Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

McGrath: Abuse hurt Tipp players

• 17-01-2013 11:36am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 595 ✭✭✭

Are our GAA Players too soft? Shouldn't they be able to take a small bit of abuse, or is this a Tipperary issue with regards to the abuse Tipperary GAA fans give their own players?

McGrath: Abuse hurt Tipp players

By John Fogarty
    Thursday, January 17, 2013
    Shane McGrath has revealed the extent of the online abuse Tipperary players suffered following the county’s defeat to Kilkenny in last year’s All-Ireland semi-final.
    Lar Corbett was just one of a number of team members subjected to heavy criticism from people inside the county on Twitter and Facebook following the record 18-point loss.

"It was a tough time for everyone," recalled McGrath. "Some of the abuse that some of the players were getting, both on the social media and in the media or whatever was uncalled for.

"What’s the worst of it all is a lot of it was coming from our own people in Tipperary, and I just thought that was very bad form. We’re amateur players but we train like professionals. This is practically a professional organisation, the GAA."

McGrath couldn’t understand the abusive remarks given how much the players committed to the cause.

"We train very hard — six, seven times a week for maybe nine, 10 months of the year. We don’t go out to lose a game.

"The way the Kilkenny game panned out, none of us planned that — management or players. We couldn’t foresee it. That happens in sport. Teams go out and just don’t perform, and we didn’t perform."

Online criticism was the reason why Down forward John Clarke quit inter-county football in 2011.

"Players have to be mature," said McGrath of players using social media. "It works both ways, players have to be mature about what they say on it, and have to take what’s said to them on the chin, unfortunately."

McGrath recently returned home following a few months travelling the world. He believes it’s something every young inter-county player should experience, regardless of their onfield career.

"County minor stars nowadays, nine times out of 10 he’s going to be brought into a senior panel the following year, at 18-19 years of age. He’s not getting a chance to maybe go away and do the J1 or things like that for the summer, in America. I feel a young player should go away for a summer and just experience it."

From todays Irish Examiner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,907 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

They are amateur sportsmen. They don't make a living from their sport. If fair was fair there would'nt be a word about this. But with all the media outlets around now, someone is bound to start stirring the pot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,737 ✭✭✭Tombo2001

Are our GAA Players too soft? Shouldn't they be able to take a small bit of abuse, or is this a Tipperary issue with regards to the abuse Tipperary GAA fans give their own players?

A small bit of abuse? You are having a right laugh there.

The abuse players get on internet forums, including this one, is absolutely horrendous. Take Lar Corbett as a case in point. Scored one of the greatest goals ever seen in Croke Park in 2010. Completely forgotten two years later by his own supporters who lace into him like there's no tomorrow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 595 ✭✭✭cormac halpin

They are amateur sportsmen. They don't make a living from their sport. If fair was fair there would'nt be a word about this. But with all the media outlets around now, someone is bound to start stirring the pot.
    Are you saying if fair was fair, they'd get abuse and no one would comment on it? It seems as if the player himself seemed to have an issue with it, what was the journalist to do, ignore the quote?
    Tombo2001 wrote: »

The abuse players get on internet forums, including this one, is absolutely horrendous. Take Lar Corbett as a case in point. Scored one of the greatest goals ever seen in Croke Park in 2010. Completely forgotten two years later by his own supporters who lace into him like there's no tomorrow.
    Fair enough, you like the author of the article have chosen to single out two Tipperary players, is this just an issue with Tipperary people do you think?

I wouldnt say its a Tipperary issue by any stretch, but the abuse that Lar took was particularly bad.

And by the way, I'm from Meath......would be a complete neutral on this issue. But in a general sense, I'd be fairly strongly of the view that the all-Ireland hurling final is the greatest occasion in the Irish sporting calendar. And what makes it so great, more than anything else is the massive commitment that the players give, and the standards they have achieved as amateurs. So for fans who do no more than show up to watch a game, if even, to start whingeing and moaning that the players havent done enough.......

I wouldnt say its a Tipperary issue by any stretch, but the abuse that Lar took was particularly bad.

And by the way, I'm from Meath......would be a complete neutral on this issue.
    Never accused you of any bias my friend, all opinions welcomed, just find it strange that both you and the author singled in on Tipperary supporters, it does seem to have gotten out of hand down there in relation to Corbett and the defeat to Kilkenny last year. To be fair, I can understand the frustration with last year given the jokeshop scenario they were faced with on that day in Croke Park, but it wasn't the players fault, that much was obvious. Well obvious to me anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,619 ✭✭✭harpsman

Never accused you of any bias my friend, all opinions welcomed, just find it strange that both you and the author singled in on Tipperary supporters, it does seem to have gotten out of hand down there in relation to Corbett and the defeat to Kilkenny last year. To be fair, I can understand the frustration with last year given the jokeshop scenario they were faced with on that day in Croke Park, but it wasn't the players fault, that much was obvious. Well obvious to me anyway.
    youre the one who brought up those tipp players in your op- meathman was merely responding to your question-that is obvious,to me anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭davegrohl48

The problem is when people comment on motivation or personality of players.
    I don't think fans/players have any problem with comments around performance.

