that will reduce your reaction time.......... don't mean to preach but cows at calving are far more dangerous than any bull.
    Could'nt agree more got faced twice yesterday by two different dairy cows milked then yesterday pm absolutly perfectly quiet