Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Opinions please on a possible purchase

• 20-01-2013 4:01pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,122 ✭✭✭

The company i work for replace their cars every 3 years so at the moment they have a 2010 honda accord for sale. Its going for 20k, its the executive model with all the extras and has just over 80k miles on the clock. Full service history.

What do people think of this price and the mileage? Im a bit concerned that the mileage is a bit high but the car has been looked after well and is in very good condition.

Thanks in advance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭OldmanMondeo

Nothing wrong with that mileage on a diesel. TBH it is better to have 80k on a 3 year old diesel that 30k on a 3 year old diesel. The car has been driven to what it was designed for. Also full service history. Speak to the driver who had the car, see if it gave any trouble, crashed etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,122 ✭✭✭c montgomery

I know the history of the car as my boss has been driving it since new. Never crashed or given any trouble.
    Ive driven it myself a few times and i loved it.

Is 20k a good price? I think new there about 40k for this model.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭OldmanMondeo

Don't know about the price, check carzone, donedeal etc and compare prices.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,102 ✭✭✭✭Drummerboy08

Sounds expensive assuming you'll get no warranty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

sounds pricey to me anyway... They are a nice motor though.

Sounds expensive assuming you'll get no warranty.

Ya, no warranty as I'll be buying it direct from company.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,657 ✭✭✭✭road_high

Sounds pricey considering it's not from a main dealer etc

166man wrote: »
    sounds pricey to me anyway... They are a nice motor though.

I had a look on carzone and donedeal and for the executive model this looked like a good price, could be wrong tho and maybe the prices on these website have some "wiggle room" built into the price.

I have pretty much that exact car back at the minute and I don't think it's worth the colour of 20 grand. Probably worth 14 grand trade?

Really!!:eek:
    Would they lose that much value over 3 years? I think it was 40k when they bought it. 26K of a drop over 3 years seems huge.

They were mad money to begin with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭Green Hornet

Well an 09 with same mileage/spec is 17750 so 14k seems a bit of a ridiculous statement for a 2010....

http://mobi-honda-2012-slaneyview.webzone.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=31413513540625710

Well an 09 with same mileage/spec is 17750 so 14k seems a bit of a ridiculous statement for a 2010....

http://mobi-honda-2012-slaneyview.webzone.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=31413513540625710

I'm talking trade value. Maybe it's worth a little more, but the Op certainly isn't getting an favours.

From looking online it seems like a reasonable price but as pointed out it does not come ewith warranty.

I dont know what to do, the most ive ever spent on a car before is 12k so this is a big deal and alot of money to me.

I do alot of driving these days and its a really nice car to drive but i dont wanna get ripped off, especially by the feckers i work for.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

There is a similar model for sale on carzone with 55k miles asking €19750 and that is before any haggling. While I do value OP that you know the car and it's history I do agree with DB that €20k is not cheap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭Green Hornet

Well to give you some info, I have one and its a pretty good machine. Solid, spacious, reliable and pokey enough. Eats up the miles pretty comfortably.

Only real downside is fuel consumption. It gives 48mpg on an 80 mile daily round trip so not exactly light. On motorway driving it will give low 50's.

bazz26 wrote: »
    There is a similar model for sale on carzone with 55k miles asking €19750 and that is before any haggling. While I do value OP that you know the car and it's history I do agree with DB that €20k is not cheap.

Called him during the week and he said the car sold straight away at that price.
    It has 25k miles less than the one im looking at but it has no pics up so dont know the condition etc...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 738 ✭✭✭bbbbb

I'm talking trade value. Maybe it's worth a little more, but the Op certainly isn't getting an favours.

A late 2009 on cargiant.co.uk with about 80K miles is about £9K or €10,800 + VRT.

I bought an ex. fleet accord a few years ago (prev. generation), base model petrol. Few minor problems (chip on winscreen, only one key, prev. driver was a smoker).
    4yr old, 80K miles was €10K.

So based on that my valuation is a little high if anything.

