Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

memories of the 12/13 season

• 27-01-2013 11:02pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,868 ✭✭✭

taught it would be fun to start this thread.
    just somewhere fellas/lasses to share there favourite/strangest/saddest moments of their season.feel free to delete this thread if it causes any violations or breaks any rules

anyways twudnt be fair if i didnt start,

funniest moment for me was my mate, who claims an electric fence shall never get him, managed to stop to 'strain the shpuds'.in his eagerness he failed to notice the fence under some scutch grass.anyhoo long story short, the poor dogs taught they were going to be killed for something unbelievable.my mate ended up about 15 yards the other side of the fence with his trousers round his knees and face down in a mucky patch of ****e!!!!:D:D:D

who's next???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 873 ✭✭✭snipe02

shooting a cock who just before he hit the ground got a huge gust of wind under him and glided over a line of trees and about 400 yrds down to the top of a big valley sent on the dog thinkin no hes def gone feck it anyway only for her to pick up his trail for about 100 yrds and pick him couldnt believe we got him was sure he was a gonner lovely lookin bird it was the day after she picked a runner in about 10 acres of elephant grass def the best 2 moments of my season in third place it would have to be catching 2 of my buddies holding hands crossing a drain and giving them a wolf whistle (so romantic)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭EPointer=Birdss

Would have to say catching my shooting buddy yet again shooting a hen! Once every 3 years it seems to happen. There must be some magical cock to hen transformation that happens every 3 years!! Funniest thing is this year I caught it all on camera & have threathened him with youtube numerous times!!! :D

More times than I care to remember my dog has done something to which I just thought "Time to train a new one cause you my pal are just a pleasure to be out with!" followed by that sad moment reality moment having gone through 2 stand out dogs in the past of "Your nearly 5 now & as time goes on I realize I'm gonna miss you something terrible in time" :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 127 ✭✭Username Exists.

Would have to say catching my shooting buddy yet again shooting a hen! Once every 3 years it seems to happen. There must be some magical cock to hen transformation that happens every 3 years!! Funniest thing is this year I caught it all on camera & have threathened him with youtube numerous times!!! :D

More times than I care to remember my dog has done something to which I just thought "Time to train a new one cause you my pal are just a pleasure to be out with!" followed by that sad moment reality moment having gone through 2 stand out dogs in the past of "Your nearly 5 now & as time goes on I realize I'm gonna miss you something terrible in time" :(

My lab is three years old now and is really coming into her own. This season she has caught more birds (wounded and weak birds that other dogs were not good enough to get) than my father has shot. He's in his 70's but still going strong.
    I too will miss them both terribly in years to come.

My lab is three years old now and is really coming into her own. This season she has caught more birds (wounded and weak birds that other dogs were not good enough to get) than my father has shot. He's in his 70's but still going strong.
    I too will miss them both terribly in years to come.

I always find season end is a time for reflection. As said i take a few weeks off & relax, pay my dues with her indoors & the reminiscing changes to forward planning.
    Most important thing is to appreciate what you have when u have it & enjoy it.
    The memories my camera gives me are really the main reason I use it. Have some great stuff on film.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭ormondprop

Most memorable prt of the season was shooting my first deer

Have caught the bug and am saving for a deer rifle for next season,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,868 ✭✭✭djflawless

ah i know the feeling.my bitch is 6 now.hoping i can notice her season well before november to try get her sired..will miss the old girl (god forbid its not soon) when shes gone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 127 ✭✭Username Exists.

