Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

swap/meet up tell us ur story

• 10-01-2013 10:21pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,097 ✭✭✭

i met with snipe02 for a days shooting this season and he is down with me in the next few weeks . i had a great 2 days plenty of stories,beer and birds (the two legged type) just want to know did anyone here do a swop meet up day and if so tell us how ye got on good or bad!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,374 ✭✭✭J.R.

charlie10 wrote: »
    i met with snipe02 for a days shooting this season and he is down with me in the next few weeks . i had a great 2 days plenty of stories,beer and birds (the two legged type) just want to know did anyone here do a swop meet up day and if so tell us how ye got on good or bad!

what other type are there??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,097 ✭✭✭charlie10

ever heard the saying "on all fours"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,719 ✭✭✭LB6

You meant to say the "feathered kind" didn't ya charlie? :D

or did ya?

ya lb6 exactly or the ones that wont nag

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

ya lb6 exactly or the ones that wont nag
    They all nag mate feathered or not
    Trust me I've one of each both as bad as each other :)

mods feel free to close /lock thought there would be more replies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 764 ✭✭✭hedzball

Met franknrol when I moved to Athlone for a few months of work..

Thought me alot about shotgun shooting..

I more then likely spurred his love of rifle shooting.

Had some seriously great nights out lamping.

Made a good friend out of my time up there...

I'm not gay...

'hdz

• Closed Accounts Posts: 873 ✭✭✭snipe02

met with charlie10 a couple of weeks ago, had met twice before looking at dogs. I had completely wasted his time dragging him up to kilkenny to look at what can only be described as an aligater of a springer. hard mouth, he wouldnt be outta place in swamp people, and then met about a pup.
    he came here to shoot third time round. he arrived on a sat around midday with his friend jp we headed out for only a bare hour because I had family buisness to attend to (double booked) anyway we did a nice bit of ground that usually holds a good mix of game but nothing to show for it so we headed back.

I done what I had to do and the boys headed for the bar so we met later and had a few drinks in a nice little kilkenny bar now at this point i have to say Ive never seen a human being put away guinness like charlie his poor mate was a right off and crosseyed by ten oclock and charlie had that ready for anything look about him chattin away as normal as ya like. so they headed back to the B&B I got a text about 15 mins later" jp is asleep on the floor see ya in the morn" , me thinking right they will never be able to go shootin in the morn but to my surprise they were ready and waiting not a bother on em in the morn... so we set off collecting a friend of mine on the way he was taking us to the farms around his home place first ditch we put a bird out the wrong side so good start then for a couple of hours we were only meeting hens it was like the twelve hens of christmas but the lads were willing to work hard but things just seemed to go against us birds going out too far and on the wrong side but we soildered on. might i say i had two freshly broken ribs which were kinda stopping me breathin at this stage but after about six hours walkin our look changed charlie took a snipe my buddy shot a woodcock which got up of his own free will and charlie shot a cock off the same ditch we sent two tresspassers runnin for the hills unintentionally and had a good laugh at em , then JP's pointer set in a corner but began to move around ... we got over and i was getting out in the corner and as I was climbing over two seperate barbed wire fences the bird (a cock Pheasant) broke out over my head i let go of the second fence falling back onto first the fence and forgeting about the ribs clipped the bird with my first shot (miracle) any we followed that bird over to a bit of cover and one of the dogs put him up again he was shot and we had a quick argument with some busy body pokin their nose in and happliy went back to the mates house with 2 cocks 1 woodcock and 1 snipe all hard earned...

we done the bones 7 hours walkin ( me and JP got all the ploughed fields) wrecked , then back to a hotel for dinner where charlie downed another 5 pints with his and we parted company really lookin forward to seeing him again and hopefully have an update sound lad and i wouldnt have enough of good to say about him a good shootin man and more importantly a good dog man and would talk to anyone thanks again buddy .

