Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

€30 Unlimited Vodka

• 17-01-2013 5:26pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭

Not sure if I should post here or on Bargain alerts. I see from a friend's FB that Dragon in Dublin are doing a €30 unlimited vodka promotion.

Is it me, or did I dream that these are actually illegal? Sounds messy and dangerous to me...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,753 ✭✭✭davet82

vodka and dragons sounds like a dangerous combination to me too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,006 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

davet82 wrote: »
    vodka and dragons sounds like a dangerous combination to me too

Killer hangover.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

Tomorrows headline "Dragon in Dublin in receivership".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

If it's anything like the way broadband and phone companies use the word "unlimited"', you're safe enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,109 ✭✭✭MaxSteele

As in Dragon the gaybar ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

MadsL wrote: »
    Dragon in Dublin are doing a €30 unlimited vodka promotion.

Is it still a gay bar?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

There's only so much vodka a person can take.It's a bit of a rip off.

Not to mention you'd be wading your way through puke by 11

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭nbar12

Unlimited vodka? OK, I'll buy all your stock for €30, thanks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

smash wrote: »
    Is it still a gay bar?

It was an electric pink door that can probably be seen from space so, perhaps.

MaxSteele wrote: »
    As in Dragon the gaybar ?

I'll mince around for some cheap vodka :cool:
    Is it still a gay bar?

i'm pretty sure it is, been awhile since I passed there but i think its safe to say no 'straight bar' would be stupid enough to enleash the carnage of an unlimited amount of vodka on the city of dublin :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Not sure if I should post here or on Bargain alerts. I see from a friend's FB that Dragon in Dublin are doing a €30 unlimited vodka promotion.

Is it me, or did I dream that these are actually illegal? Sounds messy and dangerous to me...
    Is it still a gay bar?

Gays and unlimited vodka!
    Absolut focking madness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

nbar12 wrote: »
    Unlimited vodka? OK, I'll buy all your stock for €30, thanks
    Bartender: Fine, let me pour it into shot glasses so you can carry it to your car more easily.
    Security: No drinks outside mate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Let me know when it happens in Galway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

Mr.S wrote: »
    afaik its singles only and 1 drink ordered at a time~

so i can't bring in a drip?

bollix :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

mikom wrote: »
    Gays and unlimited vodka!

Throw in the crowd who show up looking for the cheap vodka not knowing that it's a gay bar and you have a mess on your hands.

Good luck to the bouncers on the door for that night, I think they're gonna need it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,685 ✭✭✭✭wonski

After second drink you will be asked to order non-alcoholic drink, as you had too much in their opinion:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Ha, ha. Your 'friend' has teh ghey! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

Back in the day gorbys in cork did 99p for a vodka on students nights.

Ah the memories... Or lack thereof.

P_1 wrote: »
    Throw in the crowd who show up looking for the cheap vodka not knowing that it's a gay bar and you have a mess on your hands.

Good luck to the bouncers on the door for that night, I think they're gonna need it

the bouncers on the door usually have a pretty good 'gaydar' and will turn people away who have no idea about the clientele.

3.2 A drink, its packaging and any promotional material or activity (as defined
    in section 2 and Annex 1) must not in any direct or indirect way:

(f) encourage illegal, irresponsible or immoderate consumption, such as binge-drinking,* drunkenness or drink-driving;

http://www.meas.ie/assets/Uploads/PDFs/MEAS-Code-of-Practice-A5.pdf?PHPSESSID=a6acc9f68bc1dd66d051eb43a2a0e0c3

“Mexican Party - Free Tequila for Everyone all night long!!!
    Sombrero Hat Giveaway with DJ Tom! Free Admission before 12.30 am”
    “Gona be messy madness – whos up for some???”

http://www.meas.ie/index.php/news-and-research/press-releases/2011/nightclub-s-rag-week-promotion-breached-meas-code-on-responsible-promotion-of-alcohol/?PHPSESSID=f870569779e56d5b925f8095332aab43

Athlone nightclub rebuked over drinks promotion

Buy any Drink and Get the 2nd Free of Charge all Night

I'm thinking €30 unlimited vodka is highly irresponsible by Dragon, but then again you are an idiot for throwing vast quantities of vodka down your throat.

Ban or Grand?

What does AH think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,294 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

I think its fantastic, but id be slightly worried about what might happen to me if i got blackout drunk in a gay bar......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,403 ✭✭✭The Gnome

There must be some sort of terms & conditions, limited number of drink per hour or something, otherwise you could just sit at the bar and down vodka after vodka. Also mixers can't be included in the offer so maybe that's where they make the money back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,183 ✭✭✭dvpower

MadYaker wrote: »
    I think its fantastic, but id be slightly worried about what might happen to me if i got blackout drunk in a gay bar......
    On the fence about your sexuality eh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

MadYaker wrote: »

You'd probably fall asleep, puke on yourself and be led out by security. It's a gay bar, their not rapists, or do you really think you're that irresistible :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭Lyaiera

Do any bars do the cafe style buy 9 drinks get your 10th free? And while I'm sure there'd be people who see it as a challenge to do it in one night, I just mean as a generally loyalty thing. Even something like buy ten drinks get a bucket of chicken wings free. Or are all alcohol related loyalty schemes illegal?

(And before you ask, my boozer has given us free food on occasion. And would often make sure the regulars get the food as a priority.)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

Mr.S wrote: »

Its not the first time they've done it! they usually have a 30e "unlimited" thing on a Friday where its entry and all drinks free. Haven't heard of any trouble over it either! Its a bit of a gimick tbh.

And therein lies the catch- €30 to get IN, and on the slim chance you get to the bar to order a single vodka, it'll be a long time before you get served another single vodka, so they're counting on the time it takes you to get a drink, and the fact that some drinkers won't bother trying to get up to the bar again and again each time! So the Dragon could easy make a profit of €20 a head by the time it averages out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

I'd go to this, that's incredible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭3ndahalfof6

So they paid €30 for unlimited vodka promotion, sounds like a good deal to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

What brand?

*pushes glasses up vodka snob nose*

If it is illegal to serve a drunk person, how do you fulfill the terms of this promotion.

Seriously, from a mature standpoint, does anyone think this a good idea?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

"The vodka is free sure. The mixer however is 15 euro a glass!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,294 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

If it is illegal to serve a drunk person, how do you fulfill the terms of this promotion.

Seriously, from a mature standpoint, does anyone think this a good idea?

From a mature standpoint absolutely not. But sure being mature is no craic.

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    What brand?

*pushes glasses up vodka snob nose*

Pixie Woo brand...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭UCDVet

I went to a bar for New Years Eve that did this. It was pretty disappointing.

They had one bar where they were serving the 'prepaid stuff'. It had one bartender and he wasn't moving very fast. It'd take you 15-20 minutes to get a drink and it was bad tasting, bottom-shelf rum. And they'd only serve you one drink at a time.

At the other end, they were still accepting cash and you could get whatever you wanted.

Even though we'd paid for the 'all you can drink' crap - we ended up buying drinks.