Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why is nobody happy that I've found a job?

• 18-01-2013 10:04am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

I got a job a couple of months ago after college. It's my first proper job after my
    undergrad and masters (science/healthcare based). It doesn't pay brilliantly, base salary is about 20k, but there's a bonus scheme, which provided I perform well (which I'm doing) brings it up to about 25k, so all in all I don't think I'm doing too badly.

I like my job. It's extremely low stress and I have money for the first time since I can't remember when. The hours are good and they're extremely flexible in terms of time off. I even get to travel a bit, which wasn't in the original job description, so I'm really happy about it. It's got absolutely nothing to do with my degree (though my degree did help me get the job). So it's a bit of a departure from what I've been working towards for the last 5 years. It was a little disappointing that there's nothing in Ireland that's more related to what I studied, and the work I'm in now is not what I thought I'd ever be doing but I think I landed on my feet in terms of finding full time work at all.

The problem is that nobody else seems to be happy for me. Everyone I've told about my
    work looks disappointed. Some have even offered sympathy. Once I tell them what I work as they say anything like "Oh well, it's something for the time being", or "So, it has nothing at all to do with your degree? You'll move when you find something better right?" or "but it's just for the short term isn't it?". People I went to college with are the worst offenders. A lot of them went to do PhDs and some went abroad to find related work, which would be an option for me but not something I wanted to do. Even my parents think I've let the side down a bit. I just got back from a work trip where every expense was paid for and my mother told me I was being taken for a ride because they never compensated me for having to get up at 4am to catch a flight...

Part of it comes from the fact I was always very academic, and I suppose people expected
    me to do a PhD or go into research/industry in some way and not get a standard "office job". But the thing is, I never liked research, and to chase jobs related to what my masters was in, I'd have to work for free (can't afford) or go abroad (but I'm very happy here). To be perfectly honest after finishing college, I'm tired. I'm tired of spending all my waking hours studying or working to make ends meet. I'm tired of always being stressed. I'm tired of not having any money. This job cured all of this. I feel more relaxed and healthier than I've done in years, I'm planning holidays and I get to enjoy my weekends and evenings without worrying about working late or studying. I am happy. Or I would be if I could understand why everyone is acting like I've failed somehow, or I've let the side down by taking a job that they don't think is impressive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 605 ✭✭✭pastorbarrett

This is a simple one, OP- enjoy your happiness and present circumstances! Others will always be only too happy to offer input on our circumstances, and luckily for most of us it's well intentioned if misaligned on occasion. Regardless, only pay heed to what is truly important to you, i.e. that which offers you some sense of contentedness and happiness. By Jaysus, it's the secret of life! Well done OP and enjoy yourself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,411 ✭✭✭ABajaninCork

If your friends and family aren't happy for you, then take best wishes from a stranger on the 'net! Personally, I am very happy for you.

It is an achievement to even GET a job given the times we live in. Never mind one where you'll be making decent money for your age, and you're happy in!!

And if these silly people don't get that, then it is their problem and not yours.

The very best of luck to you!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭Animord

They are probably disappointed for you because they think it is sad you haven't got a job in your chosen field. But you know what - you have a job and that's a great thing - and you are happy with it and that's an even better thing.

Just having got the job will give you a better chance of getting a job in your area in the future, if that's what you want. But in the meantime just be grateful that you are happy, have the well deserved rest that you are enjoying at the moment and ignore the eejits.

And well done!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 559 ✭✭✭Maura74

Next time anyone is negative about your new employment just tell them how happy you are in the job that you can do easily with no added stress attached to it, as well a paid holidays that you will enjoy, a decent income gives a bit of freedom as well.

You have plenty of time to do a PhD on a part time basis if that's what you want to do later in life, some people do PHD's in their 40's and 50's, while working.

There is no such thing as a job for life anymore like how it used to be in the old days, nowadays people stay in job for 2 or 3 years and move onto something new to get better working experience to add to their CV.

As mentioned it is very difficult to get any sort of employment in the times we live in today. Enjoy your new job, which I am sure you will do well in.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 12,526 Mod ✭✭✭✭miamee

Well done on the job OP, you are right in saying that you landed on your feet to get a full-time job after college and one that you can do well in without stress. You have been working hard for years towards a time that you could just do simple things like plan a weekend away or a holiday without having to plan around studying or exams. Reap what you have sown now and enjoy yourself!