I always find season end is a time for reflection. As said i take a few weeks off & relax, pay my dues with her indoors & the reminiscing changes to forward planning.
    Most important thing is to appreciate what you have when u have it & enjoy it.
    The memories my camera gives me are really the main reason I use it. Have some great stuff on film.
    Indeed, my father was writing his time off during the summer his dog was ageing like he is so I bought him a pup for christmas. I had no idea how it was going to go but it was the best thing i could have done. He's delighted, and the oul dog loves the company despite the fact that the pup is hanging out of him. My father says it'll put years on the oul dog, i think it'll put years on the oul (lad) dog too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 141 ✭✭ah sure !

yesterday evening for my last time out.
    For a bit of fun told my young son to go in a small wood and flush a woodcock for me while a wait on the edge. Surely less than 5 seconds later one takes off like a rocket and i miss !
    "Dad ? "
    "yes son "
    "you are rubbish at shooting woodcock ..."
    "Thanks son "

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,097 ✭✭✭charlie10

snipe02 wrote: »
    shooting a cock who just before he hit the ground got a huge gust of wind under him and glided over a line of trees and about 400 yrds down to the top of a big valley sent on the dog thinkin no hes def gone feck it anyway only for her to pick up his trail for about 100 yrds and pick him couldnt believe we got him was sure he was a gonner lovely lookin bird it was the day after she picked a runner in about 10 acres of elephant grass def the best 2 moments of my season in third place it would have to be catching 2 of my buddies holding hands crossing a drain and giving them a wolf whistle (so romantic)

think one of my most awkward moments was crossing a drain and a lad held my hand as i was faling back and some one (snipe0) wolf whistles . two of us made eye contact now that was awkward!!!

hard to pick the best moment i had so many,having the young pup retrieve the teals was one highlight,going to kilkenny was another thing i wont forget really enjoyed it. shooting 3 double snipe and two singles in one day! and finally shooting a shovelor ,melanistic,and monster mallard in one day. now its time for vermin control and sunday walks with the pup getting him going;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,147 ✭✭✭dev110

I don't have any really stand out moment. I enjoyed the season and its amazing how a dog can come on in a year. This is only my second season with my own dog so am still learning.

The one moment that had a smile on my face was the 1st of November where I had a snap shot at a pheasant and dropped him across a big drain/river. Sent the dog and he went straight into the drain, up the far side, got the pheasant and brought him back at my feet. It was his first proper retrieve on a pheasant as the year before I only managed to get one.

Looking forward to getting the new pup up to speed and if I was to judge him now I say I'm going to have my hands full in the coming months. Nothing stops him. He is already routing through bushes and bits of trees. Doesn't pass any notice on water as he does be running around when I am cleaning out the pen and often gets a splash and if anything he gets more playful when it happens.

Bring on November :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 248 ✭✭Dalken

Saturday morning last shooting a cock and a flock of wigeon lifting from a pool behind the ditch, I managed to reload as they passed over head and bagged a left and right, two lovely drakes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,357 ✭✭✭gregers85

This was my first real season hunting! I've been clay shooting in my club for the last 5-6 yrs but my uncles and a few of my cousins are all into the hunting in a big way! went out a few times last yr and got hooked! I had a pet english setter (she had just turned 2 so till young) from hunting lines, she was very "birdie" so decided to train her over the summer (as best a novice could)!

bagged my first every pheasant about 2 weeks into the season! was a special moment have to say! one ill remember! my cousin and myself where working a ditch parallel to a river bank, me being 3 stone heavier I was about 10-15 paces behind haha came to a large opening and the dogs went through it and continue'd on, my cousin followed on our side - lost sight of the dogs - I arrived to the gap to see my setter U-Turn and SET like a dart! didnt get to hold for more then a second when my cousins springer burst in and up with a cock bird!! was a lovely stir-fry haha :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Mine would be getting my first hawk last January and seeing her catch her first rabbit and was pretty sad when she died after hitting a fence chasing a rabbit
    These things happen

Mine would be getting my first hawk last January and seeing her catch her first rabbit and was pretty sad when she died after hitting a fence chasing a rabbit
    These things happen

jesus...would that be considered a freak accident or a kind of common thing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 380 ✭✭Cavan duck buster

