Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

tractor query

• 13-01-2013 7:56pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23

Hello a neighbour has just bought a same 110 4 cyl and he was wondering will it pull a 10 ton dump trailer fully loaded with earth??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭redzerologhlen

Jack H wrote: »
    Hello a neighbour has just bought a same 110 4 cyl and he was wondering will it pull a 10 ton dump trailer fully loaded with earth??

Should be no bother to it, often had 14 ton behind our fiat 100-90 and it ran away with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 Jack H

Thanks for the info i will pass it on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 445 ✭✭rs8

i wouldnt say he will run away with it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 453 ✭✭caseman

rs8 wrote: »
    Often moved fh 130 track machine with lambo 1060 think their the same thing.
    It was her limit would'nt chance it again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭redzerologhlen

rs8 wrote: »

Maybe not but if a 110 hp tractor couldnt pull 10 ton comfortably then something is amiss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 445 ✭✭rs8

neighbour had to get rid of a new holland tl100a as it wasnt strong/heavy enough for a 10 ton trailer! i would say it would be grand for a few days of the year, every day i wouldnt like it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,242 ✭✭✭iverjohnston

Will pull it no bother, but if you are pulling up steep hills, you will know its there!
    2 years ago i spread 4 or five loads of silage effulent with the Dexta, and a 1300 gallon Abbey tanker. That would have been well on for 10 tons, but it was a flat draw, and a flat field! Iver in Cavan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,828 ✭✭✭yellow50HX

Jack H wrote: »

is that a 10ton capacity dump trailer? if it is then the trailer could weight up to 5/6ton empty thats means you could be pulling 16ton. Thats a fair pull for a 100-110hp tractor. Like the lads above say what kinda roads will it going on and how often will it be pulling that kinda weight.
    would need a good few weights on the front too, a 120 or 130hp 6cylinder may be better as they have a longer wheel base so would be more stable on the road, as well as a bit more grunt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

10 ton dump trailer won't hold 10 ton of earth - maybe stone, but not soil.

Used to pull a 12 ton dump trailer with a same antares 110. It was a good heavy tractor and hadn't a bother with it. Once the brakes are working on the trailer, it will fly it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

lambo 1060 is 100ho - 6cylinder

I have the lambo 1050 - 100hp 4 cylinder. (exact same as the same100.4) My yoke will pull a 4t steel trailer and 10t of stone no problem) only problem is the trailer isnt mine, and is single axle balloon tyres with no brakes. But going forward she is fine

one thing. Put weights on the front to keep her down at the front. The same 100.4 or 110 are short wheel base and on bump roads the front get very light :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 Jack H

The trailer is a nc 10 ton dump trailer there are a good few steep hills around these parts he uses it alot for drawing stone for drainage and drawing earth when he is reclaiming land

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭himwdah

a sensible pilot is the key to most things, i wouldnt be afarid of it as long as its had a few weights if u intend doing a few days at it. used our 390 and 12 ton before without trailer brakes for a few days in a tight spot, take a bit of time and u'll be grand, think before u do anything that seems ott, u dont have to fill it full either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 165 ✭✭royalmeath

Why would anyone buy a machine they werent sure would do what they needed it to do.
    Sure if he bought a 130 h.p tractor he would be sure it would do the job.