Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

People who are really into their work

• 21-01-2013 10:38am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,230 ✭✭✭

The kind of people who go beyond the extra mile.
    They incorporate their job and it's industry into their personality.
    Just seen a bloke I work with, invest in a set of wireless headphones so he can be involved in conference calls, even in the bathroom... or at lunch. Just totally investing himself into his work.
    There are lads like that who get together at lunch or after work and could spend the whole time talking about work.
    You see them laughing amongst eachother and notice they are talking about work.
    It's living to work.

Am I alone in being completely alien to this? I'll put the effort in and take pride in doing a decent job but I can't talk about work for 5 minutes outside the office.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭Frank Black

Leftist wrote: »
    Just seen a bloke I work with, invest in a set of wireless headphones so he can be involved in conference calls, even in the bathroom...

This is wrong!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

I don't know... I can't see myself buying office hardware to use for my job.
    But that said, I love my work, and I have been known to work from home in my time off just to get something urgent finished and done.
    I do talk about work... why on earth wouldn't I? I spend more time there than anywhere else, apart from my bed maybe.
    I never understood people who would insist that nobody at lunchtime talk about work, resulting in very quiet lunches as all the people there have in common is actually the company they work for. Or worse, they started chatting about celebrities or sports...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,043 ✭✭✭MurdyWurdy

I say fair play to people like that, it must be nice to enjoy your job that much. THAT id an alien concept to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

I always bring a good supply of stationary home with me, just in case I would ever need it work related.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 305 ✭✭Kichote

It wont be long now before someone starts perpetuating the myth of the hard working German or Eastern European man and how its normal over there.

Rabble rabble lazy Irish, dosser culture, cant take a massive sh1t with your conference call headphones on without your colleauges slagging you for being an over-dedicated workaholic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

Leftist wrote: »
    Just seen a bloke I work with, invest in a set of wireless headphones so he can be involved in conference calls, even in the bathroom...

'Yah, yah, we should use some blue sky thinking, going forward, and look at the low hanging fruit... hang on, just have to do some filing..'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭juan.kerr

Clampers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

I was like that. I had a tough job but I focused so much on the parts that I enjoyed that I became "really into" it. I wouldn't say obsessed. There were others in the company who were much worse.
    I had no problem with unpaid overtime etc. because I saw it as a career investment rather than just work. Looking back there were some benefits to it but I missed out on a lot socially and with family.

Overall it taught me how to work hard and made me more determined. For others it left them burnt out and bitter!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

What's so alien about doing something to make work easier for yourself?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,824 ✭✭✭RoyalMarine

find a career that you love and you will never work a day in your life.

Kichote wrote: »
    It wont be long now before someone starts perpetuating the myth of the hard working German or Eastern European man and how its normal over there.

That's exactly where the myth goes wrong. A big chunk of Eastern European people came here to work hard and make some money. They of course will be very hard working but at home they are no different to any of us.
    In Germany the culture is hard work but home on time and leave work at work. People think that they are the same as LIDL/ALDI managers here!

Where To wrote: »
    What's so alien about doing something to make work easier for yourself?

Which part makes work easier for yourself?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,786 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

'Yah, yah, we should use some blue sky thinking, going forward, and look at the low hanging fruit... hang on, just have to do some filing..'

And then... PLOP! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Sometimes a job is just part of who you are, y'know?

Once a jizz-mopper, always a jizz-mopper I say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

Which part makes work easier for yourself?
    The part where he bought himself a set of headphones

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭sfwcork

completely agree OP

I know peeps who live to work.They d the Job and the do training for 2 hours after.The weekend i a countdown until Monday

I dont know how they do it

I dont hate my job but I certainly dont live for it

BTW these are germans

• Closed Accounts Posts: 655 ✭✭✭hyperborean

Ah, the lefty "give jobless hugh social welfare payments" doesnt like ambitious people thread,

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 11,139 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr. Manager

Some people want to be promoted?? At least he's showing enthusiasm and initiative.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭juan.kerr

Promotions based on merit or years service? I know which I prefer.

I know people who work until 10 or 11 at night almost every day and come in at weekends as they just live for their jobs and have little other interests.

They would be paid the same if they worked 9-5 Monday to Friday yet could work nearly twice the hours, yes they are busy but certainly work well above what they need to as their research is their life really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,230 ✭✭✭Leftist

Some people want to be promoted?? At least he's showing enthusiasm and initiative.

perhaps.

I don't say what they are doing it wrong, but I can't phathom how they can be so motivated about matters which are standard operating procedures.

It could be any job, sales or accounting in an office to a shift supervisor at supervalu.

They are investing themselves into a personal relationship with a company that sees them as a number.

