Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

6 digit reg plates ie 08 d 12xxxx

• 11-01-2013 10:25am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 857 ✭✭✭

Not sure if its the right forum or if anyone can answer my query . .

Over the last few months I've noticed a number of Dublin reg cars with 6 digit reg plates. Only yesterday I saw 2-one 08 and another 10 ie 08 D 1200XX
    (I remembered one of the reg plates-keyed it into cartell.ie and it came up with the correct info)

When I saw them first, I thought that they were fake plates as in my mind, car sales are significantly down so there's no way that we're above 120,000 registrations in Dublin in 2008 even with imports.

Anyway, of the cars I noticed yesterday, one I was behind awhile and we passed a number of Garda cars and there was no reaction from them-so it got me to thinking . .

How do these cars have such high reg numbers??

Thanks in advance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,525 ✭✭✭ION08

A quick search would have saved you all that typing.

They are imports.

As of abut a year and a half ago, imports were given a new numbering sequence. In Dublin, all imports are from 120001 upwards

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,878 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

Given that '08 was the first year of the new CO2 motor tax system, I'd expect a higher than normal number of imports for that year. I'd say every second one is either a 3 series or a VAG diesel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 857 ✭✭✭Lyn256

Thanks for the replies-did google it but didn't get anything relevant

That makes sense so!!

And one of the cars I saw y'day was a three series BMW!

Thanks again

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,631 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

The 120000 series for imports is the most ridiculous thing I have ever seen. Saw a car 76 D 12XXXX. Ruined the appearance of the car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

PauloMN wrote: »
    Given that '08 was the first year of the new CO2 motor tax system, I'd expect a higher than normal number of imports for that year. I'd say every second one is either a 3 series or a VAG diesel.
    The highest the Dublin numbers got was in 2000. Think it got to about 115000 in recent years with imports.

As above the 120000 thing is a system brought in last year or late 2011 for any car that's imported (doesn't apply to cars that are either 11 or 12 reg and after) because of computer system issues according to the people in charge of these things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,760 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

The 120k start is for Dublin only, other counties have randomly high numbers that don't seem to follow any system.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,858 ✭✭✭Bigcheeze

What's the logic behind changing the system ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭pa990

Bigcheeze wrote: »

There was a change in some computer system that they use, and it was easier to create higher numbers for imports.
    AFAIK, its only a temp issue, and it should go back to normal, this year or next

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,430 ✭✭✭positron

Does this numbering system apply to dealers importing and selling used cars from UK as well?

If it does, it's a simple system to help used insurers and car buyers here to recognise imported cars. If not, it's just another way trick car dealers influenced to discourage individuals importing from UK.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭monkeypants

Lyn256 wrote: »
    ...we passed a number of Garda cars and there was no reaction from them
    Unless there's a movie-inspired car chase, complete with driving through large boxes of vegetables and gunfire, this is common.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

antodeco wrote: »
    The 120000 series for imports is the most ridiculous thing I have ever seen. Saw a car 76 D 12XXXX. Ruined the appearance of the car.

I have a picture of a Zaz Zapor 968 with 72-KE-12xxx. Looked so stupid

Quick question people: If I were to import a 2001 car and some of the early numbers were available, could I geot that number? Eg ask for 01-MH-13?

• Administrators Posts: 54,424 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

awec wrote: »
    I think if you are importing it now and it's an 01 car you'd get a high number.

This is what I'm thinking too but just to be sure :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,442 ✭✭✭ofcork

In Cork the number starts from 40000,a mate bought an imported 5 series and got 08-C-401**

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,876 ✭✭✭Scortho

dgt wrote: »

I have a picture of a Zaz Zapor 968 with 72-KE-12xxx. Looked so stupid

Quick question people: If I were to import a 2001 car and some of the early numbers were available, could I geot that number? Eg ask for 01-MH-13?

