Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

mingy parka help?

• 13-01-2013 12:45pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 423 ✭✭

Anyone know where i could get a mingy parka (Israeli parka/ christian militia parka) that we used to bring home from the leb.. rosy used to sell them:D:D. anyway feckin dog decided to eat mine last night and its in ribbons.
    very comfortable and light, used it for everything. don't even know if they still sell em. any help thoughts appreciated

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 217 ✭✭SIRREX

triskell wrote: »
    Anyone know where i could get a mingy parka (Israeli parka/ christian militia parka) that we used to bring home from the leb.. rosy used to sell them:D:D. anyway feckin dog decided to eat mine last night and its in ribbons.
    very comfortable and light, used it for everything. don't even know if they still sell em. any help thoughts appreciated

Sod It! I threw away 2 of these when we were leaving mullingar, nobody wanted them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 423 ✭✭triskell

SIRREX wrote: »
    Sod It! I threw away 2 of these when we were leaving mullingar, nobody wanted them
    fud it no worries, they're very scarce. thanks for getting back to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,539 ✭✭✭John_D80

I'm pretty sure I know the type of coat you're talking about, a friend had one that was purchased in the army surplus store near midleton (Cork) about 12 months ago. The chap down there may be able to help you out.

John_D80 wrote: »
    I'm pretty sure I know the type of coat you're talking about, a friend had one that was purchased in the army surplus store near midleton (Cork) about 12 months ago. The chap down there may be able to help you out.
    grand any contact details or site addyy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,539 ✭✭✭John_D80

triskell wrote: »
    grand any contact details or site addyy?

http://lmgtfy.com/?q=army+surplus+store+midleton+cork

Thanks for effort lads. i found a few websites that sell them new. Ebay was the cheapest. if anyone interested Search ebay for
    IDF Doobon Cold Weather Hooded Coat Parka by Hagor.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

I've ordered from THESE GUYS before.

But only tee shirts.

I've still got my mingey jacket from the 63rd :D

jezus yours lasted well. i didn't come across that site, they have some tasty krav gear. I got the parka from israeldefence store good price and free shipping. although I'll probaly have it for paddys day.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 245 ✭✭Hedgemeister

Those Minghy jackets were first 'issued' to the 52 Inf Bn UNIFIL in the winter trip of '82 when it snowed in Lebanon for the first time in forty-two years. I was unfortunate enough to be Post Commander in Bayt Yahoun where we got a foot of snow that lasted for three weeks. The Company QM ordered those jackets , but we had to pay 40 US Dollars each for the previlege of staying warm. Still, we were glad to pay as the combats were no protection at all.
    With the 74 Bn, another winter trip, we were issued with a three-quarter length 'flying-jacket' of much the same material, but more pockets for spare magazines, pistol pocket, etc. But we had to hand them back when we got home ! (At least they were issued for free)
    Never remember Rosie selling them though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 453 ✭✭earlytobed

Those Minghy jackets were first 'issued' to the 52 Inf Bn UNIFIL in the winter trip of '82 when it snowed in Lebanon for the first time in forty-two years. I was unfortunate enough to be Post Commander in Bayt Yahoun where we got a foot of snow that lasted for three weeks. The Company QM ordered those jackets , but we had to pay 40 US Dollars each for the previlege of staying warm. Still, we were glad to pay as the combats were no protection at all.
    With the 74 Bn, another winter trip, we were issued with a three-quarter length 'flying-jacket' of much the same material, but more pockets for spare magazines, pistol pocket, etc. But we had to hand them back when we got home ! (At least they were issued for free)
    Never remember Rosie selling them though.

I was on the 72nd which was another cold one. (white Christmas).
    Everybody seemed to have thier own Izzy jacket.
    Looking back, it was mad to send troops to the mountains in winter with the possibility of bad weather without a warm jacket!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 245 ✭✭Hedgemeister

At the risk of being accused of 'throwing brakes' the lack of warm clothes was nothing compared to the rest of our equipt. I also served with the 1st Comp '78/79 and arrived in Naqoura carrying an antique Gustaf SMG (with a .303 bayonet brazed to the muzzle ala the Congo) 84 rds of 9mm ammunition for same...an Eastern European 'flowerpot' unadjustable 'one size fits all' helmet, a Browning 9mm pistol and 20 rounds, a 1916 pattern holster and web-belt , with a backpack full of of tinned food...everything from sausages in beans to a Geataux cake! As MPs, five of us arrived to be part of the newly formed International UNIFIL MP Company and to (most) of the other nationalities we were like folks who stepped from the set of a bad 1920s war-movie. Even the local Militia were better equipped which we found out to our cost in Spring of '79 when they used to attack UN HQ just for the fun of it. But even antique Gustafs have a sting in their tail, which eventually that same Militia found out to THEIR cost.
    Still, that was the way it was in those times...Irish soldiers, their equiptment and all round welfare at the bottom of the heap when Government money was spent. This was the gear that Mother Ireland thought was good enough for us ,and as soldiers we had no say at all.
    The only ones worse off than us were the 5 Nigerian Police, who had one pistol and three rounds (of the wrong calibre) between them. The Nepalese don't have MPs but we got an attachment of three of them (with no guns, just Kurki knives)
    The geataux cake was cliftied sometime before Christmas and I never learned its fate, but I remember eating the beans & sausages after the medal Parade on Paddy's Day '79!