Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Street Levitator in Galway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,390 ✭✭✭The Big Red Button

kopkidda wrote: »

I'd say the cane and platform are connected, it's a strong steel frame, and probably continues up his sleeve and supports his body, somehow. Says in the article that the act is prepared in advance under a tent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Magnatism baby.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,182 ✭✭✭Genghiz Cohen

The walking stick is connected to a plate on the ground that is hidden by the flowers and is connected to a seat through his sleeve.

It's a variation of Robert Houdin's Broom Suspension

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭Squ

What does he need a walking stick for if he's not walking anywhere?

Lazy bastard

• Closed Accounts Posts: 215 ✭✭Furious_George

The walking stick is connected to a plate on the ground that is hidden by the flowers and is connected to a seat through his sleeve.

This ^. And op its no more a scam than those people in metallic paint are trying to scam you into truely believing they are real statues coming to life. Its street performance pure and simple and fair play to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,499 ✭✭✭✭Alun

Yes, see that green square underneath him covered in fake grass? I bet that's a steel plate with the end of the 'cane' welded to it, and said 'cane' also continues up his sleeve and under his clothes to connect to a seat of some sort. It'd take quite a balancing act to keep upright though, and I bet it wouldn't take much of a shove to send him toppling, not that I'm suggesting anyone should do that of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,988 ✭✭✭Spudmonkey

I've seen this done before. The base is connected to a platform he is sitting on by way of the cane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

He's a sorcerer and should be swiftly killed.

It's the only logical solution....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

WITHCRAFT................ BURN HIM!!

It's a dylithium superconducter connected to a fat mans arse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭I Heart Internet

Hardly a "scam". Just a trick/illusion.

I bet he makes a lot of people stop and smile - looks great.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

****in magnets, how do they work?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭Plazaman

His silver money bowl doesn't seem to be connected to anything.

Quick rob it and we'll find out soon enough how the trick works when he runs after you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 258 ✭✭littleteapot

This act is 100 times better when it's the hot ginger girl doing it. She at least looks like she could actually be levitating. He sits there rocking back and forth with very suspicious movement under the orange sheet. Where is his other hand?? It's very disturbing.
    Still, at least they're quiet and not annoying the sh1t out of the staff in the shops nearby...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

kopkidda wrote: »
    How does this scam work?
    Build elaborite one-legged stool
    Pretend to levitate
    ????
    PROFIT

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 688 ✭✭✭luketitz

A derivative the the Indian Yogi myth, device shown here!

I was watching him setting up last Saturday but he put a tent over himself to hide how it is done.

There is a heavy metal base under the flowers.

The girl does it better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Is everyone sure it's not just live Photoshop of some description? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 217 ✭✭Triangular

I saw the ginger girl walking down the town whilst carrying the device. It's as people describe on page one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,002 ✭✭✭Seedy Arling

This act is 100 times better when it's the hot ginger girl doing it. She at least looks like she could actually be levitating. He sits there rocking back and forth with very suspicious movement under the orange sheet. Where is his other hand?? It's very disturbing.
    Still, at least they're quiet and not annoying the sh1t out of the staff in the shops nearby...
    Yeah, she was coining it in over Christmas. It's really cool looking. Fair play to them.

It's money for sitting down really isn't it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

It's obviously a cloaked Predator sitting under him.

Intergalactic recession and all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

It looks cool, but it's so easy to figure out that it's laughable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Galway forum Biko, Galway forum. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭Plazaman

Jaysus sure you can't walk down a street now without some git levitating into you. I blame that cockney git, Dynamo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,548 ✭✭✭recyclops

how hot is this ginger girl people are talking about??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭mconigol

How does this make national news?

Not much happening back in Ireland these days I take it?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 510 ✭✭✭LivelineDipso

This ^. And op its no more a scam than those people in metallic paint are trying to scam you into truely believing they are real statues coming to life. Its street performance pure and simple and fair play to him.

Thanks for pointing this out. The Dawkins/Hitchens repeating robots now consider even a bit of harmless fun street entertainment to be scam if it isn't scientific...

God I hate them. Ironically they are the new witchfynders these days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,687 ✭✭✭✭jack presley

mconigol wrote: »
    How does this make national news?

Not much happening back in Ireland these days I take it?
    It was in the Indo. The same paper that brought us the groundbreaking news a couple of weeks ago that some z-list celebrity lost her phone while skiing.

So they're hardly at the cutting edge of journalism.

It was in the Indo. The same paper that brought us the groundbreaking news a couple of weeks ago that some z-list celebrity lost her phone while skiing.

So they're hardly at the cutting edge of journalism

Sorry but this is the cutting edge of Irish newspaper journalism and has been for decades.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Thanks for pointing this out. The Dawkins/Hitchens repeating robots now consider even a bit of harmless fun street entertainment to be scam if it isn't scientific...

No; ironically, quite a few of the people you're referring to (skeptics etc) are actually quite into 'magic'.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/James_Randi

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,741 ✭✭✭Mousewar

recyclops wrote: »
    how hot is this ginger girl people are talking about??

I'm assuming this is her
    http://cf.broadsheet.ie/wp-content/uploads/2013/01/gtbzgi.jpg

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 6,525 Mod ✭✭✭✭dregin

Someone needs to get this lad onto a weighing scales with a duck ASAP!

No; ironically, quite a few of the people you're referring to (skeptics etc) are actually quite into 'magic'.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/James_Randi

and James Randi is so good at sleight of hand he got a fake passport for his boyfriend and liar who has refused to disclose if he has that million dollar prize money or not.

Mousewar wrote: »

She is using the same set up as the guy. Now I am wondering if this is a cult fund raising racket and a scam afterall...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Sorry but this is the cutting edge of Irish newspaper journalism and has been for decades.

You wouldn't see a 'story' like that in the Irish Times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 Galwayguy20

I disagree. I think most people here recognise that it's a bit of fun and appreciate the illusion. However I do have a problem with the same trick being used by con artists in places like the poorer parts of rural India where "holy men" are hugely respected, in order to convince people of their powers and sell them fake cures/blessings etc.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 15,239 Mod ✭✭✭✭FutureGuy

Even though I know how it's done and understand what is required to do it, it's still pretty cool to see live.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

Funny, the only person who's labelled it a scam is the OP, and in his brief posting history there is no mention of Dawkins, Hitchens, science or any derivative thereof.

I'd also like to see you provide a single example of any of the famous new atheists suggesting that magic or street performance is a scam.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,488 ✭✭✭kingtut

I'd say the cane and platform are connected, it's a strong steel frame, and probably continues up his sleeve and supports his body, somehow. Says in the article that the act is prepared in advance under a tent.

This is pretty much correct, I saw it in Lanzarote last year.

For anyone curious watch this video (skip to around 34 seconds and you will see how it works).

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=jAa21Q8n5O4

Edit - Oops just realised the same video was posted already, oh well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,381 ✭✭✭✭Allyall

Saw one of these yesterday on youtube coincidentally enough, probably following another thread from Boards, it's linked to this video

But i thought this was better