Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Work Commute

• 15-01-2013 10:49pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 146 ✭✭

I am just wondering what sort of distance people commute to work, for me to get to work its about 45km away and I dont feel I have the strength to drag myself from bed at 5.30am to cycle into work and then try work a 9/10 hour day.

Does anyone else have any other ideas or suggestions as I would love to cycle some of the way and then get public transport possibly, is there anyone else who does this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 377 ✭✭Jocry

My commute is just shy of 16km one way which takes approximately 45mins and its perfect for me as Im only starting however 45km seems a hell of a distance. Do you have a car? If so you could get a bike rack for it, drive some of the way and cycle the rest? Just my two cents :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭colm_gti

I do a ~55km round trip commute three days a week, roughly 60 minutes each way, quicker than a bus and less hassle than looking for car parking in UCD...if it was any longer I'd probably drive to within a 30km cycle and leave the car there for the day. Is that an option for you?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Currently only 2.8k each way. I miss the longer commute even if I can now leave at 8:50

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,852 ✭✭✭✭tomasrojo

If there were suitable public transport and you had a Brompton or some other compact folding bike, you could cycle a good bit, but use a bus or train to knock 25km or so off each leg. 20km each way is good exercise that shouldn't leave you too exhausted to work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,440 ✭✭✭cdaly_

Alternatively, try cycling in one day, bus/car home. Bus/car in next day and cycle home again. Do that once a week to start and see do you feel like building it up to twice a week or more.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,227 ✭✭✭rp

I do 25km each way, and that is a nice sustainable distance, 40mins on a good day, 1hr+ with a headwind, knackered, unlucky lights; I did a 32km commute for six months, but found that hard to keep up (disclaimer; I'm old-ish...).
    Move house/job/school to a more reasonable distance would be my preference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,499 ✭✭✭Seweryn

My commute is about 52 - 60km+ (depends on the return route taken) round trip.

I would probably try to move my house or my destination if that distance is much disturbed, as cycling to work is a very important part of my every day life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 146 ✭✭WilkBMC

My round trip from home to work would be min 90km which I dont think is suistainable at this stage because certain days I have to work a 12-13hr day.

I like the idea of either cycling to a location locking the bike away and then getting public transport the rest of the way but I will have to check my times into town to see how realistic it is, I think I could comfotably get into dublin (25+km) in a hour and then get the train across to maynooth or maybe find a location where I can park my car half way and cycle the rest but I need to think that through so I am not paying for parking.

Thanks for the input :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,460 ✭✭✭lennymc

my commute round trip is circa 105 - 120 KMs (depending on route taken). I dont do it every day, and I dont generally do it if its icy out. try to do twice a week, but will be pushing that up to three times a week once the frosty weather is gone. its a good oul spin, but its doable in about 2 hours. Practical tips include
    prepare everything you need the night before.
    Leave what you can in work (shower gel, deoderant, shoes, jacket, clothes if possible etc)
    Get good lights!
    Make sure you are seen.
    Make sure your bike is in good mechanical order (chain, tyres, deraileurs etc). You dont want to be caught out half way between work and home
    Eat properly the night before and bring enough food and water with you for your journey. I normally carry a couple of bars and gels on the commute, but dont allways eat them. Sometimes tho, I am glad of them.

WHen I started I used to just do one way, and leave the bike in work overnight. Is that an option for you? Cycle in one day, and home another day?

lennymc wrote: »
    my commute round trip is circa 105 - 120 KMs (depending on route taken). I dont do it every day, and I dont generally do it if its icy out. try to do twice a week, but will be pushing that up to three times a week once the frosty weather is gone. its a good oul spin, but its doable in about 2 hours. Practical tips include
    prepare everything you need the night before.
    Leave what you can in work (shower gel, deoderant, shoes, jacket, clothes if possible etc)
    Get good lights!
    Make sure you are seen.
    Make sure your bike is in good mechanical order (chain, tyres, deraileurs etc). You dont want to be caught out half way between work and home
    Eat properly the night before and bring enough food and water with you for your journey. I normally carry a couple of bars and gels on the commute, but dont allways eat them. Sometimes tho, I am glad of them.

WHen I started I used to just do one way, and leave the bike in work overnight. Is that an option for you? Cycle in one day, and home another day?

Fair play, Thats great advice I think I will do some small steps first as getting up 2 hours in advance to going to work will break my heart fairly fast I think :D.

With going one way, I had thought that threw but its nearly a two hour journey by public transport which is nearly as long as the cycle out would be and it also the main reason I drive to work (45-50mins one way).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

45/50 minute drive is really your obstacle here - it's far more difficult to jump on the bike for a commute when the drive is going to be significantly easier. On the bike you're going to be at least 90 minutes getting in, then you've to hop into a "public" shower (or baby wipe down!) and go get breakfast in the canteen. Compared to showering & eating in the comfort of your home before driving into work, the choice is obvious.