For say 01-MH-13 to be available, would the car which previously had this reg not have to have been scrapped? Could throw up a problem on the likes of the cartell checks/motor tax system? Much easier for civil servants to give you a new number than an old one.

Scortho wrote: »
    For say 01-MH-13 to be available, would the car which previously had this reg not have to have been scrapped? Could throw up a problem on the likes of the cartell checks/motor tax system? Much easier for civil servants to give you a new number than an old one.

It's unregistered afaik because people are afraid of that unmentionable number :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,175 ✭✭✭Top Dog

positron wrote: »
    If it does, it's a simple system to help used insurers and car buyers here to recognise imported cars. If not, it's just another way trick car dealers influenced to discourage individuals importing from UK.
    If every county started at the same number it'd be a simple system. But nothing is ever straightforward in this country so each different county starts at a different number which means its of feck all use to the man in the street :mad:

antodeco wrote: »

I used to think that the year system was the lesser of two evils on classic cars due to the 5-digit ZV plates. Now I think I'd go with the ZV to avoid what you posted. It's ridiculous.

I've even seen cars with 5-digit KY plates - I don't think Kerry ever got to 5 digits.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,876 ✭✭✭Scortho

dgt wrote: »
    It's unregistered afaik because people are afraid of that unmentionable number :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

ah jaysus if I was willing to burn a grand on a reg plate that'd be the number id go for!
    Would you still be required to pay the 1000 euro on such an old reg or are you only able to chose what reg number you can have on Pre 131 registrations?

Top Dog wrote: »
    If every county started at the same number it'd be a simple system. But nothing is ever straightforward in this country so each different county starts at a different number which means its of feck all use to the man in the street :mad:

If they were all at the same number youd have counties where only about 3000 cars were sold with reg's starting at 120000.

True - but at least it'd be easy spot the imports as positron was suggesting. ;)

Its easy anyway. People just happen to know the 120000 figure as its the Dublin one and the most cars are sold in Dublin. I would have assumed people from other counties would know that the starting figure was for their counties, no?The info is easy enough to find anyway.

Nail on the head.

Everyone will know Dublin, many will know their own county, but I wouldn't have a bulls notion how many cars were registered in Galway without looking it up. Hence my point about not being particularly easy for the man in the street ;)

Nail on the head.

Everyone will know Dublin, many will know their own county, but I wouldn't have a bulls notion how many cars were registered in Galway without looking it up. Hence my point about not being particularly easy for the man in the street ;)

Sure who the **** is going to be buying a 2nd hand car from the likes of Leitrim anyway :D

Man in the street needs to learn to google. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,682 ✭✭✭Kat1170

Ha, we'd be so lucky :rolleyes::rolleyes::D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 473 ✭✭ThreeLineWhip

Scortho wrote: »
    Once a number is issued it can never be reissued even if scrapped.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭sdanseo

Saw an 09-D-120*** today for the first time. White A6, genuinely thought I was driving behind something very dodgy or stolen until I did a cartell check on my phone.

This explains it all, as boards does all too regularly!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 371 ✭✭larchill

Saw one of these this evening 08 D 120xxx on a Ford Focus TDCi. Is this 120xxx thing only for Dublin. Does every County have a no range for imports?

larchill wrote: »
    Saw one of these this evening 08 D 120xxx on a Ford Focus TDCi. Is this 120xxx thing only for Dublin. Does every County have a no range for imports?

Yes. The 2000 reg plates were used as a baseline as that year had the highest sales. In Dublin in 2000, sales and imports ended at about 115,000 so the imports began at 120,000 onwards. In other counties it would depend on what the final number in 2000 was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,213 ✭✭✭PrettyBoy

Hahahaha :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

Karsini wrote: »
    Yes. The 2000 reg plates were used as a baseline as that year had the highest sales. In Dublin in 2000, sales and imports ended at about 115,000 so the imports began at 120,000 onwards. In other counties it would depend on what the final number in 2000 was.

Love my 00 D 114024 reg :P