Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gaelforce West - What bike

• 28-01-2013 10:24pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 283 ✭✭

Well Ive signed up to do the Gaelforce West with a friend but Im unsure what bike to use. Reports say a road bike isnt suitable for some sections but then a big chunk is on road so my hardtail wont fit it. HAs anyone here done it and can they recommend a decent compromise (MTB on slicks??)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,808 ✭✭✭g0g

I did it in 2010 on a hybrid. Only place I had to get off my bike was part of the downhill after CP where the trail was nearly impossible to cycle on. Granted I wouldn't be recommending a very expensive road bike for it as parts of the terrain aren't great, but by no means should you think mountain bike is the only way to go. Much more of the cycle is on road than off road!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,457 ✭✭✭ford2600

Did it with hatdtail on slicks. Cx would also work.

mikerd4 wrote: »
    Well Ive signed up to do the Gaelforce West with a friend but Im unsure what bike to use. Reports say a road bike isnt suitable for some sections but then a big chunk is on road so my hardtail wont fit it. HAs anyone here done it and can they recommend a decent compromise (MTB on slicks??)

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 8,679 Mod ✭✭✭✭Rew

I've done it twice, 1st time on a MTB with slicks and 2nd time on a carbon framed road bike. MTB wasn't much better on the off roads due to lack of grip and tier width. The worst section most people get off and run with the bike or carry the bike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 283 ✭✭mikerd4

Which did you set a better time Rew?

Road bike

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 283 ✭✭mikerd4

I have a cf frame and an alu frame. I think the alu frame is getting rolled out lol did you have to carry it much?

You probably wont set a great time first year regardless just because you wont know the course. I carried the bike for about 200-300 meters. Tried to cycle it and ended up in the ditch. I was either going to end up trashing the bike or my self. I reckon your more likely trash a wheel or rear derailleur than anything else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,103 ✭✭✭2 Wheels Good

Have done it on both my racer with touring tyres and my mtb with slicks. Both have their advantages. The racer, obviously on the road, but saying that the roads aren't great so you won't travel as quick as you would on better roads and depending on your offroad skills you may have to walk parts. On the mtb, there weren't too many sections where i felt left out and I really enjoyed the last bad section and was able to fly down the worst stretch. The last mile into Westport was a pain though :)
    To be honest, if you're going to be really competitive, get the loan of a cyclocross bike, if you want a bit of craic take the mtb and enjoy the cycle and the wind that will invariably be in your face no matter which direction you're going :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭RidleyRider

If I was doing it I'd get a cyclocross bike anyway to handle the tougher bits.

The again if you have an older frame/bike throw on some 28c tires if they fit and you should be grand.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

3 times done, all on roadbikes. More fun in passing the reams of people on heavy MTB's on the hills :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭hardCopy

This question comes up a lot, roadbike always seems to be the consensus.

I've done it twice on the roadie, I wouldn't say there is enough rough stuff to justify an mtb.

Throw on a pair of gatorskins and you're good to go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 623 ✭✭✭J Madone

Did it twice on a road bike, that hill in the first 5k of the bike leg must be a killer on a gate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,791 ✭✭✭Enduro

I've won it on a road bike. Everything is cycleable if you have the riding skills.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,122 ✭✭✭Peterx

A roadbike is the quickest option. The entire course is ridable but one short section is probably safer to run.

In terms of compromise I'd imagine a roadbike with flatbars, 28mm gatorskins (or fast rolling CX tyres) and a compact chainset would give the best mix of speed and handling. SPD shoes are better than road cleats as you may have to walk sections.

An MTB is the slowest and safest choice, over 90% of the cycling is on Tarmac but there is a very rough section where you will merrily cycle past lads walking their roadbikes.

Best of luck!

Peterx wrote: »

A roadbike is the quickest option. The entire course is ridable but one short section is probably safer to run.

In terms of compromise I'd imagine a roadbike with flatbars, 28mm gatorskins (or fast rolling CX tyres) and a compact chainset would give the best mix of speed and handling. SPD shoes are better than road cleats as you may have to walk sections.