Each to their own, my original point was that I hope i'm not alone in wanting to run a million miles from that. Give me the work and I'll do it, I'll work late, through lunches and have done for years, but revolving your life around it seems like a personality substitute.

work to live, not live to work imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,281 ✭✭✭donegal_road

I know a good few people who have little or no life outside of their work. A couple of whom have passed away prematurely, I often think of what their legacy is:

A thousand Word and Exel documents that no-one will ever look at again, and a list of unfulfilled ambitions they couldn't get around to because work got in the way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,448 ✭✭✭crockholm

Shenshen wrote: »
    I don't know... I can't see myself buying office hardware to use for my job.
    But that said, I love my work, and I have been known to work from home in my time off just to get something urgent finished and done.
    I do talk about work... why on earth wouldn't I? I spend more time there than anywhere else, apart from my bed maybe.
    I never understood people who would insist that nobody at lunchtime talk about work, resulting in very quiet lunches as all the people there have in common is actually the company they work for. Or worse, they started chatting about celebrities or sports...
    Could be a German thing, work with a meck-pom and even when we're sitting down at a break,he still talks about the job. I really do use the break for rest and to forget about the job so I can be a little more gung-ho after the break. I enjoy my work, but it is not the be all and end all, the ossie doesn't need to be so intense the whole time IMO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭jomc

My gf is a workaholic. She'd be out the door at 7 and probably back about 7 or 8 in the evening. Then its lap top straight on. A weekend never passes where she doesn't spend hours and hours looking at reports and emails etc. I would worry for her mental health if anything happened her work or her job, i think she'd lose the plot if she didn't have the work and challenges. Having said that she is involved at other stuff too, she goes to the gym a fair bit, has a good social network and runs and of course me. She is just one of those people that never stops.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47 HandsomeJonny

I love my job. I am a consultant and I sit at a customer site. My work is so boring and slow moving that I usually do the weeks work on Friday morning before I doss off early. Monday to Thursday I am trying to program Skynet while learning Russian but I pretend to do being other work. My colleagues on the other hand enjoy their job and when they have nothing to do they "invent" things to do like write further documentation for out system. Now that I cannot understand. ****ing Germans.

crockholm wrote: »
    Could be a German thing, work with a meck-pom and even when we're sitting down at a break,he still talks about the job. I really do use the break for rest and to forget about the job so I can be a little more gung-ho after the break. I enjoy my work, but it is not the be all and end all, the ossie doesn't need to be so intense the whole time IMO

I suspect I would be talking about other things if the people I was talking to were actual friends rather than colleagues...
    As I said, if someone insists people don't talk about work, the people I work with start talking about celebrities.
    I'm finding that rather disturbing, to be perfectly honest, so my breaks tend to be fairly short.

I suspect I would be talking about other things if the people I was talking to were actual friends rather than colleagues...
    As I said, if someone insists people don't talk about work, the people I work with start talking about celebrities.
    I'm finding that rather disturbing, to be perfectly honest, so my breaks tend to be fairly short.

It's a shame that you don't get on as well with your colleagues, I can fully understand if the topic of conversation dribbles into "heat" magazine, how you would take shorter breaks. Is there anyone there worth the time to be friendly with?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

The people I have worked with who are 'married to their job' have been a right pain in the hoop tbh!

They may say the same about me but I couldn't five a fiddlers!

How anyone could stay in the office from 8am to 9pm is beyond me...and they don't get paid overtime. Bed - work - bed......nice :rolleyes:

crockholm wrote: »
    It's a shame that you don't get on as well with your colleagues, I can fully understand if the topic of conversation dribbles into "heat" magazine, how you would take shorter breaks. Is there anyone there worth the time to be friendly with?

It's not that they're unfriendly, just... well, different.
    I've got a handful of people I would call friends, but we rarely get to have lunch together (some are bound to phone schedules, some generally eat later).

It's not that they're unfriendly, just... well, different.
    I've got a handful of people I would call friends, but we rarely get to have lunch together (some are bound to phone schedules, some generally eat later).

brat mir einer ein stork!!!!!:eek::eek::D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 619 ✭✭✭Pilotdude5

I love flying!! Too bad a haven't got that crucial first flying gig yet. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,281 ✭✭✭donegal_road

sfwcork wrote: »
    completely agree OP

I know peeps who live to work.They d the Job and the do training for 2 hours after.The weekend i a countdown until Monday

I dont know how they do it

I dont hate my job but I certainly dont live for it

BTW these are germans

Arbeit Macht Frei!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 212 ✭✭DainBramage

Often here colleagues say this, though they mean well.
    If there is a work party or something planned someone will say along the lines 'No talk about work!'

As this is the common bond for everyone it can result in fairly stifled conversation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

I used to work in a place where everyone was in at their desks before 8am and nobody left before half 6- honestly, it's not for me. Mainly because I don't get any more work done for being in more time, I'd rather work properly from 9-5 than be in at the crack of dawn. Saying that, we usually arrive into my current place for before half 8 :D