What if your company were to flog this car off into the "trade"? I wonder would they be getting 20k then? I sincerely doubt it myself and that's where you need to be coming from OP. Not the same as buying from a main Honda dealer for instance, you need to find out what this car would make to sell on into the trade because that what the car is.

mfitzy wrote: »
    What if your company were to flog this car off into the "trade"? I wonder would they be getting 20k then? I sincerely doubt it myself and that's where you need to be coming from OP. Not the same as buying from a main Honda dealer for instance, you need to find out what this car would make to sell on into the trade because that what the car is.

Thats what i was thinking.
    They said the price is what the main dealer recommended for a quick sale and that they should have no problem selling it for that. I think if i show them this thread they may knock a few grand off it, well maybe one anyway.

Thats what i was thinking.
    They said the price is what the main dealer recommended for a quick sale and that they should have no problem selling it for that. I think if i show them this thread they may knock a few grand off it, well maybe one anyway.

Hmmm...wonder if he thought it was such a bargain why did he not jump in and buy it himself and make a few grand :confused::confused::D

Let them off if they think that, I'm sure it's a grand car. Have a co car myself and lets face it they do not get the easiest lives either but the servicing is usually bang on as you say this one is.

I'd defo have a better look and comparison with similar cars mileage, age and condition before parting with my hard earned....no need to show all your cards, don't appear too eager ;)...we only want to save you money here!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 783 ✭✭✭capefear

what happens if you dont buy it, will it be giving to a honda garage as a trade in. If so it will probably be traded in for 12-14K and then the garage would sell it on the forecourt to the public for 20K with warranty. I dont know what the trade in price and sale price would be for a honda sorry if the figures are not right.

I worked for a company where every three - four years they would change the Honda cars. The boss was sound he would go to the garage and get a trade price then offer the car to the staff for the trade price. When he got the cash for the car he would go to the garage and haggle a better price on a new car for cash price.

Would your boss do something like this, you could even add another grand to the price to sweeten the deal.

I was thinking same...ballpark I had in my head was circa 15k trade maybe.

capefear wrote: »
    what happens if you dont buy it, will it be giving to a honda garage as a trade in. If so it will probably be sold to the public for 20K with warranty.

I worked for a company where every three - four years they would change the Honda cars. The boss was sound he would go to the garage and get a trade price then offer the car to the staff for the trade price. When he got the cash for the car he would go to the garage and haggle a better price on a new car for cash price.

Would your boss do something like this, you could even add another grand to the price to sweeten the deal.

That's what I was thinking too. No way the Honda Garage would give 20k for it to sell on.

Quick look online (carzone-I would consider expensive site) has 2010 Accords for under 20k. One with hald that mileage from a dealer for 1.5k more (pre cash discount). So I defo think €15k trade is proper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭ninty9er

I'm just surprised there are companies out there who still think it's more economical for them to buy than to lease.

€20k is a (high) retail price. Look at what similar models are going for privately on donedeal and take haggling into account.

ninty9er wrote: »
    I'm just surprised there are companies out there who still think it's more economical for them to buy than to lease.

€20k is a (high) retail price. Look at what similar models are going for privately on donedeal and take haggling into account.

Me too, I thought all nearly went through LeasePlan or the like.

Still plenty of businesses out there who purchase their cars instead of leasing. It really depends on their requirements too though, cost isn't always the only factor.

Quick look online (carzone-I would consider expensive site) has 2010 Accords for under 20k. One with hald that mileage from a dealer for 1.5k more (pre cash discount). So I defo think €15k trade is proper.

But this is the executive model with full leather, heated seats, sat nav, reversing camera, sunroof and a host of other things. I dont think theres many on carzone with this spec for around 20k.

ninty9er wrote: »

Their a small company, only 2 company cars so they buy.
    Usually they trade in the old cars for new but this time they offered staff first refusal.

But this is the executive model with full leather, heated seats, sat nav, reversing camera, sunroof and a host of other things. I dont think theres many on carzone with this spec for around 20k.

Doesn't matter hugely once you get to 3 years plus. Desirable yes, surely, but worth an extra 5 k? Defo not.

