Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Farming and GPS Systems

• 22-01-2013 6:03pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,596 ✭✭✭

Just wondering do many of ye use GPS Systems on the farm would be handy for fertilizer speeding and spraying , seen the Dublin football team had it on them the weekend see who was moving around the most. Do new tractors come with GPS systems as standard, I am always a few years behind when it comes to tec stuff anyway, can you get a tractor that will go roll a field by herself yet, 1 job I hate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 155 ✭✭hoseman

On a slightly differe note .Neighbour had a student who rolled the field from the center out so as not to leave tracks,Also another neighbour went reseeding so he ploughed him self drove the same way as if you were cutting a meadow of grass!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭farmerjack

I have a Topcon GPS and wouldn't be without it now. I leave it in throughout the summer and find myself using it for everything. I spread fertiliser at 18m bouts with it and it is invaluable for spraying grassland, very handy for opening sets in a field also whether your mowing, topping or even just rolling. Very useful for measuring field areas too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,672 ✭✭✭stanflt

i have a trimble 250 and wouldnt dream of mowing spraying fert etc without it-its also great for measuring fields that im renting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

I cant see how you justify the cost on grassland (unless you're contracting). if your fertilizer bouts overlap slightly then big deal but its a different story on tillage crops

it was going to cost the guts of a grand to get the grazing platform mapped=for a few quid more i bought the gps and can now map and measure any piece of ground

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

Agreed where gets a bit too much this time will balance out the next time, good man in the seat is all that needed. I have it for spraying crops as I dont put in tramlines and for direct drilling grassland I dont want any overlap when applying the herbicide

stanflt wrote: »
    it was going to cost the guts of a grand to get the grazing platform mapped=for a few quid more i bought the gps and can now map and measure any piece of ground

may I ask what benefit all these fancy maps are, as I know a few that paid an arm and a leg for getting land mapped. There are loads of free tools available either on the net or as apps that can do all this for them. I remember calculating exact field size with the Iphone 1 when I was the coolest kid in town. Im back to carrying a brick around for making calls nowadays:D

for producing as much milk and lwg from grass

Thats what a salesman for one of these firm told me when I got chatting to him. my next question was - and how can that be. I didnt wait for his response:rolleyes:. the ditches move out when fields are being planted and move in when fields are being harvested was what an old english dude used say to me. True out

ignorance is bliss:):)

it sure is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 445 ✭✭rs8

topcon and is a very good job takes a while to get used to! it pays for itself even if you not a contractor as it is a big help spreading fert. (you could go it at night) also when mowing it can split the field so you cutting the wit of the mower all the time

it sure is

;):p:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,596 ✭✭✭kerryjack

The ould lad would love this gadget if he was about he was very particular about having drills in straight lines for the beet and as a kid you would be told to stand at the other end of the field as a kind of a guide and you would be praying that they were straight because if not you got the shoe up the hole

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

We bought a Trimble 250 last year can spread at 22m with fert `nd use for sprayer. I did not buy because of overlapping just not to spend as much time doing a ****ty job like fert spreading. I heard allthis about jeeps and quads now almost every farm has one. The same was said about the round baler the combine ......need I go on?

delaval wrote: »
    We bought a Trimble 250 last year can spread at 22m with fert `nd use for sprayer. I did not buy because of overlapping just not to spend as much time doing a ****ty job like fert spreading. I heard allthis about jeeps and quads now almost every farm has one. The same was said about the round baler the combine ......need I go on?

its called keeping up with the Joneses ;)

TMR????????????

well the Joneses only arrived here 10 yrs ago, TMR is here 20 yrs - the Joneses keeping up with the Charle's more like it :D

Bob, only for the Jones' there would be no salesmen and then what would we do spend our money on property in Bulgaria?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 Patr2

farmerjack wrote: »
    I have a Topcon GPS and wouldn't be without it now. I leave it in throughout the summer and find myself using it for everything. I spread fertiliser at 18m bouts with it and it is invaluable for spraying grassland, very handy for opening sets in a field also whether your mowing, topping or even just rolling. Very useful for measuring field areas too

How much money are we talking for getting set up with this system? something im very interested in but wouldnt be willing to pay an arm and a leg at the same time!

Patr2 wrote: »
    How much money are we talking for getting set up with this system? something im very interested in but wouldnt be willing to pay an arm and a leg at the same time!

