Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Audi A4 automatic gearbox multitronic or tiptronic gearbox

• 17-01-2013 3:18pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,239 ✭✭✭

(2005 car) I'm trying to source a second hand gearbox for the mother and was ringing around and asked if it was a multitronic or tiptronic gearbox. How would I know without looking under the hood cause she has the car at work and I can't get under it.

Also is it worth buying an auto gearbox second hand. There seans to be a massive difference in price. E750 v 4.5/6 thousand new. I'm just wondering why the big difference really. Are you likely to be replacing a second hand one again in the near future.

Don't worry it will be a trained mechanic installing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,315 ✭✭✭ballooba

A4 B6 Multitronic boxes had major issues. They have seven forward "gears" which is a bit of a give away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,239 ✭✭✭Guffy

by 7 forward gears i assume you mean when you change it to 'manual' driving there are 7 gears and no reverse displayed on the dash? and if it was a tiptronic gearbox this would not be displayed?

edit: its a multitronic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 797 ✭✭✭cplwhisper

contact Gerry Mc in Donegal - only breaks VW / Audi / Skoda and Seats - - if he doesnt have it i'd be shocked - goggle mclaughlin breakers (burt/fahan address )

cheers cpl appreciate it. have been finding it hard to get one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

gufc21 wrote: »
    (2005 car) I'm trying to source a second hand gearbox for the mother and was ringing around and asked if it was a multitronic or tiptronic gearbox. How would I know without looking under the hood cause she has the car at work and I can't get under it.

Also is it worth buying an auto gearbox second hand. There seans to be a massive difference in price. E750 v 4.5/6 thousand new. I'm just wondering why the big difference really. Are you likely to be replacing a second hand one again in the near future.

Don't worry it will be a trained mechanic installing it.

Multitronic is a CVT belt-drive system, and is known to give trouble.

see more about it, here: http://www.audi.com/com/brand/en/models/efficiency/efficiency_technologies/transmissions/multitronic.html

€4.5k sounds very expensive. It won't be cheap, sure, but €4.5k is still a lot more than I would have thought. I mean, it's not as if Audi haven't sold any replacement ones before, like...................:o

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

galwaytt wrote: »
    Not in the B7 as far as I am aware. I have a B7 CVT and have had no problems. The car has 85,000km on it.
    by 7 forward gears i assume you mean when you change it to 'manual' driving there are 7 gears and no reverse displayed on the dash?
    I think my car only tells me what gear I am currently in, but I never use it in 'manual' for the very reason that there are 7 gears.

IIRC it was the ECU (or equivalent chip for transmission) that used to fail on the A4 B6. That wouldn't be 4.5k.

see more about it, here: http://www.audi.com/com/brand/en/models/efficiency/efficiency_technologies/transmissions/multitronic.html

€4.5k sounds very expensive. It won't be cheap, sure, but €4.5k is still a lot more than I would have thought. I mean, it's not as if Audi haven't sold any replacement ones before, like...................:o

that was the quote from the audi dealer in galway... they said it was a discount too as it should have been 6k. Did audi ever do a replacement deal with it as ford did with the focus dash board?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,186 ✭✭✭✭KCross

Ballooba and others.... I have a 2005 Audi A4 2.0TDi (B7) multitronic. The engine code is BLB.
    This particular engine(BLB), which is in the A6 as well, has a design fault with the oil pump chain which eventually snaps and kills your turbo and if you dont stop it quick enough the engine as well, as it wont be getting any oil.

Audi fixed the design issue within a year so most of the 2006 models have an upgraded oil pump design and the engine code is different so they are OK. Check your engine code. If its BLB you need to get this issue checked. Do a google on BLB and you will see alot of unhappy customers!

I was lucky in that I heard the chain rattling(around 85,000 miles) before it had a chance to snap and I got the oil pump mechanism changed to the new design which is a gear instead of a chain. It costs about €1300 plus labour. I managed to convince Audi to give me the part for free since it was a design issue and not a normal wear and tear or servicing issue.

I also had an issue with the ECU of the gearbox. The ECU gave trouble and the gear selector indicator in the dash was flashing which is its way of saying it has a fault. Sometimes it wouldnt engage a gear or more dangerously wouldnt disengage when I was stopping so I had to stand on the brake and get it to cut the engine. New ECU was about €800 + labour. I decided to get my ECU repaired. It was sent to a company in the UK who gave a guarantee with it. Working fine for the last year since they fixed it.
    The 2005 ECU is actually inside the gearbox(in the oil!) so it is difficult to get at and service. The later gearboxes have the ECU mounted outside the gearbox.
    -
    I'd be careful about buying a 2nd hand one of these multitronic gearboxes unless you can get some guarantee with it and dont buy the very first model of it. Get the one with the ECU mounted outside.

