Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

SQL Server- 40+ programming students need own copy of the data

Options
  • 11-01-2013 11:24am
    Registered Users Posts: 23,212 ✭✭✭✭

I seem to have assumed the role of system Admin/Go to guy in the college I work at. My latest task is to configure MS SQL server for access by 40 plus students. l would love to get some opinions on my proposed set up. I have full admin rights on the server and SQL Server is installed with the Northwind database. My background is in Oracle, its been a long time since I worked on SQL Server.

It's a .Net programming course, so each student will have their own login to SQL Server, so they can play around without affecting each other's data.

l was thinking of one, read only copy of the North wind database, so students can can copy it into their own schema as needed, or more likely, should they mess it up.

I assume each student will use their own login to the DB when setting up a Visual Studio data source.

Does this sound reasonable? Am I missing anything obvious?

Comments

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 10,084 Mod ✭✭✭✭Jim2007

Assuming you have a decent server, I would just create a database for each student and to make life easy, give them DBO on their own database.

SQL Server schemes are not exactly like Oracle schemes and I think it would become very time consuming for you, if you were to do it that way.

Out of interest why not just use SQL Server Express or SQL Server CE on the desktop, if it is just for students?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭ChRoMe

Jim2007 wrote: »