Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

There's a fly in my apartment!

• 20-01-2013 5:27am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,294 ✭✭✭

I just went in to my kitchen to put on a wash (insomnia's a bitch, but you get stuff done). I was loading up the machine and some little bit of black floated past me. At first I thought I might have a detached retina, but then I realised, to my horror, that it was a tiny fly!!!

I'm sorry, but it's January and snowing in parts of the country. WTF is a fly doing skimming around my kitchen?? One of my favourite parts of winter is the fact that I don't have these little buzzy headbangers hanging around my home.

Admittedly, I've had the heating on for the last few hours (God bless estimated gas bills) and my apartment is pretty tropical right now and I did put out all that fly food. But, still, flies in January are like slipping on ice in Ethiopia.

I can't even kill the little fecker 'cause I always feel bad afterwards. Has anybody else seen a fly in the last few months or do I now own the only one?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

You probably just have something that is maggot infested somewhere in your house, nothing to worry about :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,034 ✭✭✭Ficheall

I came back after Christmas to find that a mosquito had somehow survived in my bedroom to greet me, even though the radiator is broken and the room is freezing even when the heating is on - and the house was empty this Christmas. Still haven't managed to kill her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,294 ✭✭✭YellowFeather

Where To wrote: »
    You probably just have something that is maggot infested somewhere in your house, nothing to worry about :)

Ah yeah - but that's just my box 'o' maggots. It's grand.

(Thanks btw! :()
    Ficheall wrote: »
    I came back after Christmas to find that a mosquito had somehow survived in my bedroom to greet me, even though the radiator is broken and the room is freezing even when the heating is on - and the house was empty this Christmas. Still haven't managed to kill her.

Fking radioactive flying yokes. How do you know it's a girl though?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

I'd kill him by physical force because I'm a cold blooded savage. :pac:

Alternatively you could take an empty jam jar and fill it with water, the little fellas always fall for that trick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 497 ✭✭Retrovertigo

I feel your pain, OP. It's times like this that you regret throwing that spider out the window.

Come back, Spider. All is forgiven. :(

I'd kill him by physical force because I'm a cold blooded savage. :pac:

Alternatively you could take an empty jam jar and fill it with water, the little fellas always fall for that trick.

I don't own a jam jar though. I only own a small fly. :(
    I feel your pain, OP. It's times like this that you regret throwing that spider out the window.

Come back, Spider. All is forgiven. :(

I wouldn't mind, but I always take spiders out and put them near a drain. Spiders like drains.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭force eleven

It's just Jeff Goldblum. Embrace the Jeff.

I would embrace the body off Jeff Goldblum. But that's a whole other thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,281 ✭✭✭Valentina

Get a spider to eat the fly.
    Then get a bird to eat the spider.
    Then get a cat to eat the bird.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,034 ✭✭✭Ficheall

Valentina wrote: »
    Get a spider to eat the fly.
    Then get a bird to eat the spider.
    Then get a cat to eat the bird.

I can see this ending in some awesome burgers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

I haven't seen a fly in a while but there were loads of mosquitoes in my house until recently.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭Fromthetrees

I just went in to my kitchen to put on a wash (insomnia's a bitch, but you get stuff done). I was loading up the machine and some little bit of black floated past me. At first I thought I might have a detached retina, but then I realised, to my horror, that it was a tiny fly!!!

I'm sorry, but it's January and snowing in parts of the country. WTF is a fly doing skimming around my kitchen?? One of my favourite parts of winter is the fact that I don't have these little buzzy headbangers hanging around my home.

Admittedly, I've had the heating on for the last few hours (God bless estimated gas bills) and my apartment is pretty tropical right now and I did put out all that fly food. But, still, flies in January are like slipping on ice in Ethiopia.

I can't even kill the little fecker 'cause I always feel bad afterwards. Has anybody else seen a fly in the last few months or do I now own the only one?

Ha ha.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

If your doing your laundry what are you wearing?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭juan.kerr

kneemos wrote: »
    If your doing your laundry what are you wearing?

Clothes, I'm guessing. It's customary to have more than one set of clothes. For example I have at least three pairs of socks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,802 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

juan.kerr wrote: »

Clothes, I'm guessing. It's customary to have more than one set of clothes. For example I have at least three pairs of socks.
    that's it Juan shameless I've a few sets of clothes thread...

show off OP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭juan.kerr

Ted_YNWA wrote: »
    that's it Juan shameless I've a few sets of clothes thread...

show off OP.

Thinly veiled....

Ah here. I was washing my clothes in the kitchen so clearly I was wrapped in a stylish combination of dishcloths and delftware. Clearly!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Ah here. I was washing my clothes in the kitchen so clearly I was wrapped in a stylish combination of dishcloths and delftware. Clearly!

Hmmmmm delfware.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,280 ✭✭✭mackeire

A big bumble bee flew into my appartment the other day. I thought that was fairly strange for the middle of January.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,381 ✭✭✭✭Allyall

About three weeks ago, around Christmas, a Butterfly was in one of the bedrooms flapping against the windows. I was reluctant to let it out, as i thought the cold would kill it straight away. Then i thought it was worse to keep it alive, for what were probably it's last few hours anyway, trapped in the house. So i let it out.

I found out afterwards, i should have put it in the fridge! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

I keep a frog in my kitchen to keep the flies under control. Works a treat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

You need to buy a hatchet and chase the fly around the house until you kill it, it's the only way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,501 ✭✭✭BrokenArrows

Admittedly, I've had the heating on for the last few hours (God bless estimated gas bills) and my apartment is pretty tropical right now and I did put out all that fly food.

You do understand how estimated bills work right? When they take a reading eventually you will still need to pay the difference.

You need to buy a hatchet and chase the fly around the house until you kill it, it's the only way.

I really want to do this. Especially as my neighbours have already seen me chasing flies with a towel to create a draft that will send them out the window.
    You do understand how estimated bills work right? When they take a reading eventually you will still need to pay the difference.

Exactly. Eventually is the important word.