Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

More country folk leaving for oz,canada etc than Dubs

• 14-01-2013 2:50pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16

Recent poll results suggest alot more youth from counties outside the capital are emmigrating than Dubs..Is this due to alot more oppurtunities and better quality of life in Dublin or is it just alot more people from the country like travelling and dubs are homebirds?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 244 ✭✭K3lso

Recent poll results suggest alot more youth from counties outside the capital are emmigrating than Dubs..Is this due to alot more oppurtunities and better quality of life in Dublin or is it just alot more people from the country like travelling and dubs are homebirds?

I'm a Dub and I'm not a homebird.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,516 ✭✭✭Outkast_IRE

Its more due to the fact at this stage if you go to many smaller towns, alot of the youth left, most of their friends are gone , seem to be getting on well and generally have a better standard of life than here, so this prompts them to follow suit.
    Also alot of the country lads would know how to operate some farm machinery which is an advantage.

Put it this way, at this stage now in terms of youth employment there are practically no apprenticeships going, no real good jobs without college education...... im sure most are sick of sitting around not working now so best of luck to them heading off for a few years.

Others have solid work but just want to travel so if you have a few friends out there you might as well go .

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 603 ✭✭✭Yellowblackbird

dubs have been surrounded by herds of Alots. And there's no way out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 244 ✭✭K3lso

pabloh999 wrote: »
    Or, Dublin is a half decent city with great nightlife. Sure look at all the country folk that move here

LMFAO

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,065 ✭✭✭leonidas83

I wouldnt say there is a better quality of life in Dublin but I definitely think there is more opportunities there. Also there is the added benefit of having a home to go should things get a little bit rough for Dubs. Alot of them are still living at home especially those in their early to mid twenties.
    When a person from the country is living up there they might aswell be in another country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 904 ✭✭✭Drakares

pabloh999 wrote: »
    Or, Dublin is a half decent city with great nightlife. Sure look at all the country folk that move here

Night life is overpriced and awful in comparison to all other capital cities I've been to.

And any housing estates around surrounding counties are infested with Dubs who wanted to live in greener places for cheaper.

I still don't know which sentence is more hilariously warped. Almost inversely!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,267 ✭✭✭Elessar

I'd say it has something to do with the large disparity of jobs in this country. Of the jobs that are available, the vast majority are in Dublin or surrounding counties. Plus the fact that a huge number of young people over the last decade left school and did not go on to third level, instead got a trade and worked in construction. A lot of these would be ill-equipped, unable or not interested in going back to education so they have no choice but to leave to find work and go where everyone else seems to be going - Australia.

Add to this that the quality of life over there is very good. A recent quote from a friend of mine on facebook, who is in Perth:
    In OZ almost 3 months now,can honestly say best move ever,plenty of work,savage weather an deadly beaches sure what more wud a chap want happy as a pig in s###e : )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,586 ✭✭✭sock puppet

Drakares wrote: »
    Night life is overpriced and awful in comparison to all other capital cities I've been to.

And any housing estates around surrounding counties are infested with Dubs who wanted to live in greener places for cheaper.

I still don't know which sentence is more hilariously warped. Almost inversely!

I honestly can't imagine why anyone would want to live in say Meath over West Dublin if working in Dublin. It can hardly be termed "green" and adds to your commute significantly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,708 ✭✭✭curlzy

EVERYONE is leaving and it's because Ireland is full of moans who won't stand up for themselves besides the odd rant while watching the banks, politicians et al f*ck them over royally. I would move too but I enjoy the moaning.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16 juiceking91

Bambi wrote: »
    Because boggers look more like munchkins than dubs, they'll fit in better in oz

was in oz myself not hard to spot a bogger on the beach...

the 3/4 length shorts,cheap runners from the 80's,gaa jersey,big cherry face burnt to a crisp and a general tick confused head not being able to absorb everything that is going on around them gives it away

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 516 ✭✭✭pabloh999

K3lso wrote: »
    LMFAO

Ah there is! Granted closing times are pretty ridiculous but there is a great selection and huge variety of places to go at night

Elessar wrote: »
    I'd say it has something to do with the large disparity of jobs in this country. Of the jobs that are available, the vast majority are in Dublin or surrounding counties. Plus the fact that a huge number of young people over the last decade left school and did not go on to third level, instead got a trade and worked in construction. A lot of these would be ill-equipped, unable or not interested in going back to education so they have no choice but to leave to find work and go where everyone else seems to be going - Australia.

Add to this that the quality of life over there is very good. A recent quote from a friend of mine on facebook, who is in Perth:

I was in perth aswell had good time but didn't post it all over facebook

your friend sounds like a bit of a twat

a bit of sun and a beach and its the best time of his life sounds like he didn't have much of a life before going too oz

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,120 ✭✭✭justshane

was in oz myself not hard to spot a bogger on the beach...

the 3/4 length shorts,cheap runners from the 80's,gaa jersey,big cherry face burnt to a crisp and a general tick confused head not being able to absorb everything that is going on around them gives it away

Sure you did...:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

Rural Ireland has become an employment wasteland. Due to the concentration of industry in Dublin it's less of an issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,267 ✭✭✭Elessar

I was in perth aswell had good time but didn't post it all over facebook

your friend sounds like a bit of a twat

a bit of sun and a beach and its the best time of his life sounds like he didn't have much of a life but going oz

That's the point. He didn't. No work, as a carpenter. Just the dole queue. Lived in a rural community. I'm happy for him!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 560 ✭✭✭andrew241983

It is because Dubs are too thick to realise they are living in a ****hole.

here fishy fishy!!!!

justshane wrote: »
    Sure you did...:rolleyes:

sure i did what?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,362 ✭✭✭Sergeant

Culchies VS Dubs.

New to After Hours for 2013.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭griffdaddy

It is because Dubs are too thick to realise they are living in a ****hole.

You've got me there. I've never felt anything as intense as the seething jealousy I experience when driving through Mullingar, Dundalk or PortLaoise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 112 ✭✭redappple

I've moved to Dublin from Co. Limerick over three years ago for work and I have to say I love living in Dublin.

Most of my close friends have emigrated to London, Australia and Canada. The cities outside of Dublin offer very little in terms of employment, and many country folk have a bad attitude towards Dublin, for example 'Oh any time I go up to Dublin I don't enjoy it' and so decide if they have to move away from home for work, may as well make a right go of it and travel to more exotic isles!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

I was going to clean up this thread and we could start again but i can't be arsed.

I'm sick to the teeth of this Dublin v The Country bullshit.