Also have to mention I spent a day rough shooting with clivej. what a sound fella we spent a few hours walking around hunting for pheasants but only got one bird between 3 of us. clivej also fired at a fox and we met a hen or 2. anyway the thing that reminds me about that day was that clivej never brought a change of footwear and on returning to the car (my uncles pride and joy) with the muckiest pair of boots ya could see he proceeded to jump in and destroy the back floor . have to say it wasnt done out of any disrespect... I love em for it as I love tormenting my uncle, my long suffering shooting partner and he still goes on about the state of his car after clive and i still bust me hole laughin everytime. clivej is an absolute gent and really nice guy thanks clive hope your well

snipe02

think u left out the part about u filling my cup of tea with whiskey as if i wasnt bad enough!! me and the woman are falling around the place here ,has to be the best post ive ever seen . poor jp!!

ha forgot that couldnt resist that one lmao here :D:D

well lads part two of the charlie10/snipe02 meet up started yesterday morning at 12 o clock. snipe and his uncle arrived at the house where we sat and had tea and chat and then mounted up and headed to a pond. snipe had said he had two wishs on the bucket list 1> he wanted to shoot a widgeon 2> a woodcock, so we sneaked in to the pond and low and behold two widgeon got up and he hit the pair with one shot !! dont get better than that!. we stayed there for an hour or so and snipes uncle pulled off a cracker of a shot from his beautiful beretta ultra light on a mallard he was easily 50 yards away and dropped her stone dead . we shot a nice few birds there then back home again for tea. then hit the pub, bad idea! was woken by door bell this morning and i was rough! so left gun at home and car and was guile for the day. hunted nice cover that the two boys dogs made it look like nothing! it was looking bad for a bit woodcocks were ther but going out fast just then snipes bitch made a drive and out one came and it was a snap shot like no other .there wasnt a hairs breath in it but down he came and retrieved .must say snipe and his uncle are two sound blokes that know what they are talking about and have to say great men for a few stories . his uncle is a howl! hope ye enjoyed it lads

had a ball charlie couldnt ask for more absolutely beamin with the widgeon and me one and only woodcock of the season some great country down there nice to hunt different ground and couldnt have been made feel more welcome lovely people not the end of the story by a long way... the other lad loved every minute of it and we got f'cking lost on the way home some fecker moved the road sign around

• Closed Accounts Posts: 248 ✭✭Dalken

snipe02 wrote: »
    had a ball charlie couldnt ask for more absolutely beamin with the widgeon and me one and only woodcock of the season some great country down there nice to hunt different ground and couldnt have been made feel more welcome lovely people not the end of the story by a long way... the other lad loved every minute of it and we got f'cking lost on the way home some fecker moved the road sign around

Sounds like ye had a ball together lads, it's a shame yis are straight cos I reckon this could have gone all the way...!

Im just raging jelous cos I spent my week end working on reports and didnt get out for a shot at all:mad:

if u wanna join us dalken we could sandwich u as not to leave u out !!!

ya i cant recommend the swops enough lads its a right crack and gauranteed to learn a thing or two,and drink a pint or two or three or four or............................

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭EPointer=Birdss

Dalken wrote: »
    Sounds like ye had a ball together lads, it's a shame yis are straight cos I reckon this could have gone all the way...!

Am I reading that right :eek: :D

ya think he talking the piss:o

Could be worse. By sounds of it you could be taking something else :D

Ennis-Jack-brokeback-mountain-4727112-1008-630.jpg

Ah just a bit yeah..

Could be worse. By sounds of it you could be taking something else :D

Ennis-Jack-brokeback-mountain-4727112-1008-630.jpg

Brokeback Bog

lmao :D

to be honest cock was the only thing I didnt get. dont worry lads id never kiss an tell think dalkin and epointer are just puttin the feelers out charlie. we'll take as a warnin

where were u bitch ,they were ganging up on me:mad:

sorry honey was locked in the room eaten ice cream missin you... they were right about the broken back part anyway

ha ha thats for sure im broke up !! and not from u ! from dragging all the duck around :D

plenty rest sort ya out . the local doctor got the duck last night she was delighted with em and as ya said i couldnt recommend the swop\meet up enough meself. stick yer necks out.

Very secure individuals on here. :P
    All jokes aside some great stories there.