Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

School looking to start a cycling club - advice needed on getting bikes

• 18-01-2013 9:37pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭

In the next few weeks I am hoping to start a cycling club in the school where I work. Neither the school or the area have any tradition in cycling so I am not hoping for big numbers, just something I want to try as I would have loved to have this opportunity myself when I was in my mid teens. My plan is simply to organise spins after school when the evenings get a bit longer. I am hoping that I may be able to get a group to take part in a sportive or two during the early Summer.
    My problem is I have a few lads that have expressed interest but as yet do not have bikes. Knowing their family situations, buying a new road bike would be very difficult and part time work for the young people in our area is not what it used to be. My question is, does anyone know of any shop that would be able to supply a few secondhand bikes at very reasonable rates? While we are located in Galway I would be prepared to travel if a good offer came our way. My hope would be to acquire say 6 bikes or so which the school might purchase and use to introduce people to the sport and maybe allow them pay a very small rental fee. Would really appreciate any advice on this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 859 ✭✭✭StevieGriff

I'd say hammer the phone and letterboxes of any and all local bike shops, see who could do you a good deal. Offer them a free advertising opportunity out of it too, I'm sure some bike shop owner would love to have his name and picture in the local paper for sponsoring a local school.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,526 ✭✭✭✭Darkglasses

I imagine it'll be deal on a rental scheme that you'll have the most luck with, i'd be amazed if the school would have space on their budget for a bike purchase scheme.

https://www.google.ie/#hl=en&safe=off&tbo=d&sclient=psy-ab&q=Galway+bike+rental&

Get in touch with some of these about your plans, maybe it'd be what they're looking for! I am sure they would be more open to the idea of loaning bikes at cut-rates in the off-season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,565 ✭✭✭thebouldwhacker

Fair play, what a great project!

You would be surprised how many grants are out there for projects to purchase equipment, though small individually they could accumulate to a tidy sum. Contact local county council's, sports council and community centres for info. Also if your area has a 'super sportif' like the ring if Kerry or the Sean Kelly apply to them for a percentage of the monies raised.

If you were to go down the total cycling approach collecting bikes which need tlc and starting a repair project first, through fixing up bikes to use and selling off completed projects money can be raised as well as appreciation for bikes.

Contact local youth clubs and projects. If you lay out a plan to them many will be keen ti be involved in the start up phase.

Also hit every cycling club within 100km and ask them for hands on as well as fund raising help. Even if only 2 or 3 people get involved your going in the right direction. Remember other cycling bodies like CI may be helpful too.
    Remember not to forget the kids. The world knows no force stronger than a teen or preteen with a mission. Their blind drive will keep you going.
    Maybe if it gets going a boards fund raiser could be thrown together too....
    Good luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,923 ✭✭✭wav1

What we did some years ago to do something similiar was to have a get together of all cycling enthusiasts in the area.We got them to bring along any old gear they had lying in the shed etc.Frames,an odd wheel,old chainsets etc.We ended up with 3 or 4 bikes for very small money.New youngsters were then given them for a nominal rental fee[e5 per week]until they got hooked and then progressed to their own machines.Its amazing what lads will have lying around and that they would consider to be junk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭michaelm

i'd be amazed if the school would have space on their budget for a bike purchase scheme.

I will happily settle for a modest percentage of the amount given to Hurling, rugby etc. In most schools funds for these activities come from the "voluntary" contribution from parents and there is no reason why a small amount cannot be given to a sport/activity the students are more likely to continue with into later life.

Thanks to all of you for your advice - very encouraging and from reading your replies I am rearing to go!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,738 ✭✭✭2011abc

Isnt this a complete nightmare and more or less disallowed by school insurance ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,452 ✭✭✭SomeFool

Try the local Gardai, might be willing to donate anything left for over a year that normally get auctioned

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭areyawell

No hope of getting insurance for that.

areyawell wrote: »
    No hope of getting insurance for that.

Worth getting in touch with Cycling Ireland re. insurance actually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,418 ✭✭✭Icyseanfitz

would have been real cool to have the option of cycling as a sport in school, as opposed to the usual suspects of gaa, basketball etc. best of luck with it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,824 ✭✭✭Qualitymark

A wonderful idea - nothing better than cycling for teaching kids that they control their environment. I remember cycling from Dublin to Cork, Galway and Donegal in summers with teenagers, camping on the way - it revolutionised the way they saw their country and their own abilities.

Have you thought of asking mothers and fathers if anyone might have a disused bike or two in the shed that they could spare? If so, it would be a chance to teach bicycle repair and maintenance too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭Tonyandthewhale

Interesting idea. If you end up getting second hand stuff or just a collection of parts pm me if you need a hand putting the bikes together or if you need some help on the adult-supervision side of things as I'm sort of half-based in the Galway area. I might even have a few bits and pieces I could donate to a good cause.

I would be inclined to agree with what they're saying about insurance probably being fierce troublesome though.