A popular offline comment that is funny in it's simplicity, this is nearly always in a pub from a heavy consumer of pints.
    "There wasn't wan o them could kick the ball over the f*ckin bar?".

They have no concept of how hard it is to score from beyond 35 yards in open play. It was always that way as well, it's not a recent thing. More difficult now due to the increase in defensive pressure.

harpsman wrote: »
    youre the one who brought up those tipp players in your op- meathman was merely responding to your question-that is obvious,to me anyway.
    I think you're wrong, I questioned what was in the article, I wasn't the originator of the thought. Then the previous poster referred to it also which gave me pause to think. That is all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,619 ✭✭✭harpsman

I think you're wrong, I questioned what was in the article, I wasn't the originator of the thought. Then the previous poster referred to it also which gave me pause to think. That is all.

harpsman wrote: »
    What is your own opinion on the matter? Is Why is it that Tipperary seems to prominent in this issue?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,845 ✭✭✭Hidalgo

Majority of the abuse that players come in for imo originates from 'fan's that go to very few games, usually saving themselves for Croke Park in August/September. The people who mightn't even turn on the TV if their county was on the box in a league game in Spring.

These people should simply be ignored by players, easy for some not so easy for others I'll admit. It can be especially hard when a players parents/wife/brothers & sisters are at a match and they have to listen to the abuse that their' son/husband etc is being subjected to.

The way some idiots go on at matches you'd swear that players go out with the intention of making mistakes and playing below par.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

Never accused you of any bias my friend, all opinions welcomed, just find it strange that both you and the author singled in on Tipperary supporters.

Imagine that, an article based on an interview with Shane Mc Grath from the Ballinahinch club in Tipperary focused in on Tipperary supporters :eek:

Similar issue's have arisen in Kerry football over the years, and in Cork hurling, and god help Brian Cody's successor when/if the AI's dry up - it's the price of sucess and tradition, supporters expect sucess, does'nt make it right obviously but its far from exclusive to Tipperary.

Hidalgo wrote: »
    Majority of the abuse that players come in for imo originates from 'fan's that go to very few games, usually saving themselves for Croke Park in August/September. The people who mightn't even turn on the TV if their county was on the box in a league game in Spring.

These people should simply be ignored by players, easy for some not so easy for others I'll admit. It can be especially hard when a players parents/wife/brothers & sisters are at a match and they have to listen to the abuse that their' son/husband etc is being subjected to.

The way some idiots go on at matches you'd swear that players go out with the intention of making mistakes and playing below par.

Why is abuse acceptable when its not warranted? Why should it be ignored? Why should a players family have to sit through it at a match? The GAA is taking in gazillions through these players. Is it too much to ask that the same players family can watch the game without being traumatized by the people around them?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 4,145 Mod ✭✭✭✭bruschi

The one thing I wonder, does it mean if they were being paid and professional that it is ok to abuse them then? Why should being amatuer be taken into account?

Players would be best off staying away from twitter and facebook and that, at least in the public sense. If they want to be like professionals and have themselves in the public eye, then they are going to be treated like professionals are who have to withstand the personal abuse that comes with that. You cant have it both ways, saying you are doing everything about being professional, but dont want abuse because you are amatuer.

My own opinion is I dont agree with the abuse, but then I dont generally agree with twitter and all that craic anyway. Giving an ordinary joe soap a platform to send you messages is not a good idea. Fair enough if you want to stay in touch with friends, but I'm not sure what you expect to happen if you are in the public eye.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,134 ✭✭✭Tom Joad

bruschi wrote: »
    The one thing I wonder, does it mean if they were being paid and professional that it is ok to abuse them then? Why should being amatuer be taken into account?

Players would be best off staying away from twitter and facebook and that, at least in the public sense. If they want to be like professionals and have themselves in the public eye, then they are going to be treated like professionals are who have to withstand the personal abuse that comes with that. You cant have it both ways, saying you are doing everything about being professional, but dont want abuse because you are amatuer.

My own opinion is I dont agree with the abuse, but then I dont generally agree with twitter and all that craic anyway. Giving an ordinary joe soap a platform to send you messages is not a good idea. Fair enough if you want to stay in touch with friends, but I'm not sure what you expect to happen if you are in the public eye.

Would agree with a lot of what you are saying Bruschi. don't like the idea of players putting themselves out there on twitter and facebook - if they do they are leaving themselves open for abouse and comment.

