Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How cold are your balls ? (Cold Weather)

• 16-01-2013 01:34PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,447 ✭✭✭✭

Anybody facing the wind , rain and sub 5 deg. Cel. ?

Was out today , not too bad, had all the gear , got lined trousers , make a big improvement on not feeling cold.

Played well enough but. The cup of tea after is great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

Cold and wind doesn't bother me, but add in the rain and it can get miserable.
    Wet gear is a must but a good base layer is worth its weight in gold.
    I picked up an Under Armour roll neck in TKmax for €20 and you can play in freezing conditions with just a jumper on above it. Nothing worse than having too many layers on and although you're warm and dry, it can feel like you're the Michelin Man while swinging.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,858 ✭✭✭Golfgraffix

Played the links today and for the. 1st time in ages I really felt the cold. Just couldn't get any sort of swing going. 3.55 for a 4 ball was a blessing though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Benny Cake

Played kileen castle in the bitter cold over Xmas, there was a complimentary mug of soup at the tenth tee. 'twas the most satisfying beverage I've ever had, I hit my drive about 800 yards after it....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,599 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

it was cold today alright. went out and played 6 holes today. Ball was going nowhere in the cold air, especially into the wind

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,447 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Yes was tough today, another 30 mins it would be the headache time.

As said by Senna cold is grand, but cold rain is a new one for me. Only my 2nd year at this winter laugh.

Good going 3:55 out there Golfgrafix , it was windy too.

all next week sub 5 deg.
    In fact could be course closures due to frost.

all next week sub 5 deg.
    In fact could be course closures due to frost.

Hope not - really dont want to have to extend the winter league :)

it was cold today alright. went out and played 6 holes today. Ball was going nowhere in the cold air, especially into the wind

Try east coast wind.

Don't want this to be like the fisherman tale

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭Pilsbury Doughboy

Senna wrote: »
    Cold and wind doesn't bother me, but add in the rain and it can get miserable.
    Wet gear is a must but a good base layer is worth its weight in gold.
    I picked up an Under Armour roll neck in TKmax for €20 and you can play in freezing conditions with just a jumper on above it. Nothing worse than having too many layers on and although you're warm and dry, it can feel like you're the Michelin Man while swinging.

I agree entirely, I hate having too man layers on , I need to look into getting some proper gear for playing in bad weather, fack knows I'll need it, I'm still waiting on last years summer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭Finlay Harp

Ardglass was a disaster today. Driving wind and sleet. Grim!

Athlone was gorgeous. Only played 8, but had a bangin time! :D

Why only 8? Did you start off at the 2nd or something!:D

Heh. Athlone is one of those courses where the 9th green isnt by the clubhouse. Walking off the 8th green gets you kind of close :)

9th green not near the clubhouse? What the dickens is going on!

sure in Athlone, you don't know what county you are in, never mind what hole. ;)

There is a place in County Athlone, where you can see 22 counties at once, or could be 8.

As they say in Dublin "Go home to Athlone on your own". :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭ForeRight

Played Killeen castle today. It was the perfect day bar a slight hazy rain for about ten minutes.
    Actually in a t shirt believe it or not whrn the sun came out for half an hour.

ForeRight wrote: »
    Played Killeen castle today. It was the perfect day bar a slight hazy rain for about ten minutes.
    Actually in a t shirt believe it or not whrn the sun came out for half an hour.

Foreright - you only play the good ones.
    Fridge is ****ed again. (time for a new one, must be control system or thermocouple) Warmer inside fridge than house - Answer open fridge door.
    No golf for me Friday then - all ****ing fridge work. :cool:

Foreright - you only play the good ones.
    Fridge is ****ed again. (time for a new one, must be control system or thermocouple) Warmer inside fridge than house - Answer open fridge door.
    No golf for me Friday then - all ****ing fridge work. :cool:

In fabulous condition today I must say.

Trip to Kerry coming up soon. I know I have choices galore with great clubs but which would you chose if you were playing just one?

In fabulous condition today I must say.

Trip to Kerry coming up soon. I know I have choices galore with great clubs but which would you chose if you were playing just one?

The course I have not found and never will - the story of my life. ;)

Hopefully, I'm happy with one at some stage. I was amazed with The Island and Co. Louth so far. Mt Juilet and Enniscrone too. I've 30 more i need to do - mostly links.

I'd say Enniscrone so far.

"Cast a cold eye, on life, on death, horseman pass by !"

Any chance of a burger first.

I'd absolutely love to play the island but its always far too dear.

It's 100 on golfnow at the moment for feck sake.

Might try get out on Ballybunnion, Waterville, dooks or Killarney but do t know which to go for. I've never played any of them.

Never played golf in Kerry - always doing family or Dingle or Fungi stuff.

Will do at some stage , 4 days play them all. Sorry , jaysus way off thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭onlyfinewine

Waterville is 70 plus, Ballybunnion is a little more, Killarney Kileens is about 50 and Mahony's Point is about 40 while Dooks is about 60. If you are in Dingle Ceann Sibeal is a fine links and probably about 30 Euro (A bargain imo).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭onlyfinewine

The course I have not found and never will - the story of my life. ;)

Hopefully, I'm happy with one at some stage. I was amazed with The Island and Co. Louth so far. Mt Juilet and Enniscrone too. I've 30 more i need to do - mostly links.

