Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

You can bring a GSP to water.......

• 22-01-2013 11:21pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 837 ✭✭✭

..... but how do you get him into it???

My 8 month old GSP is TERRIFIED of water. He'll almost break the lead resisting even going near a puddle. He's never had any bad experience with it like being thrown in or anything. My Jack Russel will go through any water but the GSP won't follow though he follows him everywhere else.

I've recently been walking out into big puddles / flooded patches in the fields and offering treats. Again, the Jack wades out and gets the treat and the GSP runs circles around the puddle whinning. Any suggestions?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,097 ✭✭✭charlie10

my gsp was like that too until the day it was scorching hot and i through a tennis ball in a river and off he went never looked back. wait till the weather heats up maybe! that could take a few years though
    :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,907 ✭✭✭✭CJhaughey

Make it fun for him, get him running after a tennis ball for a while then move down to the beach and do some more there, slowly move it close to the water and then put it in just at foot depth.
    Mine swims like a seal!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭EPointer=Birdss

CJhaughey wrote: »
    Mine swims like a seal!

Think I've seen him! :eek:
    Navy-Seal.jpg

In seriousness OP why would you be doin water work with a pup this time of year. ESP a gSp. Give him a rest for a few months & build it up once his land retrieving is 100%.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,719 ✭✭✭German pointer

I had my GSP out lots of times before he went near the water and just got him used to it slowly slowly slowly and then the first day out hunting with him he made 4 retrives a single and a treble all from the Shannon Estuary he was only 12 months and 1 week old.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 950 ✭✭✭Dupont

Uncles wire haired is the same
    . When he was young it was no bother but one night out duck flighting he was winging like mad and the hoor broke for the van. Had to bring him home and now he won't go near it
    Have shot duck but he won't go in for them. Ge might jump a wide drain after a hell of lot of persuading but he will stand the othe side winging trying to get back

i think the pup needs experience ,maybe just taking him hunting when the time comes and leave him figure it out for himself,having a lead on him when near water might not be the right thing either in case he thinks your putting him near a bad situation or pushing him.try crossing a dike and see will he wade through it. i got a german pointer of alchemist and i never seen a dog in water like him,he would swim the athlantic so take ur time is all i would say .im no expert but i know my german was slow in going to it but when he did there was no stopping him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Invincible

Robotack wrote: »
    ..... but how do you get him into it???

My 8 month old GSP is TERRIFIED of water. He'll almost break the lead resisting even going near a puddle. He's never had any bad experience with it like being thrown in or anything. My Jack Russel will go through any water but the GSP won't follow though he follows him everywhere else.

I've recently been walking out into big puddles / flooded patches in the fields and offering treats. Again, the Jack wades out and gets the treat and the GSP runs circles around the puddle whinning. Any suggestions?

Leave it until the water warms up. My gsp was shy of water when young too, she was about a year when I coaxed her into the lake after me, while I waded out. On the w way home she was confident in water, running through the reeds. She never looked back after, retrieving both dummies and ducks off water.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 837 ✭✭✭Robotack

Thanks for the help lads. You've put my mind at ease.

Epointer, I'm not doing "water work" with him. I just excercise him where there's puddles.

Even if his swimming doesnt pick up he'll definitely be a candidate for the long jump.... You wanna see him clear those puddles!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,719 ✭✭✭German pointer

My lad was near 2 before he jumped anything I think most GSP's ard just a bit slow getting there but once there there is no stopping them

Thanks for the help lads. You've put my mind at ease.

Epointer, I'm not doing "water work" with him. I just excercise him where there's puddles.

Even if his swimming doesnt pick up he'll definitely be a candidate for the long jump.... You wanna see him clear those puddles!!

I'd class walking in flooded fields with a not so keen pup & offering treats to go in or around it as water work but hey, what would I know.

Good luck with it

what would I know.

Good luck with it

True.

i just think with a spaniel that have so much ball drive you could nearly get them to jump into a fire for a ball, i found with the pointer things arent as straight forward , they are nearly too smart for there own good!

True.

Very clever of you. You'll get loads of help been so clever but then again, oh ya you're the one looking for help cause you don't know what your talking about.

Introduction to water is a process. What your doing is the start of the process & you don't seem to realize. You have a dog that's not confident & your making it worse this time of year.

You'd be better served listening than been so touchy.
    What would I know?? I have a pointer that would swim the Shannon & had a pup that sounds like yours but for a finish I had her loving water. I've trained plenty of dogs of different breeds & all loved water. So evidently more than you by the sounds of it.

I would have gladly of helped you like I have many guys on here but you figure it out for yourself. :rolleyes:

Chill.. youll give yourself a heart attack.

Your help is much appreciated as is everyones on here. You took it to smart ass territory. Others advised, you criticised. And the "what would I know" comment was made by you. Have a read back through the thread and evaluate the tone of your replies.

Seriously tho Epointer. Cant we all just get along;) ???
    Im sorry. ..C'mon, lets be friends!

women !!!!!!!!!!!!!

Chill.. youll give yourself a heart attack.

Your help is much appreciated as is everyones on here. You took it to smart ass territory. Others advised, you criticised. And the "what would I know" comment was made by you. Have a read back through the thread and evaluate the tone of your replies.

Seriously tho Epointer. Cant we all just get along;) ???
    Im sorry. ..C'mon, lets be friends!

I started with a blatant joke. The picture is a give away.
    I classed what your doing as water work to which you rabbit eared quoted the term in disagreement. I disagreed which your premise coz frankly you were wrong & I wished you good luck as I stepped back from the conversation. You then entered the smart ass territory with your selective quoting to which you then got your answer.
    So maybe you should read back the posts as one thing I dislike is wise guy smart ass type behavior especially when it's coming from someone that asked a question in the first place coz they need help on the topic.

End of story & I won't bother your thread anymore.

I'm knackered after reading that. ....

So we can't be friends then???

ha ha couldnt resist

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 935 ✭✭✭dicky82

fc6ura.jpg

try the bath:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭mrs.machine

I worked and trialled a couple of GSPs, I introduced them to shallow water in warm weather when they were already retrieve-mad by throwing stuff in near the edge for them to retrieve . I wouldn't have him on a lead as if he thinks he can't get away it might increase his anxiety. Don't force him in (I know you didn't), make it a game and when he does go in make sure he can run around to keep warm afterwards i.e. don't put him straight back on the lead and stand talking to your friend in a cold wind for half an hour. You've loads of time, there's no panic. Best of luck with him :)

Cheers Mrs Machine