Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Describing what people in court wear

• 11-01-2013 1:31pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,341 ✭✭✭

This might not be the right forum for this, but it's the closest one I could think of. I heard on the radio news today about someone up on court, and it described what they wore. Then I realised that they always do this.

What's the point of describing their clothes? Is it some sort of 'code' to try to describe what kind of character they are? Is it due to some law about not being able to give away too much of the proceedings, so they have to come up with something?

Just curious really, thanks...

Jason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 271 ✭✭AvaKinder

Not sure really. The only thing I can think of it is a mark of respect to dress appropriately for court, when I volunteered there we were advised not to wear jeans into court as it was too casual.

So if someone is up in court and that can't be bothered to dress appropriately (for example, not wearing tracksuits) then it shows a lack of respect for the proceedings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭BrensBenz

Sigh.....I explained this to yiz, ages ago: Journalists have to do exams and they fail their exams if they don't include:
    • The age(s) of suspect(s) and defendant(s);
    • What the defendant(s) is / are wearing;
    • The defendant was “stone-faced”;
    • If the defendant is female, whether or not she is a mother;
    • The ages of her children and whether they have any illnesses or ailments;
    • Failing this, an old and feeble parent is acceptable;
    • Maybe, if the defendant is male, whether or not he is a fawther;
    • Gorthee are appealing for witnesses;
    • Emergency services had to use cutting equipment;
    • The scene is closed for technical examination;
    • The title and name of the State Pathologist;
    • ...Sources close to the minister / Taoiseach”....;
    • Neighbours claiming that nothing like this has ever happened here before;
    • The defendant is being held under Section Blah of the Blah Blah act.
    Now, try to keep up. I won't tell yiz again.
    BrensBenz, Oar-T-E, Doblin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,000 ✭✭✭mitosis

Reporters are not allowed to say "Scobe", so they instead say "defendant wore a grey tracksuit and trainers"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 473 ✭✭ThreeLineWhip

Paper has never refused ink.

It fills up column inches on slow newsdays and satisfies the public's need for gossip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 298 ✭✭HHobo

Nothing says guilty like black shoes and white socks.... well except maybe a tracksuit.

The whole "respecting proceedings" idea. I find this pernicious in the extreme. How a defendant feels about the proceedings is utterly irrelevant. They may have absolutely no respect for the proceedings and simultaneously be entirely innocent. Assuming their clothing breaks no laws, it is none of anyone's business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,077 ✭✭✭Finnbar01

BrensBenz wrote: »
    Sigh.....I explained this to yiz, ages ago: Journalists have to do exams and they fail their exams if they don't include:
    • The age(s) of suspect(s) and defendant(s);
    • What the defendant(s) is / are wearing;
    • The defendant was “stone-faced”;
    • If the defendant is female, whether or not she is a mother;
    • The ages of her children and whether they have any illnesses or ailments;
    • Failing this, an old and feeble parent is acceptable;
    • Maybe, if the defendant is male, whether or not he is a fawther;
    • Gorthee are appealing for witnesses;
    • Emergency services had to use cutting equipment;
    • The scene is closed for technical examination;
    • The title and name of the State Pathologist;
    • ...Sources close to the minister / Taoiseach”....;
    • Neighbours claiming that nothing like this has ever happened here before;
    • The defendant is being held under Section Blah of the Blah Blah act.
    Now, try to keep up. I won't tell yiz again.
    BrensBenz, Oar-T-E, Doblin.

You left out: And was known by the Gardaí.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,575 ✭✭✭✭Victor

jasonb wrote: »
    What's the point of describing their clothes?
    Dressing formally conveys gravitas and a willingness to take the proceedings seriously.

While not everyone has access to a suit, most people do have access to a shirt and tie.

Separately, there is the whole gossip, and recently, fashionista elements - it sells more papers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,224 ✭✭✭Procrastastudy

At the risk of getting the mother of all bollockings like I did the last time; I wish they'd describe, young female barristers / devils a bit more often. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 489 ✭✭the world wonders

Finnbar01 wrote: »
    known to the gardaí

Also, the defendant didn't simply not say anything, he "made no reply".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭BrensBenz

Finnbar01 wrote: »

Yes, Oar T. E. is today lead to believe that an omission was made. Not sure if you'll pass your journo exam either though! As "the world wonders" pointed out above, your grammar needs work and, as for your spelling!?! "Known to the Gorthee".

However, I'm terribly confused, Ted. Why is the wardrobe of the defendants open for discussion and occasional ridicule while those awful wigs and black KKK-style robes go unnoticed? Tradition??? We used to burn witches at the stake until someone said: "Hold on, lads - this is silly!"
    Are there no mirrors in chambers or do these throwbacks to Shakespearian times cast no shadows? How can us plebs take the legal system seriously when those running it come dressed as vampires in drag?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 294 ✭✭eoinkildare

Why, when barristers wear their robes, do they let them hang off their arms slung way down low like a gangsta wearing jeans??
    Is it the cool thing for the hip legal eagle or something? I think it looks incredibly sloppy

Eoin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,224 ✭✭✭Procrastastudy

Why, when barristers wear their robes, do they let them hang off their arms slung way down low like a gangsta wearing jeans??
    Is it the cool thing for the hip legal eagle or something? I think it looks incredibly sloppy

Eoin

Why do Senior Counsel invariably stick one foot on the rail and lean on it like their doing some sort of stretching exercise? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,332 ✭✭✭valleyoftheunos

Eoin

Thats to show that they are all far too busy to notice that sort of thing. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,077 ✭✭✭Finnbar01

known to the gardaí

Thank you for pointing that out. I have learnt something new today. I shall now move on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,111 ✭✭✭ResearchWill

Why do Senior Counsel invariably stick one foot on the rail and lean on it like their doing some sort of stretching exercise? :D

The SC or barrister throwing the leg up on the bench and leaning on the knee, is actually because most of the court houses were built in Victorian times and it can be very tight between bench and table, also it can in some court house be the only way to face the jury without being a gymnast.