I think the bigger more sinister problem is the abuse that players get from online fora (not so much boards as it is properly moderated) from internet hardmen that are given a platform to say what they like with no fear of being called on it. We have a hint of it here with the hardmen that are slagging off Ciaran Kilkenny while hiding behind faceless identities on the internet but its tame compared to some of the other stuff out there. It happens at matches too where intercounty players in particular are singled out for vile abuse or if they are out and about on a Saturday night - its all faceless stuff and some players couldn't be bothered taking that amount of grief especially when it's an amateur sport.

I agree that being a professional doesn't make it ok to being abused but it makes it easier to keep yourself away from the crap - an amateur player still has to go to work, usually lives in the community he grew up in and is more accessible to people. A professional guy can generally take himself out of that situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,845 ✭✭✭Hidalgo

Why is abuse acceptable when its not warranted? Why should it be ignored? Why should a players family have to sit through it at a match? The GAA is taking in gazillions through these players. Is it too much to ask that the same players family can watch the game without being traumatized by the people around them?

Fair enough, then the the Gardai or stewards to remove the offenders from the ground. Is there enough stewards at certain league games to enact this policy?

Should the stewards be in charge of policing the terraces and stands up and down the country?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

This happens too often, I'm in the club scene and I've witnessed first hand supporters turning on the team and management, it can get ugly at times unfortunately.

The young lads need to be encouraged not abused, imo there's more AI's in this Tipp team. Obviously we were all very upset at what happened in Croke Park, it was of the worst days in living memory for us but that doesn't give anybody the right to attack them. Real supporters stand by their team through thick and thin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭dirtyden

I dont understand this thread. Has the thread starter not heard anyone else in the GAA complaining about socila media before? It is a pretty common complaint. It seems a little unusual to be trying to make this out to a Tipperary thing (bordering on trolling).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,101 ✭✭✭randd1

The Tipp players didn't exactly play well in the AISF, and lost to Kilkenny heavily. They are not the first to do that.

In the last 5 seasons, these Tipp players (most of them anyway) have won one league, lost 1 league final.
    They have won one AI title, and lost two finals, and reached the SF in the other two years.
    The have four Munster titles in 5 years.
    Had it not been for Kilkenny, they would have won more.

Any "fan" who feels the need to hurl abuse and threats at these players, despite all their efforts, and all their success, just because of one bad result against a team that handed out big beatings like confetti for years, in my view can't be really called a genuine Tipp "fan".

These so called "fans" would do well to remember what Tipp won in the previous 5 seasons to when these players first came together and started winning trophies before they start abusing the players.

I would also like to see these "fans" have the nerve to stop hiding behind twitter and facebook and say it the players face to face, particularly the bigger players. I suspect I'd be waiting a long time for that to happen.

dirtyden wrote: »
    I dont understand this thread. Has the thread starter not heard anyone else in the GAA complaining about socila media before? It is a pretty common complaint. It seems a little unusual to be trying to make this out to a Tipperary thing (bordering on trolling).

I think you understand it better than you realise den!

dirtyden wrote: »
    I was only pointing out the two instances mentioned were regarding Tipperary players and Tipperary fans. I must admit it shows the amount of lads who jumped in here without even reading it that no one brought up the fact that John Clarke was also mentioned, but there you go, thats the internet for you.

is this just an issue with Tipperary people do you think?
    What is your own opinion on the matter? Is Why is it that Tipperary seems to prominent in this issue?
    I was only pointing out the two instances mentioned were regarding Tipperary players and Tipperary fans. I must admit it shows the amount of lads who jumped in here without even reading it that no one brought up the fact that John Clarke was also mentioned, but there you go, thats the internet for you.

lol when you say the ''amount of lads who jumped'' are you talking exclusively about yourself or had you others in mind??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 646 ✭✭✭mccarthy37

Nobody has a right to abuse any player simply because they lost a game. Sadly this is not the case and it goes on in every county.
    In my own county of Waterford after a very heavy loss to Kilkenny I was in a pub in town and a player from the team was there having a quiet drink with his girlfriend when some smartarse's taught it might be funny to throw some smart comment's at him. You could see he was hurt and I felt embarrassed for him. What makes me laugh about this is if one of these fellows got a belt of a slioter
    in December they would probably think it was a snowball.
    Shane McGrath has every right to be angry at the abuse his teammates has received. They train very hard in all kinds of weather and never go out to lose a game and when they do it hurts them even more than the most loyal supporter.
    They don't even get paid for all the hours they put into the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

randd1 wrote: »
    The Tipp players didn't exactly play well in the AISF, and lost to Kilkenny heavily. They are not the first to do that.

In the last 5 seasons, these Tipp players (most of them anyway) have won one league, lost 1 league final.
    They have won one AI title, and lost two finals, and reached the SF in the other two years.
    The have four Munster titles in 5 years.
    Had it not been for Kilkenny, they would have won more.