KCross wrote: »
    The 2005 ECU is actually inside the gearbox(in the oil!) so it is difficult to get at and service. The later gearboxes have the ECU mounted outside the gearbox.
    I think that was a major part of the cost of replacing the TCU, draining the box and getting access to it. I will check my engine number when I get home, thanks for the heads up.

OP Don't get a 2 nd hand one unless its reconditioned from a dealer or proper auto gearbox specialist. You could be very sorry.

My old 2003 tdi B6 had its ECU and multi plate clutch repaired at 40,000 miles by the previous owner through a main dealer in the u.k they paid part of the cost because it was so common. I sold it after 200,000 miles and it was still perfect.

Get it fixed by a specialist but please don't buy a new one or get one from a breakers yard.

What are the symptoms ? How many miles ?

These multitronics need oil changed every 40,000 miles religiously and I don't think the dealers did it in Ireland.the DSG also needs oil change after 40,000 miles, I'm not sure about the 7 speed.

These cars with multitronic or dsg should not be bought without a verified history.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

OP Don't get a 2 nd hand one unless its reconditioned from a dealer or proper auto gearbox specialist. You could be very sorry.

My old 2003 tdi B6 had its ECU and multi plate clutch repaired at 40,000 miles by the previous owner through a main dealer in the u.k they paid part of the cost because it was so common. I sold it after 200,000 miles and it was still perfect.

Get it fixed by a specialist but please don't buy a new one or get one from a breakers yard.

What are the symptoms ? How many miles ?

These multitronics need oil changed every 40,000 miles religiously and I don't think the dealers did it in Ireland.the DSG also needs oil change after 40,000 miles, I'm not sure about the 7 speed.

These cars with multitronic or dsg should not be bought without a verified history.
    There's the best advice going on this, fix your own, but get a auto-gearbox specialist to do it. That way you know what you are getting back and it should have a warranty. A used box could be 1000 miles away from dying and it will be dear to get it fitted anyway.

Thanks for the advice lads. The Audi dealer said it couldn't be opened to be fixed. Could anyone recommend a specialist to contact?

Jeebus - that just proves the dealer is talking BS. How do they think the parts got IN there - by osmosis ? FFS.

Otoh, I know of an 09 A6 2.0 Tdi that had it's gearbox repaired under warranty at a mere 43k kms by Audi, so unless that just involved pointing a light sabre at it, it involved removing and replacing or repairing parts of it.

All of which goes to show that the Multitronic is still 'challenging' mechanics everywhere, still............

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

ballooba wrote: »
    Not in the B7 as far as I am aware. I have a B7 CVT and have had no problems. The car has 85,000km on it.

I think my car only tells me what gear I am currently in, but I never use it in 'manual' for the very reason that there are 7 gears.

IIRC it was the ECU (or equivalent chip for transmission) that used to fail on the A4 B6. That wouldn't be 4.5k.

All multitronics are belt driven.

The other two 'automatics' Audi have offered are the Tiptronic, which is a conventional torque-convertor brake-band automatic, or the DSG/Sportronic, which is a twin-clutch mechanical constant mesh mechanical gearbox, with automatic gear change and selection.

Ode To The Motorist

You will know if it's a torque converter automatic very easily by looking at the rev counter and as you accelerate the revs will go up and down as you change gear.

Accelerate hard on a multitronic and it will hold high revs until the speed increases and the revs back down. (that's what they mean by the rubber band effect )

The Multitronic uses a chain.

