Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bully bouncer

• 25-01-2013 3:49pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2

Hi guys.
    I have a question.

I was out last night with a few friends one of who is a garda reserve. He went to a take away after clubbing and bought a snack box. I was getting one myself but i was short on money. He put down his bag of food to get change out of his wallet for me. While doing this a girl came up and stood next to him. When he picked up his bag she said thats mine. Now he just ingnored her as it was his and left the shop.

Next thing a bouncer grabbed the food out of his hands and went back into hillbillies and gave it to the girl. He followed and told the bouncer he had paid for that and the girl started laughing. Now the bouncer says to the girls "yer some liars" and my buddy took his bag and started to walk away but i stopped him saying the bouncer never said sorry. My buddy just looked at the bouncer when the bouncer goes what the **** are you looking at! He seemed well up for a fight.

My buddy told me walk away and so did he even though he said we shoulda got his badge number. Now im wondering how the hell can a bouncer get away with bullying like that to a guy who works for the gardai, reserve or not? Im just thinking what if that was a normal student, and what would you guys do?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,381 ✭✭✭Doom

Report the matter to the premises owner, also tell him that you intend to advise people to avoid this place as the bouncer is aggressive and seems to be over stepping his duties, he has no right to touch your mates food or him.

Its a matter for this lot. Not the Emergency Services.

http://www.psa.gov.ie/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

He gets away with it when you don't report it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,558 ✭✭✭seven_eleven

Not really sure how this is related to Emergency Services forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 505 ✭✭✭Mikros

(a) I don't see how the fact your friend was a Garda reserve comes into it - the bouncer hardly knew that and probably would have acted the same regardless

(b) your buddy was right walking away - he got his food back there was no need to inflame the situation. You will meet assholes in every walk of life.

(c) if you really feel aggrieved report it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,966 ✭✭✭gifted

Phone up the manager/owner...explain what happened...ask for an apology..if you get none just go into a pet shop, buy a few hamsters/rats, pop back into the chipper during a busy night and f..k the hammys/rats over the counter and sit back and watch mayhem descend..then phone manager next day and ask him for the apology again..:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭timmywex

Make a complaint to the shop is your first port.

If you really want, ask the shop for his PSA number, or go in any other night, and get it from his badge, then complain to the PSA.

The fact that he's a garda reserve is completely pointless, in fact sounds like you're saying he should be entitled special treatment which is bang out of order

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,777 ✭✭✭meathstevie

Looks like his conflict management training worked anyway; got his grub back and avoided needless confrontation with a skirt blinded bouncer...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

I work the doors and I'd have taken the food back to the girls too.

In fact if an alligation of theft (regardless what the item is) was made by anyone and I caught someone leaving the premises with it I'd take possession of the items until I got both sides of the story.

I don't see how the bouncer was a bully tbh.

The OP can report the matter to the PSA, another FF/Green useless qwango without teeth. Or he can stop name dropping and getting into conflict with security staff after a night out on the tiles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 Andyom1990

In fact if an alligation of theft (regardless what the item is) was made by anyone and I caught someone leaving the premises with it I'd take possession of the items until I got both sides of the story.

The OP can report the matter to the PSA, another FF/Green useless qwango without teeth. Or he can stop name dropping and getting into conflict with security staff after a night out on the tiles.

It was the security staff who caused the conflict! So how do you avoid conflict when door staff are out for you? Dont tell me that doesnt happen as ive seen it and all you have to do is read the paper.
    It wasnt getting the food taken away that sparked the problem it was the fact after he got his food back the bouncer was ready to start on my friend which was unprovoked. Also no mediation went on he just took the food because a hot girl told him it was hers. Funny how he didnt tell her to leave either when she cause this and if it had been a guy hed be out on his ass.

Another thing youve no right to take anyones belongings off them. Your not a garda. I have a PSA licence too by the way.

To the others your right him being a reserve has nothing to do with it. He had his head screwed on to walk away. I was just saying had it been anyone else they would of most likely take a swing at the bouncer for being such a moron.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 229 ✭✭0O7

If it didn't say "moderator" under your name I would have had to believe you were trolling!

First it's not up to you to get both sides of the story, and then decide who's in the right. Your not judge, jury and executioner

Second, your not entitled to take possession of anyone's property, however what you could have done if you believed a theft took place was detain the suspect until an actual garda came

Third, I agree with the op, the bouncer was acting in a "bully boy" fashion, using bad language and aggressively asking people what they're looking at.

Mistakes do happen, an apology would have probably been the right thing to do, but sure, people react different ways under pressure!

