Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Heritage

• 14-01-2013 2:16pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭

Just got this email from The Heritage if anyone is interested

HERITAGE.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 812 ✭✭✭For Paws

Full Membership (Men) €900 for 2013 + GUI fee.

No Entrance Fee.

Is this place owned by NAMA ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 366 ✭✭sodbuster77

For Paws wrote: »
    Full Membership (Men) €900 for 2013 + GUI fee.

No Entrance Fee.

Is this place owned by NAMA ?

Jaysus don't mention the war!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,197 ✭✭✭bailey99

would imagine this will be wide open to abuse. Fellas taking a free round of golf with little if any intention of joining???? How likely is that would one think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭Miley Byrne

bailey99 wrote: »
    would imagine this will be wide open to abuse. Fellas taking a free round of golf with little if any intention of joining???? How likely is that would one think?

Well I know that if I lived near it I'd take the free round no problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 639 ✭✭✭Arsenium

Extremely likely. And I am sure they are well aware of it. Banking on maybe people having a meal / drink afterwards. And who knows...if they present the place well enough they may get some people who are on the verge of joining a club to take a leap.

Free round at the Heritage...hmmm..tempting isnt it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭Pilsbury Doughboy

I'm thinking of travelling to this course soon lads, would ye recommend it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,017 ✭✭✭Leslie91

I'm thinking of travelling to this course soon lads, would ye recommend it?

If you're a decent player you'll enjoy it, if you are wayward you won't. Far too tight for me. I was in water all day.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,268 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

i have played it 5 times in the last 2 years and love it. Am a high handicapper as well. It takes at least 2 rounds to really enjoy it though. Too many bunkers on some holes.

Cheers lads, sounds tough , tight and lots of bunkers, not a great combo, but then again I don't mind a challenge.

Leslie are you a decent player? When you say tight, how tight(tough to judge I know) but were you spraying your drives or just slightly wayward?

I ain't a member anywhere so no handicap, my last was round was an 80 in Hollywood Lakes in anyone knows it? I'd guess I'm a 10-15 handicapper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,188 ✭✭✭Dr_Colossus

Cheers lads, sounds tough , tight and lots of bunkers, not a great combo, but then again I don't mind a challenge.

I wouldn't have described it as tight, it's long with good strategic use of water with plenty of bail out room avoiding the water that will further lengthen the holes. There are very few trees in play on the course which is somewhat unusual for a parkland so bunkers and water hazards are the course's main defense. There's a very good course view/stroke saver on their website so check that out before playing to devise the best strategy for your game.

The bunkers in particular have suffered over the past couple of years due to the maintenance required to upkeep their number and irregular shapes. Probably best to play rake and place in the bunkers unless advised otherwise that they're out of play. Other than that it's a great course and one I always enjoy playing, it's just a pity it's so far away in terms of being a membership consideration.

I wouldn't have described it as tight, it's long with good strategic use of water with plenty of bail out room avoiding the water that will further lengthen the holes. There are very few trees in play on the course which is somewhat unusual for a parkland so bunkers and water hazards are the course's main defense. There's a very good course view/stroke saver on their website so check that out before playing to devise the best strategy for your game.

The bunkers in particular have suffered over the past couple of years due to the maintenance required to upkeep their number and irregular shapes. Probably best to play rake and place in the bunkers unless advised otherwise that they're out of play. Other than that it's a great course and one I always enjoy playing, it's just a pity it's so far away in terms of being a membership consideration.

Thanks for that I was hoping someone would say it wasn't that tight, like the fact not many trees on it either, that's a plus point for me!

There's a very good course view/stroke saver on their website so check that out before playing to devise the best strategy for your game.

Yeah just had a look at that,very good, the course looks open enough, plenty of water and bunkers! Will deffo play it.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 19,473 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

I think that flyer is already achieving it's purpose!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 348 ✭✭kyleman

NAMA will be very happy!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,197 ✭✭✭bailey99

playing the heritage on Friday morning. Anyone played recently and if so, what's the condition of the greens, bunkers and the place in general? Any feedback much appreciated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,107 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

playing the heritage on Friday morning. Anyone played recently and if so, what's the condition of the greens, bunkers and the place in general? Any feedback much appreciated.

I'm playing society there tommorrow. I'll let you know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,107 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

Played there today. It was tough with the wind. The greens are in incredible condition for march. The course is in great condition.