Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Aoife Quinn & IBRC

• 25-01-2013 8:29am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭

Just read the article of the first day of cross-examination of Aoife Quin in relation to the Quinn - IBRC case.

Few things have struck me as very strange:
    A DAUGHTER of Sean Quinn opened several bank accounts in Dubai after legal action was launched to stop the family asset-stripping their global property empire.
    Aoife Quinn said no money was ever lodged in the four accounts, which were opened in four different currencies – euro, US dollars, sterling and a local currency – a year ago.
    Ms Quinn told the Commercial Court she had no documents or records from the accounts as she handed them over to the family's former legal team.
    How interesting, she opened the accounts after the action was started and claims no money was lodged, however we know they have no problems with lying to courts. Furthermore she knew she was to appear there well in advance, surely the records could have been retrieved from the former legal team.

Ms Quinn also claimed that she was not sure of the amount of her six-figure salary from three Russian companies, never got email or written bank statements from her Moscow account and had no records on the 30pc income tax she was paying to Russian authorities.
    She said she received €379,170 under employment contracts with the three Russian companies, which she signed without reading because they were in Russian.
    Who else here has signed stuff without knowing what it said and if you have do you think you should be held responsible for it? Seriously do they really expect people to believe this, especially someone who is supposed to be business minded.

Is it just me or is there a real stench of bull s**t here and delaying even further? How can anyone support this family?

I'd love to hear other views.

Full article http://www.independent.ie/national-news/courts/not-one-cent-was-put-in-dubai-bank-says-quinn-daughter-3364259.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭Frank Black

Peanut2011 wrote: »

Who else here has signed stuff without knowing what it said?

Me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,590 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Lookit,my father worked for the Quinns,I worked for the Quinns and you'll damn well go on that march.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭Peanut2011

kneemos wrote: »
    Lookit,my father worked for the Quinns,I worked for the Quinns and you'll damn well go on that march.

So you are saying just cos you worked there you would go and support the man??

Would you not be more pi$$ed off at the fact he gambled your and your families future when he started doing things recklessly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 206 ✭✭Frere Jacques

I think your sarcasm detector is having a sleep in Peanut.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭Peanut2011

I think your sarcasm detector is having a sleep in Peanut.

Guess so, still too early!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Me.

Seriously? You read every word of the T&C when you buy something online?

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

Ikky Poo2 wrote: »

He's saying that there were times when he DIDN'T read the T's & C's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,641 ✭✭✭Hardonraging

Good Gurl Aoife, you keep the money away from those greedy feckers, the people of cavan/fermanagh need the jobs more than those jackeens in dublin..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

kraggy wrote: »
    He's saying that there were times when he DIDN'T read the T's & C's.

Ahh..... good point :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭monkeypants

kneemos wrote: »
    He fixed the road!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭Nonoperational

No, but if a Russian company wants to pay me almost €400,000 I'd probably have a quick peek to get the jist of what was required of me alright.

In fairness, she wasn't buying a screen protector on ebay. It's a ridiculous comparison.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Does she play cards for matchsticks too?

No, but if a Russian company wants to pay me almost €400,000 I'd probably have a quick peek to get the jist if what was required of me alright.

In fairness, she wasn't buying a screen protector on ebay. It's a ridiculous comparison.

Oh, I'm not defending her, just making a point abotu reading the T&C!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,754 ✭✭✭oldyouth

I never read the Terms & Conditions of Boards when I signed up. Sure what harm can come of that??

I'm back off to the Hector & Travellers thread now..............

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

No, but if a Russian company wants to pay me almost €400,000 I'd probably have a quick peek to get the jist of what was required of me alright.

Russians aren't known for their employees rights. It would be interesting to see what her redundancy benefit it, probably a bullet to the head.

The level of arrogance and greed of these people is unbelievable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

I do. Don't want to end up part of the humancentipad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭D1stant

What a joke

The Quinns are clearly defrauding the Irish taxplayer.Its pure Father Ted, except it has and will cost everyone. The money - Im not sure there was any, may have been resting in my account, which Im not sure was mine... are they my feet?

Sean Fitzpatrick is clearly a crook, ah but sure tis difficult to prove you see 5 years later we discover theres 24 million documents to review.

And stil no banking enquiry or a sniff of it.

Instead we get emotional diversions, property taxes, slurry tanks, drink driving, abortion

The only ones winning here are the legal & political 'professions'. Everyone else is a muppet

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,563 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

http://www.rte.ie/news/2013/0125/364539-aoife-quinn-kept-no-receipts-for-370k-credit-card/
    Seán Quinn’s daughter Aoife has told the Commercial Court she may have spent €370,000 on a credit card in just over a year but was unsure as she had no receipts.

I'm looking forward to Justice Peter Kelly's comments on this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭pissednbroke

This story is getting worse and worse, as for the lack of files for the new legal team they hired surely the court can see this is purely a delay tactic. Gonna be paying for this shower for a long long time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Who the **** spends that much on a credit card and doesn't keep receipts? And surely the credit card would keep records.

They're just taking the piss.

I read the microsoft eula for windows 98. I was really bored in work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 201 ✭✭gerardk55

Surely it's time to pull out the defence line of "well one day I got this e-mail through my hotmail account from a Nigerian King who needed a European bank account........."

Should take the heat right off them!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭sfwcork

I wonder what did the rednecks says during the week when they were told the rad business is being moved to wales and jobs would be lost

Probably blamed the jackeens

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Leave Quinn alone, sure didnt he turn water into wine!?

Grayson wrote: »
    They're just taking the piss.
    In a nutshell, yes, a cartel of utter pisstakers.