All students currently have insurance which they pay for individually at the start of each year, they are covered for all activities sanctioned by the BOM. I also intend to ask each student to take out insurance with Cycling Ireland and depending on how other issues are dealt with I will look at the possibility of registering as a club. As a matter of interest we have had a number of charity cycles in the past in aid of the school, this may also be a fundraising avenue to investigate again.

michaelm wrote: »
    All students currently have insurance which they pay for individually at the start of each year, they are covered for all activities sanctioned by the BOM. I also intend to ask each student to take out insurance with Cycling Ireland and depending on how other issues are dealt with I will look at the possibility of registering as a club. As a matter of interest we have had a number of charity cycles in the past in aid of the school, this may also be a fundraising avenue to investigate again.

Also, if you do teach the kids bicycle mechanics, you could have a "Bring your bicycle and we'll mend it for a tenner" day (obviously not including price of parts!) every now and then to raise funding. Big groom for the kids' egos :)

Just an update on this for anyone interested. Started 3 weeks ago with a group of 10 lads, with all manner and makes of bikes. Most have now either joined or are going to join nearby clubs. The issue of getting decent bikes may resolve itself as already I notice the lads becoming more resourceful. We go for a spin after school one evening per week and are aiming to do a local charity event of 120k in May, which is proving to be a great motivator. We have as of today ordered our own jerseys. I'm Teaching and cycling a long time, I really regret not doing this years ago. One thing this has shown me is there is an appetite among young people for cycling.

The issue of getting decent bikes may resolve itself as already I notice the lads becoming more resourceful.

Eeek

Just an update on this for anyone interested. Started 3 weeks ago with a group of 10 lads, with all manner and makes of bikes. Most have now either joined or are going to join nearby clubs. The issue of getting decent bikes may resolve itself as already I notice the lads becoming more resourceful. We go for a spin after school one evening per week and are aiming to do a local charity event of 120k in May, which is proving to be a great motivator. We have as of today ordered our own jerseys. I'm Teaching and cycling a long time, I really regret not doing this years ago. One thing this has shown me is there is an appetite among young people for cycling.

That's so cool, I'm really pleased to hear all this. Please keep us updated!!

Eeek

Fair point - I should qualify that: Some have convinced their parents to buy entry level road bikes, bizarrely 2 have come up with identical, almost vintage, ladies racing bikes (one from a neighbour, one from an aunt). 2 are on decent hybrids and one is on a mountain bike. I am making a second bike of my own available to a different student each week to get a feel for a road bike. So just to set your mind at ease - all above board! I would still love to have a few road bikes to keep in school to allow those without access to have a go, but it is early days yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 364 ✭✭Konkers

?........bizarrely 2 have come up with identical, almost vintage, ladies racing bikes (one from a neighbour, one from .......days yet.

where are u. I know someone with an 80's ladies racer in the shed that they are threatening to discard if their sister does not start using it. Happy to get if for u if you wish to come to Dublin to collect it.

Same here - I know someone with a fixer-upper; where are you and how can you be contacted? PM me?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

I know of a late 80's Raleigh presuit (i think) bike going spare, just needs cables and maybe new levers and it's good to go, it's in Galway, so you'd have to find a way to collect it here...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 94 ✭✭hammerheadjack

Fairplay on your efforts so far. I know from experience that initiatives like this can very easily get wrapped up in red tape. Just be aware of the guidelines on CI and do the best you can, and most importantly don't give up. If any of the lads start getting serious and thinking of racing we are looking for youngsters interested in racing for connacht development, and they are welcome to attend any of the Connacht development sessions to see how they measure up or just to get a feel for race training.

http://www.facebook.com/ConnachtCycling?fref=ts

It may be a bit early for your lads but some might be interested in the U12 U14 or U16 races taking place in loughrea next week.

http://www.connachtcycling.com/#/loughrea-gp-2013/4574234818

Its a great time to be a young lad interested in cycling in Connacht, There is a lot of good will out there towards developing youth riders, so if thats something you or your "club" are interested in keerp an eye out for the next training day on the connacht cycling facebook page.

A further update on this as yesterday our group achieved its goal of participating in a local charity ride - 120km tour of Lough derg. 8 lads participated and completed the trip in times varying from 4.5 to 5.5 hrs (incl food stop). Ages ranged from 13 to 17 and bikes ranged from a very old racer to 2 borrowed hybrids to a recently purchased mid rage aluminium road bike. We trained once a week as a group and the lads also did at least one other spin outside of that. A few of them cycled to school in the last few weeks, which I hope they will now continue. Four of the lads are now members of local cycling clubs and I hope they will continue with the sport.

Fantastic! Are you on the Tipp side of Lough Derg or the Clare side? Maybe you could bring them to Cloughjordan, to the Eco-Village?

Thanks - we're in Galway, Portumna to be precise, Cloughjordan is only about 20Km.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭Dotsie~tmp

Also, if you do teach the kids bicycle mechanics, you could have a "Bring your bicycle and we'll mend it for a tenner" day (obviously not including price of parts!) every now and then to raise funding. Big groom for the kids' egos :)

You probably shouldn't mention 'kids' and 'groom' in the same post. The tubes have eyes.