Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Merlot & Me - RTÉ 2 9.30 Monday 21 January

• 21-01-2013 9:36pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭

Hope Mrs D007 and Grey so What are paying attention. :D

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQ_rabjuhZYWRwn8VfggQA8H3COS2-2xuLQ-88MNMk4l1Bbyha4uA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

Lapin, you've been unfriended :mad::D

This is an interesting programme, I do hope there is a break very soon though so I can top up my glass :D

Lapin, everyone must be watching Hector and the Country Music folk this evening :(

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Herself is on the way home from Galway and asked me to record this for her.

She text me a few minutes ago to ask me if watching it would put her off having a glass of wine.

Best laugh I've had in ages. :)

Wild horses wouldn't drag her away from glasheen of red in the evenings !

My GP told me once that you're actually okay until you go over a bottle of wine a day :eek: I'd have one or two glasses most days, usually with food. So far my liver tests are perfect :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 420 ✭✭CommanderC

This is bizarre.......

3 glasses of wine every night.

Making yourself sick.

Is this what women in their 30s are doing....................or just the kind of women filmed in this programme ?

CommanderC wrote: »
    This is bizarre.......

Making yourself sick.

Is this what women in their 30s are doing....................or just the kind of women filmed in this programme ?
    No, they're not making themselves sick but they're skipping some meals/snacks so they can keep calories for drinking :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 914 ✭✭✭tommyboy2222

So apparently, getting drunk makes you act drunk.

Interesting......

Is this what women in their 30s are doing?

I know - its feck all isn't it !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 914 ✭✭✭tommyboy2222

I'd say this one pines for Sex and the City and the Celtic Tiger

She shouldn't be pictured any where near a car in this state :eek:

MrsD007 wrote: »
    No, they're not making themselves sick but they're skipping some meals/snacks so they can keep calories for drinking :eek:

She interviewed a woman about 10 minutes ago who said that she knows women (including herself) who are sneaking off to the bathroom to make themselves sick. Booze-ulimia she called it.

......or did I totally mis understand this :/ ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,876 ✭✭✭The J Stands for Jay

Seems to be saying women should drink pints.

Maia, is married to a pro ;)

220px-Jvegas.jpg

I only wish he was the one having the tests done.

Where is JA? he loves this comedian ;):D

This is bizarre.......

Lapin wrote: »
    I know - its feck all isn't it !

Yeah- hahah- sure I wud've thought they'd need at least 5/6 glasses to blockout the self esteem issues they seem to have :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,876 ✭✭✭The J Stands for Jay

220px-Jvegas.jpg

I heard he thinks she drinks too much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,008 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

So this isnt the sequel to Marley and Me :(

220px-Jvegas.jpg

:eek::eek::eek: And I thought you were messing.

No wonder she was drinking too much.

I never heard of Maia Dunphy before tonight. I thought she was very good.

Very well made programme.

I thought she was trying too hard to emanate that Carrie Bradshaw voice over bit .....and her attempts at humour fell a little flat :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,689 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Me and my father were just discussing this the other day. The wine drinking culture really has become a modern phenomenon (probably another Celtic Tiger creation). He said he'd would've never seen wine been drank in Ireland when he was growing up, and if it was it would be far more expensive in comparison to today. The only thing that kind of annoys me about the wine culture is the almost gender divide- it seems acceptable for women to get together in their houses and drink a bottle or two of wine a couple of times a week. But yet if a man went down to the local, say to watch a football match or whatever, it is way more frowned upon. And worse, if a man drank a six-pack of beer a couple of times a week at home, it would be seen as a problem.

I hope I'm not coming across as sexist, because that is in no way my intention.

Jesus, they're talking about smoking over on The Frontline.

I should have recorded that for herself too. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,219 ✭✭✭jos28

Very well made programme, well researched and thought Maia did a great job. Does make you think all the same. I read somewhere that you do your liver a great favour by staying off the drink for 3 consecutive days. So I TRY not to open any bottles from Mon-Wed. I love the build up to Thirsty Thursdays :D

jos28 wrote: »
    Very well made programme, well researched and thought Maia did a great job. Does make you think all the same. I read somewhere that you do your liver a great favour by staying off the drink for 3 consecutive days. So I TRY not to open any bottles from Mon-Wed. I love the build up to Thirsty Thursdays :D
    My motto is a little and often, lol :D

Me and my father were just discussing this the other day. The wine drinking culture really has become a modern phenomenon (probably another Celtic Tiger creation). He said he'd would've never seen wine been drank in Ireland when he was growing up, and if it was it would be far more expensive in comparison to today. The only thing that kind of annoys me about the wine culture is the almost gender divide- it seems acceptable for women to get together in their houses and drink a bottle or two of wine a couple of times a week. But yet if a man went down to the local, say to watch a football match or whatever, it is way more frowned upon. And worse, if a man drank a six-pack of beer a couple of times a week at home, it would be seen as a problem.