13-1500 entry

• Closed Accounts Posts: 294 ✭✭GRASSorMUCK

its called keeping up with the Joneses ;)

I take it going RTK/auto-steer with soil mapping and the likes isn't in the 5yr plan so? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 663 ✭✭✭John_F

redigging this up,

anyone with trimble ez guide 250 go for the 'better' antenna 'ag15' i think?? main uses will be field mapping, 18m fertiliser spreading (could even go more) and spraying. or is the standard antenna doing a good enough job??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,141 ✭✭✭RightTurnClyde

John_F wrote: »
    redigging this up,

anyone with trimble ez guide 250 go for the 'better' antenna 'ag15' i think?? main uses will be field mapping, 18m fertiliser spreading (could even go more) and spraying. or is the standard antenna doing a good enough job??

Ya you'll need the better aerial. With the Trimble it's either full signal or no signal. Even the good one will drop signal briefly near trees. The cheap aerial is for rolling plains where there are no mountains or ditches. The cheap aerial will wreck your head.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,438 ✭✭✭5live

redigging this up,

I have a 250 with 2 years with the standard antenna and very very rarely lose signal, mainly in one field for some reason. The worst aspect is having to wait 10 minutes to get a good enough signal after starting the tractor but i get over it by starting the tractor while filling.

Try it with the standard antenna and see what it does for you and you can always upgrade after. I know only 1 person around me that used the better antenna fwitw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 240 ✭✭stop thelights

I've the Topcon with 12 months and my biggest fear was a) getting it knocked off the roof b) losing signal. I got the dome antenna which is very safe and gives good signal.

Go all out and get the upgraded antenna. Buy cheap and buy twice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭Zr105

I've the Topcon with 12 months and my biggest fear was a) getting it knocked off the roof b) losing signal. I got the dome antenna which is very safe and gives good signal.

Go all out and get the upgraded antenna. Buy cheap and buy twice.

Not really with the trimble 250, comes with the matchbox Ariel as standard, and the big antenna is something like 2-300 extra wether bought with the unit on day one or bought after, and it's only the matter of plugging it in.

Have the 250 with the matchbox for a year and a bit now and find it grand, it does drop signal under trees but they all do that anyways, but other than that it never really drops, can take a while to pick up signal tho, but generally if I'm doing something like ferting i switch it on before loading up and it has signal by time I'm in field!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,438 ✭✭✭5live

redigging this up,

As Zr105 said, only he put it much better.

Why not ask the dealer out for a demo? They had one set up in a car when they called out to me and we went for a spin in a field as a demo.

Iirc, the bigger antenna is more or less standard on the 750 where it is used for autosteer.

A few Youtube clips for you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 240 ✭✭stop thelights

Zr105 wrote: »
    Not really with the trimble 250, comes with the matchbox Ariel as standard, and the big antenna is something like 2-300 extra wether bought with the unit on day one or bought after, and it's only the matter of plugging it in.

Have the 250 with the matchbox for a year and a bit now and find it grand, it does drop signal under trees but they all do that anyways, but other than that it never really drops, can take a while to pick up signal tho, but generally if I'm doing something like ferting i switch it on before loading up and it has signal by time I'm in field!

I didn't know it was the same price with or without it. Should be cheaper though as the first receiver you get if you upgrade will never be used again. So in theory if you never get it it should be at least 100 euro cheaper to go for full one!

Losing signal is a pain in the ass though so go all out would be my opinion ;-)

I didn't know it was the same price with or without it. Should be cheaper though as the first receiver you get if you upgrade will never be used again. So in theory if you never get it it should be at least 100 euro cheaper to go for full one!

Losing signal is a pain in the ass though so go all out would be my opinion ;-)

But you'll loose the signal under trees no matter what antenna you have on it. It drops because the line of sight is broken from the satelite, pretty much the same as a phone will loose reception if its behind a hill from a mast.

The only difference between the 2 is the pass to pass accuracy. And pass to pass means how much it will have drifted in a certain time frame, something like passing the same point in a half hour time frame, it's far more than it would take you to go the length and back of any field in Ireland anyways!

And certainly for grassland use the accuracy of the matchbox is fairly on the ball, and have found it to be spot on in tramlines in tillage to!

The biggest thing for any gps system is the location of the screen in the cab, it need to be in the corner of your eye when looking forward, but you need to be careful that you dont get glare from the light coming in back window.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 282 ✭✭Lambofdave

The match box antenna is about 60 euro, you buy it with the 250 first day so you want to be able to trade it in if up grading to the ag 15? Id be happy to have both antenna.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 663 ✭✭✭John_F

thanks lads, still not 100% decided but probably will purchase. currently meant to be spreading to 12m and think i am driving too close even at that :o should also get fert out on silage ground quicker and field mapping would be handy as paddock sizes need changing, could pay 800 euro for a fella to walk the ground but what would be the point? ok i could do it on the interweb too :rolleyes:

To be honest we have the gps and i use the iphone with measure my land app to mark out paddocks as its handy to play about with sizes till there right, then just use reference points like a big tree or whatever.