They are leading the courts and the state on a merry dance and giving a two fingered salute to the taxpayers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,527 ✭✭✭Patrick2010

Put this through Google translate to see what would pop up

"I'm not sure where 370,000 went , might have spent it on my credit card"

Translates as...

"You know very well its in an account somewhere you'll never find"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

The only ones winning here are the legal & political 'professions

Don't paint all with the same brush pal. I know solicitors that work their arses off for next to nothing these days. Fact

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,573 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Grayson wrote: »
    I read the microsoft eula for windows 98. I was really bored in work.

I think I'd almost prefer actual work to that. Makes you feel sorry for the Windows EULA proof reader, rock and a hard place.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,196 ✭✭✭the culture of deference

D1stant wrote: »
    What a joke

Sean Fitzpatrick is clearly a crook, ah but sure tis difficult to prove you see 5 years later we discover theres 24 million documents to review.

Its not like we don't know how all of this is going to end.
    You can imagine his defence in court,

Seanies legal team to judge
    (possible friend of all these high flying con men that ran the country)
    :your honour document 23,456,963 seems to have a mis spelling.

Judge : case thrown out.

Only winners are legal and financial teams. Seanie will end up with a fine of a few grand

"I'm not sure where 370,000 went , might have spent it on my credit card"

I think its hilarious.

If I spent 370k in a year, paid for by a ficticious russian corp, the gardai would have me in court

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭Cunning Stunt

What a joke. They are leading the courts on a wild goose chase.
    There has to be some kind of paper trail for God's sake.....some way of finding out where the money has gone. Who is doing the investigating - Frank Drebin??

Time for CAB to get involved

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭RATM

Should be interesting when Karen Woods has to take the stand next week. She is the weak link and if IBRC have a decent barrister cross examining her then the wee Castleknock girl will get destroyed.

Judge Kelly isn't buying any of these cock and bull stories. I hope he locks up Aoife Quinn for contempt of court for the brazen lies and mistruths she is spouting.

RATM wrote: »
    Should be interesting when Karen Woods has to take the stand next week. She is the weak link and if IBRC have a decent barrister cross examining her then the wee Castleknock girl will get destroyed.

Judge Kelly isn't buying any of these cock and bull stories. I hope he locks up Aoife Quinn for contempt of court for the brazen lies and mistruths she is spouting.

the indo did a cutting edge piece on her

http://iwphotos.independent.ie/gallery/Karen_Woods_Glamour/slideshow/Karen_Woods_Glamour/09gL6nV7pP46v
    Karen is skilled in the art of appropriate dressing. She combines a black jacket with patterned scarf, pearl earrings and flawless make-up for her attendance at the Four Courts.

More weighty in-depth analysis from the indo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,641 ✭✭✭Hardonraging

I still dont know what ye are all belly aching about, I know if i found a woman with the same skill set as Ms. Quinn i'd marry her in a heartbeat, she knows what to say, and what not to say .. she's happy out to spend while the moneys there, and forget about it when it's not ...

i'm on one knee already !!

she took €370,000 out of the bank using the cash machine. is this even possible? my card allows me 700 max per day

last week she could not remember taking 1000 euro's out EVERY day for a year, and then going to a solicitors office and handing them the cash.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,984 ✭✭✭✭kippy

So much of her testimony reminded me of what I now like to call the "Bertie Aherne" defence.
    I can't recall, I didn't know, I'm not sure I have no paperwork, I never had a bank account (although in the quinn case the opposite is true.

Bertie managed to get out of numerous pickles scot free by obfustication and "blurry" memory. In fact we were told as a finance minister he didnt even have a bank account........

And, you know what, we let him off with it. He got out of it scott free and sits on his handsome pension, speaking all across the world on the back of a fiscal policy that we will pay for decades for.

That precedent, as I said at the time, basically allows ANY citizen of this country to try use the same type defense and possibly question why they shouldn't get away with it.

A disgrace.

kippy wrote: »
    So much of her testimony reminded me of what I now like to call the "Bertie Aherne" defence.
    I can't recall, I didn't know, I'm not sure I have no paperwork, I never had a bank account (although in the quinn case the opposite is true.

LOL.

The quinns have accounts everywhere but no money in them, whereas Bertie the crook had money everywhere and no accounts.

Breaking news

Colette Quinn, a daughter of Mr Quinn, was paid some €340,000 while her brothers in law, Stephen Kelly and Niall McPartland were paid about €260,000 and €281,000 respectively. The money was paid into accounts held by the three with Ocean Bank in Moscow and was withdrawn from ATMS here and via Visa Cards.

Ms Quinn said she has few documents or receipts indicating what happened to some €327,000 of the €340,000. Some of the money went for household expenses like groceries and petrol and some for legal fees, she was not in the habit of keeping household receipts, and there was €12,500 left in the account last August, she said.

She withdrew some €16,000 in 20 transactions mainly from ATMs in Belturbet and Cavan town over a period of two hours on June 14th 2012, the court heard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 922 ✭✭✭trishasaffron

The brass cheek of these b#itches is extraordinary! They're costing us a fortune in wasted time and insulting our intelligence with their ridiculous fairy stories. How long will this charade go on? I really hope they suffer hard eventually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 541 ✭✭✭In Exile

she took €370,000 out of the bank using the cash machine. is this even possible? my card allows me 700 max per day

last week she could not remember taking 1000 euro's out EVERY day for a year, and then going to a solicitors office and handing them the cash.

Simple thing to do here is get the Revenue to audit the solicitor. If they were receiving that much money in cash, then they must have been up to no good too. They would surely have declared all the cash they received and paid tax on it too