I hope I'm not coming across as sexist, because that is in no way my intention.
    Lots of men enjoy a few beers or a bottle of wine in the evening. Most of the women I know share a bottle of wine with their husband/partner and not their girl friends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭Babooshka

Ha ha, the shock on her face at her book club. It's lonely being the only sober person at a gathering.

I do have a sibling who is tee-total though, and he describes the feeling as everyone begins to descend into drunkenness as standing on the pier, waving at the cruise liner as it pulls out with everyone on it waving back at him....I laughed hard when he said that, but it's kind of sad too.

Lots of men enjoy a few beers or a bottle of wine in the evening. Most of the women I know share a bottle of wine with their husband/partner and not their girl friends.

Myself and herself share a bottle most evenings when we're together.

Sometimes we share a bottle each. :D

Myself and herself share a bottle most evenings when we're together.

Sometimes we share a bottle each. :D
    How's your liver skin doing?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

Where is JA? he loves this comedian ;):D

I was over on TV3 going over the scripts with them on Deception.. We're thinking of not going ahead with it..

JA, I gave up on it after the first episode, I take it that it hasn't improved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

This is bizarre.......

Making yourself sick.

Dunno. Only turned 30 in October. Something to look forward to I guess! :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭The Pontiac

:I never heard of Maia Dunphy before tonight. I thought she was very good.

She's on with Tubridy on the radio once a week. Very interesting person, actually.

Must watch this on the player later.

She's on with Tubridy on the radio....

That would explain why I've never heard of her. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,584 ✭✭✭ronan45

Wouldnt you be getting drunk every night if you knew jonny vegas was lyin in bed waiting for ya !:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,921 ✭✭✭✭hdowney

I have this recorded to watch but dear god it sounds like they have serious problems!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,419 ✭✭✭born2bwild

I like her; thought she carried that show well...but what about that whacko going on about 'nipping out for a quick vom'? Scary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,630 ✭✭✭Oracle

I watched this show, it was disappointing, In fact I thought it was rubbish. Cheaply made TV schedule filler. I found the presenter annoying.

The low point of the show was when they filmed her, her sister and friends sitting around a kitchen table drinking. Who wants to watch that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,921 ✭✭✭✭hdowney

I seriously think the people who 'secret vom' are one step off alcoholism and do need to check themselves.

I would have been the same as yer one, easily a bottle a night and didn't think anything of it cos it doesn't even make me slightly tipsy. but I stopped drinking like that when someone told me the calories in it, cos I am trying to lose weight and I can eat healthy and all the rest but if I am knocking back that much wine it ain't going to do a jot! No way I'd do the above though!! So now I drink half a bottle on a night at the weekend only. I might drink more if out for a special occasion or such though. But not very often tbh.

I did wonder, the second 'book club' she had, the one where she was trying to talk about the book and everyone else was just gassing, it seemed put on!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,126 ✭✭✭✭calex71

Just saw the repeat of this there, really shocked me how they could "sex and the city" such a serious issue, whole thing was ...... ah here I'll get banned from boards for life here if I say what I really think of everyone involved with this :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 Glamis31

I watched Merlot & Me last night on the player. What a waste of time & after all that drinking the resulting conclusion is that she has done no harm to herself what so ever???? pointless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,545 ✭✭✭tunguska

Glamis31 wrote: »
    I watched Merlot & Me last night on the player. What a waste of time & after all that drinking the resulting conclusion is that she has done no harm to herself what so ever???? pointless.

The most pointless part of it all was the fact that she gave up drinking for a massive...........1 week. Bloody hell if you're struggling to give up drinking for just 7 days it means you have a problem. But that point wasnt even brought up. Hopefully des bishops program will be a bit better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 Glamis31

there was a clear dramatisation beating all of us over the head especially noticed when at her book club while sober beside her paid actor mates she tried to discuss the book, actresses on faircity need not feel treatened. And at her visits to the strange dancing club or the alcohol free unfunny comedy club. Why those places? She could have just gone to the cinema, gym or regular dance class, no. the message there is Hey guys I spent 1 week sober and look at what I found.