Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

NewsTalk Golf Weekly Podcast

• 23-01-2013 11:47am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,476 ✭✭✭

Not a bad idea from Ger Gilroy & co, given that a fair chunk of general sports fans would probably switch off if there was extensive golf chat on the main shows. What they've done instead is an hour long, weekly golf-specific podcast.

Contributors include the chap who writes the Golf Central Daily blog, who's a decent tipster with good tour stories. Buch Harmon and David Leadbetter will be on in the coming weeks, according to last weeks show, and the Dave Stockton special last year (still there to listen to) was very good.

There's also a weekly "tips" bit from different golf teachers. These range from the musings of TV3 personality, Jimmy Bruen finalist and non-PGA Professional Barry Power, to the sage advice of non-Jimmy Bruen Finalist, Raymie Burns.

All in all, it's a good listen, and as usual with the NesTalk Sports kids, a bit of a laugh.

https://itunes.apple.com/ie/podcast/golf-weekly/id493549478

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 238 ✭✭saintastic

I listen to it regularly and I think it is an excellent show. Informative and good discussion about current golf topics.

The only small point is that I'd like to see a "good" golfer added to the panel. When they review a lesson that they have got from a pro, they can sometimes struggle to comprehend what he is saying about a particular point and a good golfer (maybe low single digits) may add something to the discussion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,893 ✭✭✭alxmorgan

saintastic wrote: »
    I listen to it regularly and I think it is an excellent show. Informative and good discussion about current golf topics.

The only small point is that I'd like to see a "good" golfer added to the panel. When they review a lesson that they have got from a pro, they can sometimes struggle to comprehend what he is saying about a particular point and a good golfer (maybe low single digits) may add something to the discussion.

Do we know what Gilroy is playing off ? I don't think he ever said but the impression I get is that he played a bit when younger and may have been handy.

Probably no GUI handicap now though as he doesn't give the impression he is a member anywhere.

They have floated the idea of a golf weekly outing. Would love to go to that if for no other reason to see Dave's swing. The way they talk about it, it must be a sight to behold.

But ya I like the podcast a lot. (as I do most of what Newstalk sport does to be fair)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,476 ✭✭✭ShriekingSheet

Yeah, totally agree with the need for a reasonable amateur on the panel. Even a single-figures chap would be fine. It would tally with the other shows.

On Off The Ball, for example, it's a definite plus that Ciaran Murphy was/is a good GAA player, and Ken Early was a good football player = excellent knowing cynicism. It's not that they were world class, or complete experts, but as broadcasters go, they have the knowledge to call it as they see it, for 'tards like us.

Anyway, NewsTalk, if you're reading this, I'm available for a very negotiable fee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 Doctordonal

I think it's a great show. I only have two issues with it.

It's just really hard to find the embed code to stick it up on my blog! It's sometimes even hard to find on the app.

Second, the chap who does the tips always sounds a bit rushed, kind of like he's between collecting one kid from school and dropping another somewhere.

Other than that it's great!

From Donal, the Golf Central Daily chap who does the tips!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,239 ✭✭✭mag

love yer bolg donal!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,865 ✭✭✭TRS30

It's just really hard to find the embed code to stick it up on my blog! It's sometimes even hard to find on the app.

Second, the chap who does the tips always sounds a bit rushed, kind of like he's between collecting one kid from school and dropping another somewhere.

Donal- follow the blog through twitter, keep up the good work.......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 802 ✭✭✭m r c

Hi there Donal, as a fan of the podcast it's nice to be able to pass on to one of the contributors that I look forward to Thursday mornings to play it back. Keep up the great work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,003 ✭✭✭Kevinmarkham

Donal, loving that golfdotz.com idea on your blog yesterday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 62 ✭✭the anser

Really enjoy this podcast- couple of blokes hanging around talking (informatively) about golf, lighthearted and good tips.......some very good interviews too- the one with Azinger stands out, brilliant insight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 812 ✭✭✭For Paws

Yeah, totally agree with the need for a reasonable amateur on the panel. Even a single-figures chap would be fine. It would tally with the other shows.

