Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Home defence

• 28-01-2013 12:21am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 284 ✭✭

I just realised, if one or more intruders broke into my home some night and woke me, I have no plan whatsoever.

Whether it be a plan to just get somewhere safe and call the Guards, confront with a deadly weapon, ensure everyone else is safe, basically protect your home if you can.

So I'm just wondering, does anyone here have a plan for such an instance? Maybe something you've spoke about as a family and practiced just in case?

Given the news recently, it's definitely something I'm going to put on the agenda.

Also, would anyone consider buying a deadly weapon? There are no children in my house, but still, I'm not sure I'd be comfortable owning a gun. Maybe a crossbow?! :D

If so, what would you buy?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭Max Power

Can't go wrong with a good guard dog.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭Ronnie Beck

but you don't have to walk a crossbow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

a bucket of water on a half open door and some marbles on the floor.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 284 ✭✭HTML5!

That's true. But unfortunately I wouldn't have time to look after a dog. I would love a dog though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,301 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

Nether do we really. I live with 3 other lads but were all students so we don't really have anything worth stealing. At home my parents have a large and rather aggressive German Shepard who sleeps in the kitchen. Thats probably the best defense really.

phasers wrote: »
    a bucket of water on a half open door and some marbles on the floor.

And maybe some paint buckets to swing from the bannisters? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 479 ✭✭ball

Don't buy anything worth stealing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

I'd put on a bedsheet and pretend to be a ghost.
    Criminals are a cowardly and superstitious lot, and probably particularly scared of ghosts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,972 ✭✭✭orestes

Buy a gun. If anyone breaks in, shoot yourself. Can't be too careful these days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,574 ✭✭✭falan

I keep a hammer under the bed :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭Lagoona Blue

A dog ? a lock on your bedroom door? maybe If I heard someone downstairs I would gather all the kids in my room and lock the door and ring the guards. Then again I'd probably just freeze . I don't think anyone can really be ready for that situation as we don't know how we will actually react until it actually happens . I've weapons in my room by the bed but I doubt I would ever use them .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

falan wrote: »
    I keep a hammer under the bed :)
    In case the burglar needs any DIY done?

Good idea, befriend them and then they won't rob you!

A dog ? a lock on your bedroom door? maybe If I heard someone downstairs I would gather all the kids in my room and lock the door and ring the guards. Then again I'd probably just freeze . I don't think anyone can really be ready for that situation as we don't know how we will actually react until it actually happens . I've weapons in my room by the bed but I doubt I would ever use them ?

What kind of weapons?

I hear what you're saying, but I think if you rehearsed something you'd be as ready as can be in that situtation I guess.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Look at all the home alone movies again, some great ideas there :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

Fully intend using my penis as a weapon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

ball wrote: »
    Don't buy anything worth stealing
    This. They'll have to start carrying in before they start carrying out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭Lagoona Blue

HTML5! wrote: »
    What kind of weapons?

I hear what you're saying, but I think if you rehearsed something you'd be as ready as can be in that situtation I guess.

A Hammer !!! But bear in mind if someone wakes you up out of your sleep you're going to be very disorientated so they will have the upper hand .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,848 ✭✭✭Andy-Pandy

I've a baseball bat in my bedroom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 499 ✭✭greenflash

Better off with a hammer or small cosh... something short that can be used in a confined space. The average guard dog is probably about five foot long and would be impossible to get a decent swing going in the hall or on the stairs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭keithsfleet

Any muppets comes routing round my house, touching my stuff, smelling my freshly washed boxers I'll let happily jump out of bed and confront them.
    I've brass knuckles here (actually cheap stainless steel) and numerous small, heavy, hard objects sitting round the landing and bedroom.
    Realistically though most of our houses will be robbed while were at work/college/out.
    Heard a recent statistic that Friday afternoon is the most likely time to have you're house burgled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭Dave1014

Have had the experience of confronting somebody robbing the neighbours in the early hours with my trusty aluminium baseball bat. Worked a treat!! Another time again a neighbours house being robbed and the best thing I laid my hands was a shovel! Came in handy when the robber took out a knife! God forbid the situation ever happens, you will pick something useful up!!(4ft sword beside bed!)

Heard a recent statistic that Friday afternoon is the most likely time to have you're house burgled.

Interesting stat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭3ndahalfof6

Im gonna get me one of those upper hands, that ill give them the buck.

Dave1014 wrote: »
    Have had the experience of confronting somebody robbing the neighbours in the early hours with my trusty aluminium baseball bat. Worked a treat!! Another time again a neighbours house being robbed and the best thing I laid my hands was a shovel! Came in handy when the robber took out a knife! God forbid the situation ever happens, you will pick something useful up!!(4ft sword beside bed!)

Ah the aul' baseball bat.

I'd just be worried they'd shoot me mid-swing!

You can't be too careful these days....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,203 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Just watch home alone and you'll know what to do :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 107 ✭✭smellsfunny

I've a 9mm glock beside my bed. God help any burglars who come to my house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 635 ✭✭✭SEANoftheDEAD

Baseball bats, golf clubs and anything like it are useless... try swinging that in a hall way or on the landing...
    Small stabbing weapons like a dagger would be a better option.