Shooting a mallard and it ended up hitting my shooting buddy in the head who didn't have a clue what happend while aiming at a differen't duck :)
    He almost s##t him self :):):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

djflawless wrote: »

jesus...would that be considered a freak accident or a kind of common thing?
    I thought it was freak accident but its happening more and more with other lads all over the world
    Lad well known for flying and breeding goshawks his goshawk hit a fence chasing a pheasant but survived
    A lot of lads on the international falconry site losing their birds to them hittin fences or landing on electric lines
    These things happen and you never know when your hawk leaves your fist if its the last time
    Same as dogs never know if going out could be last day anything can happen

• Closed Accounts Posts: 284 ✭✭sonofthegun

2013-01-30151627.jpg

rua came into his own this year he was three last september and i had high hopes for him and he didnt let me down he made my season i really enjoyed the season and hopefully i have a good companion for years to come for me the season isnt about bag numbers for me the its about watching the dogs work , today was our last few hours for this season and thankfully we met a good few birds hens & cocks we took this one lad just to finish the season
    sotg

Fine setter you have there mate, may ye have many more good seasons together.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,658 ✭✭✭kermitpwee

I have 3 springers, the eldest was 7 in september. He is a top class dog will hunt all day, hunt scentless cover. Once in a lifetime dog, shoot with my uncles they always say I will never get one like him again. He is in great shape but you never know, I am starting to feel sad at the thoughts of losing him. I would actually considering packing in shooting after he is gone.
    Anyway every weekend he is out and my uncles rave about him, the last weekend of the season we went out and after 10 minutes his dog was going wild, I mean crazy, gone half a mile, so he put him in the jeep. We decided we would continue with my lad and a young bitch I picked up. It was the highlight of the season for both of us. My lad gave what can only be described as a masterclass for the next 7 hours hunting scentless ground. I will never forget it, he never ceases to amaze me. I am so proud of him. My uncle said to me in the jeep that the dog is a gift and to enjoy every moment, i dread to think of the future. Anyway as my buddies say Kermit will ya man up to ****!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,097 ✭✭✭charlie10

try and get pup out him and hope he will carry the gene

• Closed Accounts Posts: 241 ✭✭Brazzill

Has to be the father clearing a ditch and the cousin whispering "the setter is locked", all excited went to hurry through the ditch gun in hand and didn't see fallin sheep wire and walloped off the ground, he nearly struck oil with his big nose haha. And and he giving us a speech bout been careful going through ditchs with gun in hand. Let the salmon season begin.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 midnightfalcon

Season gone again had a good one had to work harder for birds but they are still about had a good last day cleaned up a few today. Shot a lot off woodcock for my part of the north east best bird to hunt bar none. Had a day shooting on a shoot walked up over our own dogs with friends and family we all had a ball. Enjoyed the mixed bag comp good fun. Next thing is to hit the vermin give the big dogs a break have a young pointer pup to work on and my first cocker pup so looking forward to the training.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,658 ✭✭✭kermitpwee

Proper springers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,134 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

Not one of my better seasons.
    Despite many attempts and out in all hours for deer.I only got a sight of a stag in Oct,and missed the shot!:mad: Thought I'd hit him at 50 meters as he dropped like a ton of bricks had hit him on the head.
    I promptly fell into a well camoflaged over grown turf cutters ditch,:mad:and five mins later when I got out of the briars and ferns.I see him about 700 meters in the distance off bellowing for his harem that he had collected.No blood,no hair,no bone chips on the trail that I followed until he walked out of my let which was another mile and a half.Still puzzling was it a high or low shot that hit and knocked him.Pity too,as he was a decent 12 pointer.:(

Last week then I get the news that one of my hunting mentors of my younger days and long time member of our shooting let over in Germany had died suddenly of a heart attack at the ripe old age of 75.:(:(.
    May the animals that he hunted speak fairly of him at the final judgement.