Having said that i did use the tractor gps to keep all the fences in one field parallel, it's very handy as only set the gps once and the line is right the hole way across the field for spreading!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 831 ✭✭✭satstheway

Anyoun ever mount on a atv for mapping and spreading, spraying rough ground.

satstheway wrote: »
    Anyoun ever mount on a atv for mapping and spreading, spraying rough ground.

Yep with a slug pelleter in fall 2012, being honest it's only do able unless you make a hood to shade glare on screen or do it in shoulders of the day before sun gets up. Made a bracket on a 3ft piece of steel hanging in air for better reception worked well.

Anyone use a Trimble Fm 750 lightbar.
    What extras would be good for it or will it work with it's inbuilt antenna

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 washpenrebel

The GPS is going to become a standard feature on nearly all Irish farms. Its a super job, saved nearly 5% in fertilizer bill the first year plus i've gone to a wider twin disc spreader and now i can do it accurately (without having to depend on my judgement).

Take a fertilizer bill for 40T roughly €17,000. 5% of €17,000 = €850 in savings for the fertilizer alone excluding fuel, time and the ability to work at night time. I also use my mine for spraying, topping, mowing and slurry. Even Dad has got the hang of it.

I would say the most important thing is to get the dealer to come out and install it and a training for a few hours. Plus the dealer back up is quiet important as well. Makes life very easy and no need to worry about if something goes wrong.

Anyone use a Trimble Fm 750 lightbar.
    What extras would be good for it or will it work with it's inbuilt antenna

Have a rebadged case/trimble 750 autopilot system in our cultivations tractor, based on vrs rtk(mobile phone/satelite signal) works well generaly. More future proof than 250 as can do more iykwim. Depends what you need it to do ie. hook up auto sections on sprayer vary rate on fert spinner, auto steer on tractor in the future otherwise very expensive light bar!. Our system is 5yr old now and ancient if you believed the hype, will look up model of reciever though reckon won't be model what you want.

Personaly prefer greenstar sf2 , 2600 screen easier to use though 10cm accuracy is plenty for cereal cropping.

The GPS is going to become a standard feature on nearly all Irish farms. Its a super job, saved nearly 5% in fertilizer bill the first year plus i've gone to a wider twin disc spreader and now i can do it accurately (without having to depend on my judgement).

Take a fertilizer bill for 40T roughly €17,000. 5% of €17,000 = €850 in savings for the fertilizer alone excluding fuel, time and the ability to work at night time. I also use my mine for spraying, topping, mowing and slurry. Even Dad has got the hang of it.

I would say the most important thing is to get the dealer to come out and install it and a training for a few hours. Plus the dealer back up is quiet important as well. Makes life very easy and no need to worry about if something goes wrong.
    Depends realy, cut your piece of cloth to match so to speak as once you get above basic light bars you start getting crazy money needing to buy software to get machines to talk to each other etc never mind setting up autosteer via steering valves or get a steering wheel device.
    Do you really use it to top etc as i know i'd go bloody mad staring at that bloody row of lights all day, as for spraying a foam blobber is just as accurate imo and you spend more time looking at the booms to see what their doing also, as for fert spinner i'd rather have my discs tray tested to ensure accuracy before anything else.
    (speaking from arable cropping point of view)

New seller, no feedback and stupidly low starting price, without even reading description id be very wary to be honest

Big gamble I know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭TossL1916

Anybody know of a dealer in tipp or kilkenny selling the ez guide 250?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,141 ✭✭✭RightTurnClyde

Got my ez guide ( rebadged to Case) from Tobin & Cantwell, near Killenaule.

TossL1916 wrote: »
    Anybody know of a dealer in tipp or kilkenny selling the ez guide 250?

Murphy motors were advertising them a while ago but thats more kk/wd so may not suit. Most nh and case dealers should be able to get them for you as they both sell the trimble gear rebadged to the whichever brand

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭131spanner

I always thought they'd be handy for spreading fert or lime alright. I saw that the GPS of a Big M can calculate the acres in the field from cutting the back raheen, now that'd certainly be interesting :)

131spanner wrote: »
    I always thought they'd be handy for spreading fert or lime alright. I saw that the GPS of a Big M can calculate the acres in the field from cutting the back raheen, now that'd certainly be interesting :)

yeah can calculate the area of a field using most of them! can do it very simply on the trimble anyways, only thing id say is if the field has big humps and hollows in the middle there may be a bit more area in it than the calculation works out as it works it to a flat plane as far as i know