Any "fan" who feels the need to hurl abuse and threats at these players, despite all their efforts, and all their success, just because of one bad result against a team that handed out big beatings like confetti for years, in my view can't be really called a genuine Tipp "fan".

These so called "fans" would do well to remember what Tipp won in the previous 5 seasons to when these players first came together and started winning trophies before they start abusing the players.

I would also like to see these "fans" have the nerve to stop hiding behind twitter and facebook and say it the players face to face, particularly the bigger players. I suspect I'd be waiting a long time for that to happen.

spot on, great post.

we have an awful habbit of s*iting on our own patches alot in this country, people are just waiting for others to fail and will let them know about it at the first hurdle.

selective yet short memories also ripe in this country.

lol when you say the ''amount of lads who jumped'' are you talking exclusively about yourself or had you others in mind??
    I find your attempts to deflect attention away from this sickening abuse from Tipperary people to Tipperary players quite amusing.
    spot on, great post.

we have an awful habbit of s*iting on our own patches alot in this country, people are just waiting for others to fail and will let them know about it at the first hurdle.

selective yet short memories also ripe in this country.

You're not wrong there. My sympathies are with Lar and Shane for what they've had to endure in Tipperary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 115 ✭✭micawber

I find your attempts to deflect attention away from this sickening abuse from Tipperary people to Tipperary players quite amusing.
    You seem to have a low opinion of Tipp supporters.

micawber wrote: »
    You seem to have a low opinion of Tipp supporters.
    Not in the slightest, but I do feel for the abuse Shane and Lar have obviously had to take. I don't believe I ever claimed to have any opinion on Tipperary supporters.

Not in the slightest? Really?
    If the Tipperary fans in 2011 and the Dublin fans in 2012 can be held back, and remember, both of these have some of the most knackery elements going

Not in the slightest? Really?
    Kudos sir, that is some impressive work.

I stand over it.

Kudo's sir, that is some impressive work.

I stand over it.
    You are being a naughty boy.
    Man up and start a thread giving out about Tipp supporters - you might however be better employed in finding out how to spell kudos.

You are being a naughty boy.
    Man up and start a thread giving out about Tipp supporters - you might however be better employed in finding out how to spell kudos.
    Naughty boy? :eek:

Wow, picking out spelling mistakes on the internet, impressive.

I should be careful however, this may be deemed as me being "uncivil" or "overly aggressive" so if you would wish to carry this on further, I am available in PM.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,616 ✭✭✭8k2q1gfcz9s5d4

I agree 100%. Its not only players though, Refs get huge amounts of abuse, Just look at the 2011 connaught club final thread on this site.

Where have I attempted to deflect attention away from the issue??

And well you know what they say about certain type of people been easily amused ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,461 ✭✭✭popebenny16

i think what happened to the tipp hurlers is that the weight of expectation heaped upon them was just too much after ending the drive for five.

there was also the under 21's winning so emphaticaly the same year, and the emotion that was generated when tipp lost the previous final. There was also the added pressure and expectation because it was such a long time since the last AI and everyone expected this team to win the 2012 Liam as well.

Add into the mix the wrong impression that was floating about that Kilkenny were, if not finished, certanly on a downward spiral, after the league defeat to dublin in 2011 and the Galway defeat in leinster 2012.

to go from that weight of expectation to such a massive defeat - and it could have been an even worse hiding than it was - was felt very badly and there was a lot of post mortums held down here, with lots of wild rumours, allegations and theorys being cooked up and spread about in what I was of the opinion was a big form of denial.

In the end Kilkenny do what they are very good at, they whipped themselves up for a spot of revenge. Any team which has beaten them gets it back in spades. Tipp failed to be ready for that.

I am not aware of any personal abuse to players, the only tipp player from my parish was a young sub and he was saying nothing apart form the line of how they will knuckle down and go for it this year. With a new managment team and perhaps the weight of expectation (Galway will get it now so lets see how they deal with it) off their shoulders perhaps they will be the best bet this year.

Where have I attempted to deflect attention away from the issue??

And well you know what they say about certain type of people been easily amused ;)
    What do they say?

Have a wee think about it for a few days, might keep your mind occupied and you won't have the urge to troll every thread you come across :p

Going to be like that eh. I won't give it a second thought.

Most of the people who 'lace' into him as you say are not true supporters. In fact i believe some of the idiots who posted sh*t on his facebook wall, dont actually attend matches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,789 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

Most of the people who 'lace' into him as you say are not true supporters. In fact i believe some of the idiots who posted sh*t on his facebook wall, dont actually attend matches.

Part of the problem is people fobbing it off as "not real supporters" so not something we don't actually have to be worried about and as "real" fans are blameless in.

They're all supporters, some of them are just horrible pricks.