Plus points
    On the annual pheasent trip with my relatives to Hungary,I managed a "double double "again .4 birds,4 shots, eight seconds ,as I was using a pump action this time round. 120 birds over 3 days :).

Not much else happened all the ducks promptly disappered by Sept 2nd.
    To be replaced by a skein of Greylag geese who have been coming in daily to our front field and are now semi tame,and are still munching the new grass.But shooting them would be like shooting domestic fowl,no sport or challange in it.:rolleyes:

I also aquired a Benelli M3 with little or no hassle in the liscensing dept.
    So thanks to the Super in Henry st on that one.;)

So all in all nothing special,but that's the draw Diana gave me this season.
    That's hunting and that's life.:P
    Grizzly

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

My last bag of season.

sorry for the second post but had to throw this in as the mrs. just told me there......She picked up our son from crech and as usual asked how he was getting on today....the teacher was laughing and said we were doing our abc's today and when she asked my son his....a for apple with the picture of the apple, got to D and it had a picture of a duck, he said "daddy shootem", teacher said no theo its d for duck and she was met again with "no daddy shootem".

anyway i was roaring laughing and had to repost.

Brazzill wrote: »
    sorry for the second post but had to throw this in as the mrs. just told me there......She picked up our son from crech and as usual asked how he was getting on today....the teacher was laughing and said we were doing our abc's today and when she asked my son his....a for apple with the picture of the apple, got to D and it had a picture of a duck, he said "daddy shootem", teacher said no theo its d for duck and she was met again with "no daddy shootem".

anyway i was roaring laughing and had to repost.

i had the 3 year old brother up with me earlier plucking the few ducks i got thurs night :D

Haha starting early. The small lad comes with me now while the season closed walking the dogs through the fields. Future shooting buddies.

Brazzill wrote: »
    Haha starting early. The small lad comes with me now while the season closed walking the dogs through the fields. Future shooting buddies.

ah well ill have him under my name on a training cert when he comes of age...ill need someone to take over when my zimmer frame is gettin stuck in the muck :D

Haha ya that's the plan with my lad aswell just hope he has the interest as much as I did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 397 ✭✭Boiled-egg

Least productive due to work commitments but definately most enjoyable due to having my own dog. Getting out with the dog has multiplied the enjoyment factor considerably.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 411 ✭✭garyc007

best points i can remember from this season are a couple of real long range shots i got on woodcock and snipe and a double with the one shot on wigeon. there was also the usual few finnies of friends falling into drains etc :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 961 ✭✭✭Longranger

Two moments stand out from this season. First one was the day I went out with my mate and just his o/u as my pump was out of action having been newly sprayed that morning. Anyway, as we were walking over a hill he saw how pissed off I looked and handed me his gun. I barely took it and up shot two woodcock and I got my first ever double:-D. Second one was the time where myself and two lads were running from a bull which we were assured was NOT in the field we were in. After we cleared the surrounding wall like three Olympic hurdlers we found ourselves chest deep in a **** heap,only to turn around and see the farmer and about five of his mates in a pile on the ground laughing their heads off! By the time we got to the pub after ,they had told the whole place and the first thing the barman said was MMOOOO!!!
    Oh well, look before you leap:-D

Longranger wrote: »
    Two moments stand out from this season. First one was the day I went out with my mate and just his o/u as my pump was out of action having been newly sprayed that morning. Anyway, as we were walking over a hill he saw how pissed off I looked and handed me his gun. I barely took it and up shot two woodcock and I got my first ever double:-D. Second one was the time where myself and two lads were running from a bull which we were assured was NOT in the field we were in. After we cleared the surrounding wall like three Olympic hurdlers we found ourselves chest deep in a **** heap,only to turn around and see the farmer and about five of his mates in a pile on the ground laughing their heads off! By the time we got to the pub after ,they had told the whole place and the first thing the barman said was MMOOOO!!!
    Oh well, look before you leap:-D

In tears laughing at this.
    If I was there if be folded in 2 laughing. :D