As much as any of us here leave cycling, I think I can count on both hands the number of posters who would opt for a 2 hour cycling commute over a 45 minute drive more than once a week. Even at that, you will start to find excuses to not cycle on your one day per week - raining, windy, too cold, tired, mechanical issues, etc.

I think a good idea is trying to use the bike to cut out the most irritating part of your journey by driving halfway, parking and cycling the rest. Then you may be able to make some time savings on the commute without struggling to convince yourself to get on the bike.

seamus wrote: »
    45/50 minute drive is really your obstacle here - it's far more difficult to jump on the bike for a commute when the drive is going to be significantly easier. On the bike you're going to be at least 90 minutes getting in, then you've to hop into a "public" shower (or baby wipe down!) and go get breakfast in the canteen. Compared to showering & eating in the comfort of your home before driving into work, the choice is obvious.

As much as any of us here leave cycling, I think I can count on both hands the number of posters who would opt for a 2 hour cycling commute over a 45 minute drive more than once a week. Even at that, you will start to find excuses to not cycle on your one day per week - raining, windy, too cold, tired, mechanical issues, etc.

I think a good idea is trying to use the bike to cut out the most irritating part of your journey by driving halfway, parking and cycling the rest. Then you may be able to make some time savings on the commute without struggling to convince yourself to get on the bike.

Thats exactly what I am thinking, and thats my plan for the next while :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,618 ✭✭✭Civilian_Target

Mine's 17km, entirely urban / suburban, and I feel that's the max I can handle on a daily basis. Anything more than 45 minutes each way is going to destroy your day. I used to do 26km each way, with a category 4 climb in it, and if I did it 5 days a week, I would be like a zombie - so I usually limited it to 3 times a week.

another thing that I find helps massively on the commute is if you can find some other nutter like minded cyclist to join you on your commute. Helps to pass the time. Also, if possible, mix up your commute a bit - take different roads and routes etc.

Also, if possible, mix up your commute a bit - take different roads and routes etc.
    That is a very valid point. I never cycle all week the same way. Changing routes makes it more exciting.

No way I would be able to find another eedjit guy like me to cycle in the morning together, but it would be very nice to have company on your commute :). Good point.

fortunately I have one or two like minded eejits people I can cycle in or out with most days. Some days, when I'm on my own i bring a radio.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 285 ✭✭lisaj

Mine is 47k each way. I did it twice last summer for the Craic, and once with a lift half way. I'm looking forward to the longer days to give it a go again as cycling in the dark where I live and on certain sections of the route really isn't an option.
    Give it a go, you'll be surprised at yourself. If you're not used to cycling long distances I would suggest doing it on a Friday!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭colm_gti

fortunately I have one or two like minded eejits people I can cycle in or out with most days. Some days, when I'm on my own i bring a radio.

Lenny....stopped for a short breather on his way to work....

pimped-bike.jpg

ye gotta have the choons pumpin' man!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,040 ✭✭✭Colonel Panic

I commute 6.5 KM each way and do it in about 20 mins. I am lucky enough to have a shower in the office, although during the colder months, it's not as much of an issue.

You are a very lucky creature :D. Shower... I can only dream about.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

I do 5k each way and there are showers here too. Still, I prefer to shower before I leave. Maybe when it's warmer I'll shower in here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,036 ✭✭✭Surveyor11

Just shy of 20k each way, part country roads and suburban. My route back from work takes me to two climbs, tinkers hill or somerton lane, helps in keeping the ole legs going anyway

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 8,766 Mod ✭✭✭✭mossym

i'd have an 80k round trip. luckily my wife works a mile up the road so we can drive in together and i can spin home on the bike.

never done it yet, but it's going to be done once or twice a week for the summer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,038 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

Get good lights!
    ....and for a long winter commute you will need batteries which will last for 3 to 4 hours.

Powerful front lights tend to discharge fairly quickly. Ensure you get one which is chargeable at work via a USB to a computer (if you use one) or via a USB wall socket adapter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,038 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

mossym wrote: »
    luckily my wife works a mile up the road so we can drive in together and i can spin home on the bike
    You should cycle in and out and could get her to drive behind you with water bottles and food and spare wheels on the roof. You'll look awesome! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭t'bear

Just short of 20km each way for me. I have gotten so used to cycling in the dark that a Saturday spin is just blissful - Look I can see the trees!! On a rainy day I take my 15k route home (dont know why - wet either way :-)). I plan to mix it up a bit when clocks spring forward -adding another 10 or 15k on at least the inward or outward piece.

lisaj wrote: »
    I'm looking forward to the longer days to give it a go again as cycling in the dark where I live and on certain sections of the route really isn't an option.
    Why is it not an option? Maybe you just need better lights?