I'd say Enniscrone so far.

"Cast a cold eye, on life, on death, horseman pass by !"

Any chance of a burger first.

I wouldn't bet on it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,235 ✭✭✭Dr_Colossus

How much was Killeen Castle to play out of interest? Never played any of the above so can't help you with recommendations but they all sound expensive. Hoping to add Killeen Castle to the list this year and maybe The Island if they ever put on a scratch cup or open competition.

Today.

Ok if anyone is out there now on east coast, they win this.

Range for me, fridge fixed :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,091 ✭✭✭Peterdalkey

Tralee, which is in Fenit, is probably one of the most under-rated courses in Ireland. A stunning links layout with one great hole followed by the next. The yanks tend to ignore it because it was designed by Arnold Palmer, " we can play Arnie courses at home!" Ballybunnion is great and the second course the Cashin is tougher than the old course, but if I could only play one, I would choose Tralee.

Cheers

Peter

Lads, you make it sound like I need a week down there.

Me to wife, "Do you know the kids have not seen Fungi yet".

Lads, you make it sound like I need a week down there.

Me to wife, "Do you know the kids have not seen Fungi yet".

Come on down with me my Internet friend.
    We can golf our balls off and be really awkward talking to each other for 2 days.

Come on down with me my Internet friend.
    We can golf our balls off and be really awkward talking to each other for 2 days.

Yes that is when it gets weird on here.

"I know nothing about you, So what do you do "

"Drug Dealer" :eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek:

Sorry lads what is the topic - weather.

Yes that is when it gets weird on here.

"I know nothing about you, So what do you do "

"Drug Dealer" :eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek:

Sorry lads what is the topic - weather.

Speaking of drugs.

Looks like snow out there.

Brrrrr, blowing a gale and a bit of sleet, not exactly good golfing weather here in Louth!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 253 ✭✭padzer

Supposed to be playing Elmgreen in the morning. Fingers crossed its open, i would imagine a lot of places will be closed.

Amazed if anything open. Even driving a car on m7 was a bit mental. Flooded courses with 1 deg .

Brrrrr, blowing a gale and a bit of sleet, not exactly good golfing weather here in Louth!

Played a sneaky 8 holes in athlone this afternoon... It was gorgeous out there!

Anybody out in that.

Thinking about it in a.m. But that cold and wind on coast could be evil.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

I was just at the putting green and it was freezing. Despite multiple layers I had go after 45 mins it was just too cold!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 539 ✭✭✭Shakey_jake

Played Corballis yesterday, freezing, very bloody windy and some sleet thrown in for good measure.

Played some holes well, others eh not so well!!

A proper test

I swear lads - "me" head was like a Monkey's Arse after 18 on the east coast today. :o:o:o:o

Had
    Two pairs of Socks - one long
    Long Johns
    Trousers
    Under Armour
    Golf Top
    Thermal Top
    Wind Breaker
    Hat (double Lined)
    Glove
    Mittens.

Played well - ran a little between holes - only 8 people on the course.

After, was thinking - should I have had a balaclava on - this is normal wear in certain parts of North Dublin - but have you ever put one on on a golf course ?

Anyway - my night Clarins for Men now. Will look 3 years younger in morning.

Mt Juilet next - hope weather is ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 935 ✭✭✭pinkdoubleeagle

I swear lads - "me" head was like a Monkey's Arse after 18 on the east coast today. :o:o:o:o

Had
    Two pairs of Socks - one long
    Long Johns
    Trousers
    Under Armour
    Golf Top
    Thermal Top
    Wind Breaker
    Hat (double Lined)
    Glove
    Mittens.

Played well - ran a little between holes - only 8 people on the course.

After, was thinking - should I have had a balaclava on - this is normal wear in certain parts of North Dublin - but have you ever put one on on a golf course ?

Anyway - my night Clarins for Men now. Will look 3 years younger in morning.

Mt Juilet next - hope weather is ok.

Bought a snood over the weekend in Lifestyle Sports. Wore it on Sunday and would highly recommend it. It Cost a Tenner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 253 ✭✭padzer

Santa brought me a Zippo handwarmer....probably the best piece of kit i have ever had. Top it up with lighter fluid for about 6 hours of heat, proper heat unlike those handwarmers that look like teabags. Throw it into a mitten and its like an oven.

Unfortunately a few weeks ago i lost that oven on the course and im sure somebody thought it was their birthday and never handed it in. Was a costly mistake as the replacement cost me €20 and another €25 for new mittens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 186 ✭✭gymman39

played in esker hills with my brother yesterday...lets just say it took 6 hours to thaw out ha ha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,632 ✭✭✭Benicetomonty

Played the Monty in Carton yesterday, bitterly cold. With as many layers or more than FDP! Also incorporated my scarf, and was glad to have it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 935 ✭✭✭pinkdoubleeagle

Played the Monty in Carton yesterday, bitterly cold. With as many layers or more than FDP! Also incorporated my scarf, and was glad to have it.

How did you get on?