Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

5341 Zetor Tractor - advise needed

• 13-01-2013 9:20pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4

I am looking at buying a 2002 5341 Zetor Tractor, with a Tanko 220 loader.
    Would ye think the tractor would be suitable for drawing sileage bales...or what would ye think of them...I would be handling approx 300 bales in the year.....
    Would appreciate any advise....thanks..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

Massey is classy, but Zetor is better

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

I am looking at buying a 2002 5341 Zetor Tractor, with a Tanko 220 loader.
    Would ye think the tractor would be suitable for drawing sileage bales...or what would ye think of them...I would be handling approx 300 bales in the year.....
    Would appreciate any advise....thanks..

We had a 5340 which must be fairly similar. Good tractor possibly a bit light. Our had trima loader and worked grand but you would want good weight on back. One time I had a bale on loader and once on back. I dropped the bale on the back first and the whole tractor tipped forward! I'd say it would be fine for what you want

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 farmer barney

anybody else out there with n opinion.....my head is wrecked about what is the right thing to do...
    it is a big disastrous outlay if I buy something like an unsuitable tractor....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 574 ✭✭✭ZETOR_IS_BETTER

How many bales will you be drawing and how far is the draw?

the draw is only abt haf mile into the yard. I.ll be drawing/feeding abt 300 a year into sucklers...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 155 ✭✭hoseman

Parts are cheap compared to other makes,had one,the dealer is a gentleman to deal with,have up graded since to a Proxima 7441,huge difference between the two.Consider Zetor value for money,their trade value might not be as high.

You should be fine with the tractor. Good luck with your prchase :)

Had a similar one myself with a loader. Was a great yard tractor never did anything to it.
    As hoseman said the proxima version have come on a fair bit since then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

Would it not be easier draw the bales with a bale trailer? The one with the round bars on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,722 ✭✭✭maidhc

Had a 6340. Brilliant tractor let down by horrendous brakes and an annoying hand clutch PTO. I think the 5341 had proper wet brakes though.

Hi lads, OP here again...wt wd ye think of a 6341 Zetor....think I.v found one in/round the same price for the
    other one I asked ye abt...tks in advance...

Hi lads, OP here again...wt wd ye think of a 6341 Zetor....think I.v found one in/round the same price for the
    other one I asked ye abt...tks in advance...

Actually had one of those a few years ago. Put a trima loader on it. I think they are 65hp.
    Used it for yard work, bedding sheds, fertiliser, topping and drawing in the straw.
    Didnt do any heavy work as one would say but she never left me down.

Also you were wondering about loader work. Every season worked with 600-700 bales of silage and never felt the bale was pushing it about with a decent weight on the back.