Thanks for all the replies from everyone:)

I understand 15k is a what ye consider a good trade price but this is a private sale rather than a trade. If i got it for 18k would this be condsidered good?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭Tea 1000

Lads, in fairness... all we get on this forum is car dealers crying about how anyone expecting to talk themselves into 2 grand off a car are delusional and that garages are barely making ends meet and have hardly any profit margin... then ye say that a 2010 Exec Accord diesel is worth 14k? If that's really the case then ye're all milking it to the bone and the only guys making money are dealers!
    Accords are dear second hand in this country, they didn't fly out of showrooms new so are in short supply used. I'd say the OP would be doing well at €18k on that car. You could compare to the UK, but I wouldn't bother travelling over for an 80k car from Cargiant of all places. You'd be doing very well to get a genuine, clean 2010 Accord diesel with around 50k miles and one owner cleared and all for €16k.

Tea 1000 wrote: »
    Lads, in fairness... all we get on this forum is car dealers crying about how anyone expecting to talk themselves into 2 grand off a car are delusional and that garages are barely making ends meet and have hardly any profit margin... then ye say that a 2010 Exec Accord diesel is worth 14k? If that's really the case then ye're all milking it to the bone and the only guys making money are dealers!
    Accords are dear second hand in this country, they didn't fly out of showrooms new so are in short supply used. I'd say the OP would be doing well at €18k on that car. You could compare to the UK, but I wouldn't bother travelling over for an 80k car from Cargiant of all places. You'd be doing very well to get a genuine, clean 2010 Accord diesel with around 50k miles and one owner cleared and all for €16k.

But I've seen ones in dealers online for a little bit more (warranty, lower miles, slightly lower spec)and one with slightly higher mileage for €17.5k.
    The above is an ex fleet car with no warranty (I assume). At €20k I do not feel it is priced accordingly. I'd love to know what the dealer would pay trade for the car...that's whereabouts the OP's price should be, ballaprk or a little higher.

But I've seen ones in dealers online for a little bit more (warranty, lower miles, slightly lower spec)and one with slightly higher mileage for €17.5k.
    The above is an ex fleet car with no warranty (I assume). At €20k I do not feel it is priced accordingly. I'd love to know what the dealer would pay trade for the car...that's whereabouts the OP's price should be, ballaprk or a little higher.
    I guess the company should be selling it for trade price, but I'd be surprised if that was 15k.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Tea 1000 wrote: »

In fairness DrummerBoy08 quoted the rough trade price of €14k, not the retail price. Also used Accords are thin on the ground here and most used ones are in the Honda dealer network who ask for the sun, moon and starts for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,953 ✭✭✭aujopimur

My sisters employers give the staff first refusal on their co. cars.
    They pay whatever the dealer will allow as a trade in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,149 ✭✭✭skyhighflyer

Don't forget that at 80k you're also getting to the point where the car may need some money spending on it. With a modern diesel, the DMF could be an issue (note, I'm not specifically referring to the Accord here, but it's something to google to see if it's an issue). Depending on how it's been driven, clutch might be worn, suspension components might need replacing.

None of this is necessarily an issue, but underlines the need to (a) get the car checked out, perhaps by the garage that did the servicing and (b) price the car closer to a trade / private sale given you're on your own if something goes wrong. €16.5-17k seems reasonable, or perhaps you could call another Honda garage to see what they'd offer for one as a trade-in and go very slightly above that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,157 ✭✭✭Compton

I was at an auction and an 09 exec model went for 11k, was immaculate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭BobBobBobBob

17000 would be the price I would pay. They are lovely car, have driven a 2009 Ex model for a few weeks and would definitely be on my list for an upgrade to what I have.

Compton wrote: »
    I was at an auction and an 09 exec model went for 11k, was immaculate.
    Either it was the old model, it was petrol, or someone got conned. No way a legit 2009 diesel Exec new model Accord would go for 11k.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 161 ✭✭hoodrats

The company i work for replace their cars every 3 years so at the moment they have a 2010 honda accord for sale. Its going for 20k, its the executive model with all the extras and has just over 80k miles on the clock. Full service history.

What do people think of this price and the mileage? Im a bit concerned that the mileage is a bit high but the car has been looked after well and is in very good condition.

Thanks in advance
    did you buy it , how much did you pay?:confused: