Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Complicated Situation

• 13-01-2013 8:54pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

Hey lads,

I've been going out with this girl for about six months now. She's absolutely fabulous, and we're more like best friends with benefits than girlfriend and boyfriend (I mean that in the best possible sense)

Anyways not to bore ye, there's a good chance I might be heading off to France working for the summer. I'm doing it in college at the moment and there's very little chance of getting it here with no previous proper work experience, not being able to work permanent full-time blah blah. This is a fantastic opportunity to earn some decent money, not be a sponge and improve myself, my CV and my French.

She's doing her Leaving this year, and obviously our relationship's going to have a strain put on it; also I have to study abroad as part of my course in two years time, while in her course she intends to do (and will comfortably get) she'll be on work placements during the summer. If I go away I won't be there while she does her exams, I'll miss her birthday, and potentially her debs (Though I'll move heaven and earth and save up a ton in order to make that).

I found it difficult at the start adjusting from not seeing her every two/three days to seeing her once a week, possibly once every two weeks. Even though I've gotten used to the routine of it, it's still very difficult, and I have times where I get very down from missing her.

I've gone out with people before and in past relationships this would have been an easy decision of just breaking up and saving the hassle of it all, but this is a little different to past ones. I've never been as secure and happy and comfortable with someone, and I see some serious potential in this relationship, it just seems absolutely mad for me to throw that all away.

We've discussed it, the problems we both feel and she's said from the start even though she'd be devistated if I went, she feels it's too good an opportunity to pass up, and also she doesn't want to force me to stay here and then possibly go herself for her placement. We've both been totally honest with each other (as we always are) and even though we both feel anything's better than breaking up, we both fear what toll this will take on top of the Leaving Cert.

I was hoping some of ye have been through this and could maybe fill me in? Does skype make things any easier? I'm open to any help or reassurance really :)