OP you still haven't told us how the gearbox is effected ?

sorry mad_lad ah basically if you press the throttle it will slowly accelerate, like its in safe mode or something, but if you press it past a certain point the car looses power and the rev counter just flies up. It will eventually move up in the gear if you keep it at that sweet point for long enough but just takes an age.

i got a reference of a crowd in dublin, autotranz (anyone have any experience?). The lad I was talking to was really helpful on the phone but will have to bring the car up to them as they wont work on the gear box unless they remove it themselves which is fair enough. He quoted me worst case from my description, which i know isn't the greatest as i'm not the driver of the car, of 1.5k-2k. He said if it was the ECU it would cost 800. Still steep if its not the ECU but alot better than what the audi dealership are trying to push and from the sounds of it is a better option anyway giving the issues that exist with the box.

sorry mad_lad ah basically if you press the throttle it will slowly accelerate, like its in safe mode or something, but if you press it past a certain point the car looses power and the rev counter just flies up. It will eventually move up in the gear if you keep it at that sweet point for long enough but just takes an age.

i got a reference of a crowd in dublin, autotranz (anyone have any experience?). The lad I was talking to was really helpful on the phone but will have to bring the car up to them as they wont work on the gear box unless they remove it themselves which is fair enough. He quoted me worst case from my description, which i know isn't the greatest as i'm not the driver of the car, of 1.5k-2k. He said if it was the ECU it would cost 800. Still steep if its not the ECU but alot better than what the audi dealership are trying to push and from the sounds of it is a better option anyway giving the issues that exist with the box.

No never had dealings with them, but the price sounds right.

Maybe if the mileage is high enough get a rebuild and a new mufti plate clutch and it should go forever after that ? While it's apart.

Ecu cost sounds about right too.

Though the symptoms sound like it is the clutch, but that's a guess based on what I read, the ecu usually caused the prnds on the dash to flash.

That's the way my brothers went though the garage installed a brand new box for him because they won't repair it here at the dealers, lucky him bought it 2nd hand and 3 months later it dies, it made a banging sound and was loosing fluid and it reved as you were saying, sometimes on the open road the revs would increase for no reason at about 100 kph.

Worst part is labour.

Keep any repair work receipts for when it's sold. With the mileage of the repair.

Let us know how you get on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166 ✭✭emcor

Im the unfortunate owner of one of these bloody cars too. Symptom sounds like ECU. Mine is on its second box (220K) and 3rd ECU but 2004 model was a pure dog for these probs. Understand the newer models are not as prone to these failures.

Contrary to earlier post the ECU is external but box must be lowered and drained to get it out. ECU testing http://www.ecutesting.com will repair ECU, if beyond repair can replace. Replacement is STG400 plus VAT and deliverys. Repair is STG200 from memory. They provide a warranty too - just make sure if its to be replaced that the replacment unit is coded to vechicle. This needs someone with TEC7 diagnostic tools (dealers !) and will cost about €200. ECU Testing should be able provide one that does not need to be coded if do a bit of rooting (have engine number).

A good mechanic will be able to do this work. Use the opportunity to put new oil back into the box 5L and make sure its the right spec. If using VW/Audi oil this will cost about €100 but you can get oil that is same spec for 1/3 price.
    If you want specialist CVT box work done www.southsidegrarbox.ie are the people. As an FYI main dealers are using both ECU testing to supply repair/replacement units and southside for their 'specilist' work.

Should get back running sound enough for €600 (assuming repair). Have you had diagnostic done on car yet ? Also €4.5K for new box is the price. Use is as a learning experience. Get it going and get it gone !

The multitronics from 09 on are pretty bullet proof is haven't heard anything negative about them.

They really are a good box and suit diesels perfectly.

The newest change like a dsg also so you don't get the high rpm symptoms, though I'm not sure which models and versions have steps.

The multitronics from 09 on are pretty bullet proof is haven't heard anything negative about them.

They really are a good box and suit diesels perfectly.

The newest change like a dsg also so you don't get the high rpm symptoms, though I'm not sure which models and versions have steps.

Well the one giving trouble at work is an 09. Still not great. After "repair" is ssometimes jerky to engage reverse. .... does not inspire confidence. .

Ode To The Motorist

Well the one giving trouble at work is an 09. Still not great. After "repair" is someone's jerky to engage reverse. .... does not inspire confidence. .

Feck sake, I thought they were pretty damn solid these days. I wonder how common it is these days ?

Hey guys, the mother never did anything with this until this week. I advertised it for sale and someone rang me and began asking questions about the car. He asked if it drives ok in 'manual' which it does more or less, only with 7 gears, and he suggested the gearbox may be ok and it may just be a sensor issue. Could this be a possibility? He said he had a similar problem with his Golf and it was just the sensor on it.

Anyway I have 'suspended' the add and will bring it to my own mechanic tomorrow to get it checked again. I was just wondering what ye thought the possibility of this info being correct is. I mean your man had no reason to lie to me as it would only increase the value of the car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭peposhi

Did you get the gearbox sorted?

Sold it.