I studied languages at college and although I used one of the languages in my first job after college, I still used to get asked what about the other language? Even now (I left college almost 15 years ago), I will still get asked if I ever used the languages again. (I don't use them at all in my current job they'd be fairly rusty at this stage).

Enjoy your free time, having a bit of extra cash and being free to do what you like, when you like. Just let the comments wash over you and tell people that you are quite happy doing what you are doing, thankyouverymuch :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,652 ✭✭✭CaraMay

You are obviously giving them strong negatives about the job - if you enthuse about it then they will too. It's all in the presentation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,653 ✭✭✭yer man!

I notice this too as I'm in my final year of college, there a fair push to go on and do postgrad courses or research masters as it's a science based degree. I notice a push from my parents too to go on and do a Phd or something. I want to take some time out and get a job like you OP, make some money and relax for a bit and then see what I really want to do in a year or two. I don't get the people who want to rush into a course directly after a degree and not take anytime out from the stress of academia, but each to their own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 766 ✭✭✭mkdon05

yer man! wrote: »
    I notice this too as I'm in my final year of college, there a fair push to go on and do postgrad courses or research masters as it's a science based degree. I notice a push from my parents too to go on and do a Phd or something. I want to take some time out and get a job like you OP, make some money and relax for a bit and then see what I really want to do in a year or two. I don't get the people who want to rush into a course directly after a degree and not take anytime out from the stress of academia, but each to their own.

For the main, you will be swapping the stress of academia for the stress in a job. I'd be of the opinion, you're better off sticking at the studying while you are in that mindset. It can be difficult to return to (Not to a course, but to the mindset) when you leave it for a while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,102 ✭✭✭RossFixxxed

You're happy in your job, you don't want to go down the phd route... you're ahead of many people right there, and to hell what anyone thinks. Congrats on the job, go do your thing. The world is full of naysaying whiners trying to drag you down to their pathetic level. Don't give those vampires time of day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,653 ✭✭✭yer man!

mkdon05 wrote: »
    For the main, you will be swapping the stress of academia for the stress in a job. I'd be of the opinion, you're better off sticking at the studying while you are in that mindset. It can be difficult to return to (Not to a course, but to the mindset) when you leave it for a while.

Well the way I see it, if I pursue a Phd now without knowing exactly if that's what I want or not then I should take some time out. It's four years in a very specific area. Plus work experience is an advantage in an application, obviously in a related area.

Plus people can burn out, most college graduates have been in full time education since they were five and are probably quite poor and living at home. I see a job after graduation as a good thing, be it short time or whatever, it can give a better perspective. I'm not so sure about the whole it's easier to continue stuff, the mature students in my course are always the ones who are top of the class and genuinly love what they do as they took some time to decide that that was the area for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

OP here

Thank you for the lovely replies. I do feel much better now. It was mentioned that I should enthuse about the job more and you're right. When people started off being negative about it I suppose I started to get more apologetic about it, so maybe they think I'm not happy here?

It's so nice to here people saying well done, it makes me feel like I'm actually doing the right thing, because I was beginning to doubt myself. Thank you :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 121 ✭✭ChubbyHubby

The problem is that nobody else seems to be happy for me. Everyone I've told about my work looks disappointed. Some have even offered sympathy. Once I tell them what I work as they say anything like "Oh well, it's something for the time being", or "So, it has nothing at all to do with your degree? You'll move when you find something better right?" or "but it's just for the short term isn't it?". People I went to college with are the worst offenders. A lot of them went to do PhDs and some went abroad to find related work, which would be an option for me but not something I wanted to do. Even my parents think I've let the side down a bit. I just got back from a work trip where every expense was paid for and my mother told me I was being taken for a ride because they never compensated me for having to get up at 4am to catch a flight...
    It depends on what kind of job you are doing and how long you intend to do it. If it's a deadend job with no career prospects or related to the field you studied then you won't have the work experience to move to something better. It's only natural to ask you questions like "but it's just for the short term isn't it?" Or do you actually intend to work in a job that pays 20k for the rest of your life with your academic qualifications? And if you don't think it's going to be long term then what's wrong with the feedback?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 wotsit

You don't mention what the job actually is OP, perhaps people close to you feel you have compromised your ethics and abilities in some way just for a weekly wage?
    People who go on to study post-grad courses usually are those who are deeply interested in their chosen field, perhaps you have gone as far as you can academia wise, doesn't matter in the end, you have only your self to answer to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,127 ✭✭✭kjl

I think people are just looking out for you. 25k is a pretty rubbish salary for someone who has 5 years worth of courses and a masters to boot in a specific subject. I know guys out of a masters on 35k+

There is plenty of work out there for well qualified people and maybe your friends and family think you are settling for this job.