On Off The Ball, for example, it's a definite plus that Ciaran Murphy was/is a good GAA player, and Ken Early was a good football player = excellent knowing cynicism. It's not that they were world class, or complete experts, but as broadcasters go, they have the knowledge to call it as they see it, for 'tards like us.

Anyway, NewsTalk, if you're reading this, I'm available for a very negotiable fee.

Single figure Handicap or I.Q. ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,185 ✭✭✭G1032

Anyone still listening to this?
    Its a very good show and I listen it almost every week.
    But, and its big bugbear of mine, its almost impossible to hear what Conor Deegan is saying most of the time. It's like hes miles away from the microphone.
    Turn up the sound when he's talking and you'd blow the ears off yourself when Ger Gilroy kicks back in again?
    Anyone else notice this? It's really bloody annoying tbh. Someone needs to tell him to get closer to the microphone or speak up..............

• Closed Accounts Posts: 802 ✭✭✭m r c

It was bad this week alright, but tbh Conor "is" the podcast ATM. McIntyre is a decent panelist but its def lost something since Ger and Joe are on it less. I find Deegan an excellent addition though, imagine getting to +5 with the wrong grip

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,185 ✭✭✭G1032

m r c wrote: »
    It was bad this week alright, but tbh Conor "is" the podcast ATM. McIntyre is a decent panelist but its def lost something since Ger and Joe are on it less. I find Deegan an excellent addition though, imagine getting to +5 with the wrong grip

Ya. He's an excellent edition and I like listening to him but half the time I can't bloody hear him!!
    So you noticed it this week too. It's an ongoing issue trying to hear what he's saying though but this week was particularly bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭ssbob

Ya I've noticed that too, might be worth an auld twitter to see if they could improve the production values a little.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 238 ✭✭saintastic

m r c wrote: »
    I find Deegan an excellent addition though, imagine getting to +5 with the wrong grip

Completely agree.

I used to like the lesson with a pro but I imagine they don't have time to do this feature anymore. I love the general golf chat, love the chat with Conor and I used to like the course reviews.

You'd love to see a regular discussion with Conor about his game and even a discussion with the other guys. It is very entertaining listening to them about how they played be it good or bad.

Also, the bit Conor Deegan mentioned about Clarke and Harrington was very interesting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭Tin_Cup

G1032 wrote: »
    Anyone still listening to this?
    Its a very good show and I listen it almost every week.
    But, and its big bugbear of mine, its almost impossible to hear what Conor Deegan is saying most of the time. It's like hes miles away from the microphone.
    Turn up the sound when he's talking and you'd blow the ears off yourself when Ger Gilroy kicks back in again?
    Anyone else notice this? It's really bloody annoying tbh. Someone needs to tell him to get closer to the microphone or speak up..............

Big fan also of the show. Had a laugh at the above post as was listening to the show on the chipping green last week and the exact thing happened to me. Scared the hell out of the guy across from me with my rather loud "F~ckin hell!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 747 ✭✭✭getoffthepot

I noticed it too, glad to hear it wasn't just me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

ssbob wrote: »
    Ya I've noticed that too, might be worth an auld twitter to see if they could improve the production values a little.
    Send the man himself a tweet. https://twitter.com/DeegoGAA ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 Donquan101

I usually listen to this when out running and i had to give up on the last one as couldn't hear Conor. Love the show and have listened to every one of them.

Was talk of a golf outing but i think that has went to the wayside

Lads I got it sorted for ye I got this reply from Dave McIntyre:
    Should have that sorted this week sir! Pod, US Open special, will be ready to go in the next hour or so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,511 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

And it's here! This weeks show now up

ajcurry123 wrote: »
    And it's here! This weeks show now up

Quality better>?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,511 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

ssbob wrote: »
    Quality better>?

It seems to be better, but I didn't really think that Deegan's mic was too bad before.
    I've good hearing, always ate up my carrots ;)

There was a bit at the start where they had Rose being interviewed and that was quite quiet