Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Old Saab 9-5 vs old Volvo S80

• 27-01-2013 5:42pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭

Lately I've been thinking about "going Swedish" and getting one of these yokes.
    Sure my beemer is fast and comfy but there's a special place in my heart for these two brands.

I've had s40 and 9-3 previously and loved them but want to kick it up a notch now with the bigger models. From 2000 to 2003 they can be got cheap now but you get a lot of car for the money.
    Mpg seems to be similar, 25-35 or so.
    Old 9-5s has the sludge issue and old S80s the throttle body issue. Most S80s now have the updated ETM so should be safer to get.

100 most reliable cars of the last decade ranks the 9-5 20th best and the S80 is not even mentioned :eek:

I prefer the 9-5 myself but the sludge is a worry and not something easily checked when you go look at the car. Dropping and cleaning the sump/strainer is doable but only after you have already paid for the car.

Any other opinions on the early 2000s 9-5 versus S80?

What should biko get next? 14 votes

Saab 9-5
    0% 0 votes
    Volvo S80
    100% 14 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭laois hibby

can't choose between them. have a 9-5 just now and love it. had a s 80 and equally loved that too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

What year were those cars? Any issues?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,028 ✭✭✭anthony4335

What is your price range, as I have seen both cars go very cheap.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3787291

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭laois hibby

the 9-5 i currently have is a 98 and the only issue i have had is the window regluator guides. haven't had it too long. but with only 80k miles on it a fsh history it drives like a 5 year old car.
    the s80 was a 00 auto. had it for 6 months and never had any trouble with it what so ever. the milage was around the 120k region and only sold it because a friend of mine made me an offer i couldn't refuse.

What is your price range, as I have seen both cars go very cheap.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3787291
    I was thinking max €2000 but I've seen some go for as low as €800.

Here is one that may hit the bill, especially considering the tax.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4321580

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 212 ✭✭dbrunson

Run a 00 s80 2.0t for 11 years and it now has 187k, the only thing i have replaced outside of routine servicing is a drive shaft. Also had a 01 Hot Aero2.3, 9-5 estate and to this day regret selling it , by far and away the most entertaining car EVER to drive, unassuming and very cool. either one is an excellent choice and both cost js these days. For sheer entertainment would lean towards the saab and drive a piece of motoring history.

I saw this beauty on adverts.
    9-5, 73K miles €1990
    SID is starting to get the pixel issue.

Nice S80
    S80, 104K miles, €1400
    If the ETM is done in this I don't see any other problems.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,374 ✭✭✭Saab Ed

I'll just leave this here .....

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4471229

View2-17033375.jpeg

I'd go for the volvo personally.

I've moved from an S60 to a 9-3 and although I love the Saab, the Volvo was a much sturdier, comfier car. The S80 is even comfier although a heavier drive.

I've had a lot of electrical issues with the saab, don't know if that's typical though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭The Pontiac

biko wrote: »
    I saw this beauty on adverts.
    9-5, 73K miles €1990
    SID is starting to get the pixel issue.

That's a minter alright. Pity it doesn't have leather though.

That seller is a dealer too, so I wouldn't be buying all that family toy stuff in the rear seat and boot. Never liked when they dressed the cars up like that.. baby seats etc.

Very hard to choose between the S80 and 9-5.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,359 ✭✭✭Mar4ix

i would go for 9-5. I would buy one, if i have to. saabs more for fun driving..

Volvo more family car, and all that ...

me thinks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,844 ✭✭✭Jimdagym

The pixel issue is a grand bargaining tool. I fixed mine for £20 or something. It's very simple.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,749 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

....this Saab love-in is making me think I'm making a mistake............?? http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4472779

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

Sure my beemer is fast and comfy ...

What BMW do you have at the mo?

It's a 320i, I've considered going with a 5-series but want a change.

I prefer the 9-5 myself but the sludge is a worry and not something easily checked when you go look at the car. Dropping and cleaning the sump/strainer is doable but only after you have already paid for the car.

The thing with sludge is that it is a gradual process and will any lead to the doom when signs have been ignored for a long time.

The most important thing to do with an early 9-5 is to make sure to do a cold start before buying. Look and listen:

1. Whining noise: Strainer is blocked (by sludge). The engine may have some damage already (rod or main bearings mainly). If there is no tapping noise I would probably buy if priced well but would drop the sump immediately.

2. Smoke that clears after a few seconds: Probably oil control rings need attention or turbo on the way out. A persistant smoke is probably a badly failed turbo.