An MTB is the slowest and safest choice, over 90% of the cycling is on Tarmac but there is a very rough section where you will merrily cycle past lads walking their roadbikes.

Best of luck!

Well, how many times have you won it on a road bike Peter? :0)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,122 ✭✭✭Peterx

J Madone wrote: »
    Well, how many times have you won it on a road bike Peter? :0)

In fairness to Eoiny Beany he was the first to win it on a roadbike:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 537 ✭✭✭padjo5

Having done it in 2011 on an all Alu road bike, with 28mm cross tyres, I'd happily suggest something along these lines....which allowed me cycle all bar 20metres after CP which was very deep muck.

As previously posted, there is one particular climb which would break your heart on a tank of a bike. Saw lots of folk walking up it, 2 with broken chains, and no way to fix them, game over!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 537 ✭✭✭padjo5

Having done it in 2011 on an all Alu road bike, with 28mm cross tyres, I'd happily suggest something along these lines....which allowed me cycle all bar 20metres after CP which was very deep muck.

As previously posted, there is one particular climb which would break your heart on a tank of a bike. Saw lots of folk walking up it, 2 with broken chains, and no way to fix them, game over!

Peterx wrote: »
    In fairness to Eoiny Beany he was the first to win it on a roadbike:)

We are talking quantity here Peter, dont be shy, 3 times?

padjo5 wrote: »

2 years ago lad I know blacked out on the bike before CP woke up being put in the ambulance, last year he was going great rounded the corner onto the track after CP on the bike and the rear derailleur came off... fairplay to him, he fired the bike over a wall into a field and ran the 12 or so KM back to the finish line, he has no luck with GFW!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 369 ✭✭banner_phoenix

Potentially looking at this also. What type of pedal is it best to use - would I be right in assuming the normal instead of clip-in so I wont have to carry shoes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,791 ✭✭✭Enduro

Potentially looking at this also. What type of pedal is it best to use - would I be right in assuming the normal instead of clip-in so I wont have to carry shoes?

The answer entirely depends on your own abilities. It's a matter of balancing the time to be gained by not having to change shoes and not having to carry your running shoes whilst cycling to and from CP, versus how much time is to be gained from the efficiency of using proper cycling shoes on the cycling legs. There are several variables in there which will differ from person to person. But in general the closer you are to the front of the field, the more likely it is that not changing shoes will be the biggest gain, and therefore traditional clipped (i.e. flat pedals with a toe clip and/or straps) pedals (or powerstraps) will be better.

But the main point is, you need to think about all the factors and work it out for yourself. You could even do it scientifically and work out what all the time differences should be by testing and timing all the factors in training.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,103 ✭✭✭2 Wheels Good

Enduro wrote: »
    The answer entirely depends on your own abilities. It's a matter of balancing the time to be gained by not having to change shoes and not having to carry your running shoes whilst cycling to and from CP, versus how much time is to be gained from the efficiency of using proper cycling shoes on the cycling legs. There are several variables in there which will differ from person to person. But in general the closer you are to the front of the field, the more likely it is that not changing shoes will be the biggest gain, and therefore traditional clipped (i.e. flat pedals with a toe clip and/or straps) pedals (or powerstraps) will be better.

But the main point is, you need to think about all the factors and work it out for yourself. You could even do it scientifically and work out what all the time differences should be by testing and timing all the factors in training.
    Only thing i'd add to what Enduro said, and this is where he's right about testing your options is to remember the conditions. First time round i wore normal trainers and used spd pedals/shoes. It takes a while to remove soggy shoes and change to spds and vice versa at CP, but I probably had better efficiency on the cycle (And I'd a pair of heavy soggy runners on my back for the cycle).
    2nd time round I wore INOV8 trail runners (much lighter) and used toe clips. Much quicker at the changeovers but the trail runners aren't really made for cycling so i probably lost some time due to their flexibility, but overall don't think I'd use the spds again unless I develop F1 speed changeover skills :)