Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tyre Recommendation

• 28-01-2013 10:59pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭

Looking for recommendations for 16" tyres to replace my bridgestone turanza er300s. My main priorities are decent grip and low road noise.

Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Does price come into it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭zizou_

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Does price come into it?

Was thinking about 100EUR each.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 876 ✭✭✭TheBully

Pirelli P6000, Plenty of grip and very little road noise, We stock them for €90 each compared to your bridgestone at €95 each! You wont go wrong!

ps. im taking it that your size is 205/55x16

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 977 ✭✭✭Wheelnut

According to this the P6000 are not too good:
    http://www.tyrereviews.co.uk/Tyre/Pirelli/P6000.htm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

205/55/r16 is the most common size in that size and you should be able to buy the likes of Hankooks for around €75 a corner. Deviate from that size and the price increases substantially.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

Toyo's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 876 ✭✭✭TheBully

I work in a garage, Iv had every brand of tyre on and in a 205/55x16 iv been unable to fault any pirelli apart from the fact that you may not get the same mileage as a Michelin/Continental! Michelin are also about 10-15% more expensive also and the fact that you are getting more mileage actually takes away some of your grip!
    Dont take any heed of them review websites, check your own tyres on your car and see if the review they give is an accurate description of your opinion, Im sure it wont!

in My opinion these are one of the best tyres on the market and the reviews are not really all that good on that site....
    http://www.tyrereviews.co.uk/Tyre/Goodyear/Eagle-F1-GSD3.htm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 497 ✭✭Mr Keek

Can I jump in here too lads, I'm in the market for tyres too. Currently have Kumho ESTA SPT's

I want to get low resistence tyre's, every little helps!

Whilst helping your fuel consumtion is fine an well; grip is obviously the all important factor.

I've narrowed my search down to either the Pirelli Cinturato P7 or thr Continental EcoContact 5.

The Pirelli Cinturato's appears to be standard fit on alot of cars recently, seen a few VW Sirocco's and some BMW 5 series sporting them.

Continental would appear to have a proven track record for safety, they are a German tyre too, usually a good thing!

Have any of yis any experience with either? What would ye be spending your money on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

My tyres, used this brand for yonks and can't fault them.
    www.tyrereviews.co.uk/Tyre/Uniroyal/RainExpert.htm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,974 ✭✭✭whizbang

I had a pair Continental Eco-something fitted to a 7 seater, sometime in early 2010.
    I have to say, they had appallingly bad grip in the wet, only a little better in the dry. wear was poor also.

OP, are those turanza on an avensis by any chance? The avensis seems to be most sensitive to 'feel' of tyres

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭zizou_

whizbang wrote: »
    I had a pair Continental Eco-something fitted to a 7 seater, sometime in early 2010.
    I have to say, they had appallingly bad grip in the wet, only a little better in the dry. wear was poor also.

OP, are those turanza on an avensis by any chance? The avensis seems to be most sensitive to 'feel' of tyres

It's a honda frv. Was looking at the tyre review sites and sometimes too much info is a bad thing. Probably gonna go for the hankook

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,626 ✭✭✭✭vectra

zizou_ wrote: »
    It's a honda frv. Was looking at the tyre review sites and sometimes too much info is a bad thing. Probably gonna go for the hankook

You just cannot go wrong with Hankook.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭furtzy

Consistantly the best make of tyre I've ever had have been Vredestein. Quite reasonably priced as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

furtzy wrote: »
    Consistantly the best make of tyre I've ever had have been Vredestein. Quite reasonably priced as well

I have Vredestein but they only really become good value when you start getting into the big or odd sizes. For the size the OP is looking at they tend to be expensive and imo are not worth the extra money over the likes of the Hankooks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭furtzy

bazz26 wrote: »
    I have Vredestein but they only really become good value when you start getting into the big or odd sizes. For the size the OP is looking at they tend to be expensive and imo are not worth the extra money over the likes of the Hankooks.

Only ever bought them in 18" although in 195/55R16 size in eiretyre theres not much difference, typically €10, between them and the Hankooks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Hankock Ventus Prime. I have them in 205/55/16. Got them just before christmas in place of the Semperates that was on the car.

Seem to be even better now with the recent rise in road temperature.

Bridgestone Turanza on the rears, they will be switched over to Hankocks as well when their time is up.