SOME of hillbillies security could do with a lesson on security and cmunication skills, giving other decent hard working security men a bad name...

http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/takeaway-bouncer-punched-singer-219829.html

Now not saying all security are bad, there is going to be bad apples in every occupation, I have several friends who do security and I would instantly "unfriend" them if I found out they did something like that...

Op, **** does happen, if your unhappy with the service don't go there again!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 113 ✭✭Jack breen

Ya but you are a bully and you think you can get away with it just because your a big lad..

0O7 wrote: »
    Second, your not entitled to take possession of anyone's property, however what you could have done if you believed a theft took place was detain the suspect until an actual garda came

Operator "Hello emergency services, which service do you require?".

Security "Gardai, Dublin please"..

Guards "Hello Gardai".

Security "Hello, I'm sorry I know its a busy weekend but someone here has probably stolen a snack box and we need assistance".

Guard "Ermmmm, ok we're pretty busy at the moment but we'll send someone down, sometime"....

Garda controller "Romeo Charlie 123 I've a couple of calls for you, a break in at 24 Mickey Mouse Rd, a Mugging on Muggers Ave, reports of a stolen car in Finglas south, breech of a barring order in Hairy Arse Drive and a stolen snack box in Hill Billies".

But tbh if the op's account of what really took place I'd say the security staff made work for himself by being overly aggressive, but the industry is full of tossers, knuckleheads who don't last too long in the job. Either the meet their match and take a few digs or an hour in a Garda station justifying their actions and possibly a day in court will usually clip their wings.

After which they'll find it harder to get work, most businesses won't hire a banger (someone who is overly aggressive). All the while the muppets in the PSA get money for old rope, because they're useless and the security industry has not benefited one iota since they were brought in to regulate it.

Sorry for the long one...

Meanwhile I'd have brought the food back to the girls, if they were lying I'd have apologized to the lads and asked the girls to leave the premises... Then we'd have a thread from Mary and Sue (who is a reserve Garda) and how they were unfairly treated by a bouncer and thrown out of the place for having the craic.

Jack breen wrote: »
    Ya but you are a bully and you think you can get away with it just because your a big lad..

I don't believe I am, but if you have evidence to the contrary I suggest you back it up.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,381 ✭✭✭Doom

Operator "Hello emergency services, which service do you require?".

Security "Gardai, Dublin please"..

Guards "Hello Gardai".

Security "Hello, I'm sorry I know its a busy weekend but someone here has probably stolen a snack box and we need assistance".

Guard "Ermmmm, ok we're pretty busy at the moment but we'll send someone down, sometime"....

Garda controller "Romeo Charlie 123 I've a couple of calls for you, a break in at 24 Mickey Mouse Rd, a Mugging on Muggers Ave, reports of a stolen car in Finglas south, breech of a barring order in Hairy Arse Drive and a stolen snack box in Hill Billies".

But tbh if the op's account of what really took place I'd say the security staff made work for himself by being overly aggressive, but the industry is full of tossers, knuckleheads who don't last too long in the job. Either the meet their match and take a few digs or an hour in a Garda station justifying their actions and possibly a day in court will usually clip their wings.

After which they'll find it harder to get work, most businesses won't hire a banger (someone who is overly aggressive). All the while the muppets in the PSA get money for old rope, because they're useless and the security industry has not benefited one iota since they were brought in to regulate it.

Sorry for the long one...

Meanwhile I'd have brought the food back to the girls, if they were lying I'd have apologized to the lads and asked the girls to leave the premises... Then we'd have a thread from Mary and Sue (who is a reserve Garda) and how they were unfairly treated by a bouncer and thrown out of the place for having the craic.

I really hope you are not a door man or similar because you obviously do not know your legal limitations in this area.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

Personal experience would say otherwise ;)

KTRIC wrote: »
    Personal experience would say otherwise ;)

Thanks, but 'tis the internet!.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭Zambia

To answer your initial question OP I would probably do nothing like your mate, never argue with a idiot they will drag you to their level and beat you with experience.

However I don't see anything wrong with the doorman taking some action as long as its proportionate to the offence.

Example approach the two males and ask them.

"Hi lads sorry to bother you but these two girls say you have their food?"

"No mate this is mine I just paid for it here's the receipt!"

At this piont calling the girls over would see an end to it. Thank the guys , apologise for delaying them.

Throw the two girls out for causing trouble and when you get time take a quick note of what happened.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 113 ✭✭Jack breen

Thanks, but 'tis the internet!.

Wanker

Wanker

And with that the poster closes his account, I get a threatening PM and I'M THE BULLY lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,381 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

Seeing as he's now gone, you could post the PM... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭roughneck

Some doormen ars dickheads most are sound thats life ,if they were not there every nut job would wreck the kip and ruin your night so life goes on . Amen .