Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Over €90 million paid in Garda compo since 2000

• Closed Accounts Posts: 297 ✭✭dienbienphu

sure god luv them, it must be hard being a security guard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,257 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

phoenix999 wrote: »
    Seems a lot of Gardai are suffering with post traumatic stress disorder these days:

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2013/0119/1224329047663.html

Some crazy amounts in there.
    People abuse the system regardless of job. Its across all sectors, public and private.

This stands out for me
    a garda who was struck with a bottle on the head received €301,124, while another was awarded €141,800 after he had his left testicle removed following an assault.

Thats a bit off balance isn't it? No pun intended there.

Have a cookie and go play in the kiddies corner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

phoenix999 wrote: »
    Seems a lot of Gardai are suffering with post traumatic stress disorder these days:

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2013/0119/1224329047663.html

what's your point?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 581 ✭✭✭phoenix999

I would happily let someone with HIV have a bite out of me for €50,000, not to mention €198,000. A lot of these guys got serious physical injuries and rightly deserve compensation. But I'm sure others see PTSD and €€€ signs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭jd007

Go to bed
    Stab injuries to the face, a fractured skull and an instance where a garda suffered epilepsy after sustaining a facial injury are among the types of assault for which gardaí have been awarded compensation since 2004. They are contained in a database detailing awards over €100,000.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 297 ✭✭dienbienphu

Rabies wrote: »
    Have a cookie and go play in the kiddies corner.

does it honestly make a difference you knowing this? it's ridiculous ya sure but unless your a guard you don't really know how confrontational the job is so save your p.iss and moaning for another thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,660 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

If you were injured at work op I'm sure you would never think of compensation.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,381 ✭✭✭Doom

A lot yes...but how much is paid out for the Gardai been in the wrong?
    i.e. Gardai car hits you, wrongly arrested, excessive force.:cool:

does it honestly make a difference you knowing this? it's ridiculous ya sure but unless your a guard you don't really know how confrontational the job is so save your p.iss and moaning for another thread

Knowing they really are a security guard and its be cover up for years by the state or knowing that you don't want the cookie?

They prob have times of hard work (physical and mental), deal with drunks and idiots... Maybe I should call one to come to this thread, hmmm that might result in compo... Anyway, back on track. I'm sure there is down time and easy days. At the end of the day ignoring the value of the payout, some of the claims will be rightfully owed and others are exaggerating the severity of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

Money isn't everything, i don't think any amount of money would make up for being left with lifelong scars (mental and physical), no amount of money would even make me want to deal with scum day-in-day-out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 Bronze Wolf

Senna wrote: »
    Money isn't everything, i don't think any amount of money would make up for being left with lifelong scars (mental and physical), no amount of money would even make me want to deal with scum day-in-day-out.

I wouldn't want to deal with junkies, violence, suicides, fatal accidents etc., every day. If they are they deserve to be looked after.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭DonLimon

kneemos wrote: »
    If you were injured at work op I'm sure you would never think of compensation.

Running up a bill of 130 million for the sake of 'Soft tissue damage and PTSD' is nothing short of treasonous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

DonLimon wrote: »
    Running up a bill of 130 million for the sake of 'Soft tissue damage and PTSD' is nothing short of treasonous.

Dunno about that... It is over 13 years. Its a dangerous line of work they are in also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

People who abuse and dilute words and concepts like treason have a lot to answer for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

So the small amount of Gardai,who over the last 13 years have gotten injured in the line of their sometimes very dangerous duties aren't entitled to compensation?bollocks to that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,654 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Rabies wrote: »
    Some crazy amounts in there.
    People abuse the system regardless of job. Its across all sectors, public and private.

This stands out for me

Thats a bit off balance isn't it? No pun intended there.

Jesus, I was hit on the head with a beer bottle by some lads after a night out. It went to court and I got a grand. I was just happy they were found guilty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,650 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

DonLimon wrote: »

Your post is absolutely stupid and you have no idea what PTSD is. It's not just being a bit scared. It can take over peoples lives, even the most mentally strong people.

And Soft tissue Damage, "It's just a flesh wound" only works in movies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭daithijjj

Can only speak of personal experience here.

Friend of mine was 'injured', guard, mid twenties at the time. Has a nice scar a few inches long down centre of his forehead. Compo amounted to the price of a new car a good while after the event (nothing flashy). New car for very noticeable scar down your forehead for the rest of your life?. Keep the car thanks.

Would you be a guard and not have some fallback?, i feckin wouldnt. Was round his house fairly recently after he came back from work, visibly and emotionally not right for a few days after being first on scene at a suicide of a young kid. Was just too late. Not how i would like to spend my evenings anyway.

Not saying they are all saints but plenty are deserving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 890 ✭✭✭zapata

The big crime here is the legal costs involved in these well deserved compensation claims....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭Fromthetrees

I honestly can't think of a harder job to do in Ireland. I would be the furthest thing from a fanboy of the Guards but they do a very tough job, one I couldn't do, and the vast majority of them do it with the highest of integrity and ability.

If we cut all of public sector pay, the Gardai would be exempt from it if I was in charge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 553 ✭✭✭upstairs for coffee

Why are they compensated financially for post post traumatic stress?

Surely it's a case of "caveat emptor" - they chose to be Gardai and all that entails.

Why don't nurses, doctors, bus drivers etc get post traumatic stress compensation?

Ridiculous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,752 ✭✭✭Odysseus

I honestly can't think of a harder job to do in Ireland. I would be the furthest thing from a fanboy of the Guards but they do a very tough job, one I couldn't do, and the vast majority of them do it with the highest of integrity and ability.

If we cut all of public sector pay, the Gardai would be exempt from it if I was in charge.

I don't honestly know if they have the toughtest job, however, they do have a very difficult job. Lots of public servants are prone to PTSD due to their experiences in work; and we should be looking after all of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,660 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Surely it's a case of "caveat emptor" - they chose to be Gardai and all that entails.

Why don't nurses, doctors, bus drivers etc get post traumatic stress compensation?

Ridiculous.

I'm sure they do if they if they contract it during the course of their work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 553 ✭✭✭upstairs for coffee

Odysseus wrote: »
    I don't honestly know if they have the toughtest job, however, they do have a very difficult job. Lots of public servants are prone to PTSD due to their experiences in work; and we should be looking after all of them.
    We should be looking after them, pay for the psychiatry bills etc. But to give someone a couple of hundred grand as a cure is taking the piss

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,752 ✭✭✭Odysseus

Ridiculous.

They will recieve compensation if they seek it. Though PTSD is not the be all and end all. I was in a clinic on a visit yesterday, I had worked there for over 10 years, I was asking what I had missed since I moved to a different clinic.

One member of staff was off for 5 week after being attacked by a client. That client is now back in the same clinic and that staff member has to see her every day. That is not right. However, I am going OT