Im glad you enjoy it, but realistically you should be on more money at this stage in your career. Sure you can earn 20k working in a shop and you have a degree and a Masters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,102 ✭✭✭RossFixxxed

It depends on field that he has studied. Finding work is awful for many at the moment. And quality of life is worth a few K to some people too. It's many factors, and ultimately up to the OP what they want in their life. Fair play.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 595 ✭✭✭tony81

Hi Op, try not to discuss your salary or work conditions with people who are too ignorant to realise the importance of a work/life balance or doing something you enjoy doing, or who fail to realise you are probably gaining very good skills and experience in your job.

At some stage you will need to think slightly longer-term, such as where your career is going (it's good to discuss a training plan with your manager) and what extra skills and education you need to progress in your chosen career path.

You can upskill from your existing degree by doing as little as 1-2 years part-time education. For example, it may be possible to do a level 8 h.dip, another masters or even a doctorate on the basis that you've already got a high standard of education.

Don't let people's ignorance get you down and don't apologise for making your own decisions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 963 ✭✭✭Richy06

OP, at the end of the day the only person you have to make happy in this situation is you. If you are happy in what you are doing and the ancillary rewards the job reaps, then so what if people are looking down their noses at you?

I am in a similar situation to you, only I'm two years or so down the line. I'm doing a job I should be paid more for, with little in the way of upward mobility for on pretty much the same money as yourself. It is related to what I studied, but the bare bones of it. Thing is, I fell in love with a sport with which I began to fill more and more of my life with. My hours mean I get to train most days, if I wish. So I guess I filled the 'progression' side of things with that...but thing is, I'm very happy. I earn enough money to share a lovely apartment with great people and to pay my bills and enjoy myself a little. I'm glad I don't have a immensely stressful job that I take home with me every day and I don't get involved with the office bull****. I'm in a great place and happy as can be. I don't really care what anyone thinks about it or me. And therein lies the key to it all, I think.

As long as you're happy, that's what really matters.

This job isn't going to be your life...there's a long road ahead. Relax and enjoy the ride.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 156 ✭✭Lunni

kjl wrote: »
    I think people are just looking out for you. 25k is a pretty rubbish salary for someone who has 5 years worth of courses and a masters to boot in a specific subject. I know guys out of a masters on 35k+

There is plenty of work out there for well qualified people and maybe your friends and family think you are settling for this job.

Im glad you enjoy it, but realistically you should be on more money at this stage in your career. Sure you can earn 20k working in a shop and you have a degree and a Masters.

It depends on the field. I hardly know anyone who is earning 35K straight out of a Master's course and those who are earning that are in finance. I have a language degree, a Master's with distinction and 5 years work experience in various fields and I'd be delighted with 25K. I don't see how anyone straight out of college could turn their nose up at 2 grand a month in these times. But it really depends on what OP studied.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 486 ✭✭EricPraline

Those are some pretty sweeping, naïve generalisations you've made there. In the current Irish jobs market, the salary expectations of a graduate will depend entirely on the subject area of the qualification, regardless of how long they have spent studying. There are plenty of well-qualified engineers and people with hard-earned MAs working at the salary level that you're scoffing at, simply because they haven't been able to find something in their field or because there are so many people looking for the same jobs that employers can offer low salaries. In the OP's case, they have said there's nothing available in their field in Ireland.

Anyway back to the OP, congratulations on the job. There's nothing wrong with taking time out after a stressful period of study, or taking a short-term job to help you explore your long-term options. I'm sure your family have your best interests at heart, maybe you just need to explain to them that this new direction is what you need right now. They may also be more appreciative if they realised that the other clear alternative here is that you move abroad to look for work in your field, leaving them behind.

Well owch. If I had found work in my area I would be on ~30k. Those who went abroad are earning a bit under that. So yes my 20-25k is probably a little paltry in comparison but I don't see how you can say "at this stage in your career". My career is about 2 months old.