Then again if it we're me, Id probably sleep threw the whole thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,221 ✭✭✭A_Sober_Paddy

I've a 9mm glock beside my bed. God help any burglars who come to my house.

You got a gun safe in the house?

Baseball bats, golf clubs and anything like it are useless... try swinging that in a hall way or on the landing...
    Small stabbing weapons like a dagger would be a better option.

Then again if it we're me, Id probably sleep threw the whole thing.

'Knives and stabbing weapons.' :D

Very true.

Also, a crossbow would be cumbersome to reload.

Ninja stars or shotgun. Hmm...;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,230 ✭✭✭Leftist

guard dog :D here's a bar of chocolate, good night pooch.

There's only two ways to go about this:
    Have your carkeys and wallet in a visible, easy to access area, ie the kitchen table. Therefore intruders can take it and leave.

Or

spend a fortune on a security system that will probably fail anyway.
    I was at a garda conference two years ago and they showed us how easy it is to disable a house alarm. They have these gadgets that work on radio wave, all you have to do is attach it to a wired boundary, window or door where you see the white wiring. It shuts it all down.

There was one guy who built an escape route from his home, got done for not having planning permission and when his story hit local news, burglars used the unfinished escape tunnel to break INTO his home. They tied him up and defiled him with his own coin collection.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

To be honest, the best thing that's often said, is to avoid confrontation. Also, what use are weapons going to be to you, if you got something you don't even know how to use?

exactly. You're just after waking up, you're disorientated and you try to grab a knife and face a criminal, someone also armed, prepared and likely to have experience and an accomplice? good night, you've just got yourself stabbed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 874 ✭✭✭Gosub

squod wrote: »
    Fully intend using my penis as a weapon.
    Good strategy... when they're incapacitated laughing, run like frick. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭Garzard

A large Maglite would be handy for temporarily blinding an intruder, then hitting them over the head with it! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,390 ✭✭✭The Big Red Button

I just moved house, and I've got a big red panic button type-thing in my new bedroom! I don't know if it actually works, or what it's supposed to do ... so far, I've resisted the temptation to press it and find out!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,558 ✭✭✭seven_eleven

I set my house alarm at night. Also, I have a large heavy steel bar, and a golf club or two located in different places.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭gobnaitolunacy

A load of Micro Machines, a blow lamp and a pack of 6 inch nails.

I just moved house, and I've got a big red panic button type-thing in my new bedroom! I don't know if it actually works, or what it's supposed to do ... so far, I've resisted the temptation to press it and find out!

There's a scam going around where false panic alarms are put in and instead of going to the alarm company, they just go to criminals phones via an app. That way they know the owner is likely to be easily intimidated and they then plan a break in.
    I set my house alarm at night. Also, I have a large heavy steel bar, and a golf club or two located in different places.

golf clubs and large bars are pretty useless in confined quater combat. You'll likely smash your wall first and then have it inserted into an orifice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

I have a 90s Micra parked outside. Everyone knows there can't be anything valuable inside then.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Leftist wrote: »
    There's a scam going around where false panic alarms are put in and instead of going to the alarm company, they just go to criminals phones via an app. That way they know the owner is likely to be easily intimidated and they then plan a break in.

All the houses in our area have'em. Seems to have been part of the development when they were built.

let me guess, there's been a lot of robberies?

I once spoke with a criminal who help build the house I lived in at the time, He boasted that he 'took a sh!t' in all the attics of the houses on that street.
    If he could do that, he could probably install a high-tech false panic alarm.

let me guess, there's been a lot of robberies?

I once spoke with a criminal who help build the house I lived in at the time, He boasted that he 'took a sh!t' in all the attics of the houses on that street.
    If he could do that, he could probably install a high-tech false panic alarm.

Not in that area no. It's always been relatively quiet compared to other places.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

A gimp mask, a PVC suit, and a strap-on.

Wear that and leg it down the stairs towards them, will terrify them and they'll bolt......

.........or they'll get turned on and stay :(

Duggy747 wrote: »
    A gimp mask, a PVC suit, and a strap-on.

Wear that and leg it down the stairs towards them, will terrify them and they'll bolt......

.........or they'll get turned on and stay :(

I take it you've never put a gimp suit on before? it takes about 20 minutes... so I've read.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭doubter

I take it you've never put a gimp suit on before? it takes about 20 minutes... so I've read.

I've 6 dogs..and if the dogs don't get them, the 16 cats or the connemara pony will..I've my bets on the pnoy though..he's pretty mean.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 105 ✭✭ally k

I hav a taser gun that gives off 70 thousand volts beside the bed god help the burglar if they come in ...They will be in for a nasty shock pardon the pun .....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Then you must do the Superman job and always wear it under your clothes...........supposedly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 553 ✭✭✭BASHIR

Flame-thrower, will be hard to carry while it's on fire.

I leave my collection of kung fu movies lying around the house so hopefully any thieves see them and know im not to be messed with.