3. Oil filler neck and dipstick. Look for signs of crusty looking bits or whitish lumps in the engine oil. If the oil level is down you might have a case of #2. The crust and lumps would indicate an inadequate PCV system which should be upgraded as soon as possible (and a sump drop).

4. A well looked after engine should sound really smooth. Any knocks, tapping noises => next car.

The #2 and #4 are the most important IMO. #1 is a worry and #3 alone shows that sump should be dropped soon and the PCV system upgraded to the latest kit.

PS. Don't let this bring you down. I just bought my second 9-5. I can't think of anything else in the price range I'd rather drive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,012 ✭✭✭serious3

coil packs are a worry on 9-5's and are un-obtanium new, they throw up all sorts of weird error codes, saying that i loved my 9-5 estate and was gutted when the clutch went. if i could persuade the boss that the tax bill on the hot-aero was nice and cheap i'd be off like a shot to look at that one above

Saab's are like a hot trampy wife, great to look at ,fun to drive but can cost you a small fortune and often leave you in trouble. But always forgiven.

I'm torn, the heart says Saab and the brain says Volvo :D

You could also try one of these on for size,

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4460447

serious3 wrote: »
    coil packs are a worry on 9-5's and are un-obtanium new, they throw up all sorts of weird error codes, saying that i loved my 9-5 estate and was gutted when the clutch went. if i could persuade the boss that the tax bill on the hot-aero was nice and cheap i'd be off like a shot to look at that one above

They are readily available both from SAAB Automobile Parts AB:

http://www.saab.com/en-ie/ireland/the-company/autorised-repairer/dealer-locator-list/

or

Parts for SAABs
    http://www.partsforsaabs.com/product_info.php?cPath=61_64&products_id=203

Errors are more often than not due to worn or incorrectly gapped spark plugs as opposed to the DIC (unless the revision of the cassette is really old). The DIC has a tendency to fail without a warning though. But they are available both used and new.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,946 ✭✭✭SouperComputer

**might be biased as an S80 owner myself, but I drove a LOT of Saabs before getting the S80.

You are looking at comparing a GM platform Saab vs a mid naughties P2 Volvo. No brainier to me.
    S80. Much more refined in many ways. I love Saab's don't get me wrong but I feel the S80 is a cut above it. If safety/crash protection is a concern, then S80 is the way to go there too. Neither of them are great handlers, both are wollowy when pushed on a track or twisties but the S80 maintains a reasonable stance and balance, Saab no so much. If you feel the 2.0 3 series is quick then either of them will please you in a straight line :D

That's my 2c.
    Try em out and see what you think.
    What are you looking for in the car?
    If its "something different", then NG Saab 900 Turbo 2dr is a cool motor.

The S80 seats are arguably the most comfortable seats to ever be put in a car. People trading in their S80's joke about keeping the seats and a lot of punters from Merc\Bimmer\Jag\Lexus\Cadillac etc comment on how comfy the S80's seat are.

Came across this private seller advert
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4370892

2000 SAAB 9-5 AERO 2.3 TURBO
    View2-16547984.jpeg

Seller identifies himself by "Call IAN on 086400***"
    Googling a bit reveals that Ian works for Sarsfield Motors in Dublin. Oddly the Saab doesn't appear under their cars on carzone/their homepage.
    Is Ian trying to fob off a car by acting as a privateer?

I'm not interested in the car btw, just curious.

Is Ian trying to fob off a car by acting as a privateer?...........

More than likely.

Selling on behalf of customer or friend will be the speel I imagine.

Wouldn't let it put you off the car, loads and loads of car sales places wouldn't retail the one of them of that vintage, not worth the risk to be fair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,603 ✭✭✭thecomedian

There's a S80 V8 for sale, a mad boring option :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,251 ✭✭✭pippip

Googling a bit reveals that Ian works for Sarsfield Motors in Dublin. Oddly the Saab doesn't appear under their cars on carzone/their homepage.

Alot of car salesmen wheel and deal themselves on the side.

Two thirds of the front lip is missing but the car looks quite tasty. The lip is separate part anyway. Those alloys are the standard ones for 2000 Aero.

If anybody goes to see it make sure you look and listen the cold start (make sure the engine is stone cold by touching the block before starting). If the car feels slow and the "boost" gauge only raises up half way the yellow range the reason is leaky evap one way valves. Nothing to worry about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

View2-16547984.jpeg

That car has been on Adverts ever since I started looking at Saabs 3 months ago. No NCT mentioned. I'm leaning towards Volvo now.