As for the work it's not dead end, there are great opportunities for progression if I stay in it. I had planned when I started to stay for maybe 2 years or longer if it takes that long for my own sector to recover and then try to find something else, but if you told me I had to be in this line of work for the next ten years I wouldn't mind all that much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 383 ✭✭wex96

Remember : not everyone can be millionaires, someone has to clean up the ****e. :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 145 ✭✭emuhead

Getting a job out straight out of college is a massive achievement! Try to focus on all the nice things you can do with your time and money instead of worrying about what classmates / family say. It could be that your classmates are scrapping by and seeing you have a better standard of life is making them doubt their own choices, hence their feedback coming across as (unconsciously) defensive.

Good luck in your new job :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,127 ✭✭✭kjl

Well owch. If I had found work in my area I would be on ~30k. Those who went abroad are earning a bit under that. So yes my 20-25k is probably a little paltry in comparison but I don't see how you can say "at this stage in your career". My career is about 2 months old.

As for the work it's not dead end, there are great opportunities for progression if I stay in it. I had planned when I started to stay for maybe 2 years or longer if it takes that long for my own sector to recover and then try to find something else, but if you told me I had to be in this line of work for the next ten years I wouldn't mind all that much.

Look, do what you want. If you are happy then great. I was simple trying to highlight why you family and friends might be thinking this way. Which was you initial question.

Would you mind telling us what field your studies are in so that we can understand a little more why there are no jobs in Ireland.

• Administrators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,917 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Big Bag of Chips

Yep, OP, people react to you not to the words you are saying.

So if people get the impression that you are not happy, or that you think you have 'settled' by taking this job, then they will sympathise with you.

If you are delighted, (genuinely delighted rather than being over enthusiastic just to try convince others) then people will be delighted for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,461 ✭✭✭Queen-Mise

tony81 wrote: »
    At some stage you will need to think slightly longer-term, such as where your career is going (it's good to discuss a training plan with your manager) and what extra skills and education you need to progress in your chosen career path.

You can upskill from your existing degree by doing as little as 1-2 years part-time education. For example, it may be possible to do a level 8 h.dip, another masters or even a doctorate on the basis that you've already got a high standard of education.

I agree 100% with this. In some ways it doesn't really matter what your primary degree was; once you have one within reason you can do any masters you like. I knew one of the directors in a company I worked in that started with a Geology degree and had 4/5 masters - some in science and others in different parts of business.

When people look at you with kinda disappointment - acknowledge it directly - there is absolutely nothing to be disappointed about. You are in a good job, with a stable salary with the possibility of progression. It is invaluable experience for your future career - especially when you are travelling abroad for the company as that shows the level of trust the company has for you.

I really like your attitude OP - best of luck.

Hi OP,

First off well done on getting a job!! My advice would be make sure you are happy to pursue this new career path you have chosen. I wound up in an unrelated field to what I studied and five years passed quite quickly and I realised I had made a big mistake. While my salary increased over the years, if I had followed a line of study relating to my degree I would be on twice the money I am earning now.

When I left college I was so delighted to find a 9-5 and be earning a full time wage that I didn't really focus on the long term. I eventually decided I wanted to use my degree so I returned to study for a year and am essentially starting at the bottom of the ladder again but am happy to finally be on the right track.

Best of luck OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 268 ✭✭castaway_lady

OP congrats on getting a job in a tough market that you enjoy. So what if it's not a straight link from your degree? Most people end up in jobs that doesn't call on every aspect of their degree or requires the development of some different skills from what they got from their degree. Your degree & what you have to offer as a person and am employee got you a foothold into the workplace. That makes your time studying totally worthwhile.

People forget that a PhD can make you unemployable too, as in overqualified for many jobs and lots of people start them and drop out of them or do them and never make the kind of money they think the PhD should earn them.

Getting the 'employment' section of your career off the mark is so valuable right now. That will be your platform for any move you might feel like making in a couple of years, be it progression in your current role/company or a move elsewhere. Your job in the meantime is to overdeliver in the role and make the most of it and your life beyond it. Don't feel the need to justify it or defend your move to anyone. Play the "yea Im delighted with the job, its really enjoyable, great to be getting the opportunity to develop this aspect of my cv, loving the travel aspect, work with nice people" etc etc. People are often jealous and mask it by pointing out the downside they want to see. Keep your eyes open for part time courses too that you could do to open more doors or develop yourself in this role and who knows where it will take you.

Enjoy the job and stress free life and screw the begrudgers-they'll always exist.