Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Penalty Points question

• 10-01-2013 8:33pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭

So I got caught today going up right lane at roundabout which is marked for 3rd exit and then I was cheeky and took 2nd exit. Caught rotton.

cops stopped me up the road.

Anyways, heres my problem.
    1) licence is my old address which I have no access to
    2) car is 1 week old and probably not in my name yet. So I rang cop shop and explained about the address issue, left my new address and number and cop on reception said thanks and incident cop will ring.

Heard nothing yet. Anyone know what happens?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,060 ✭✭✭Kenny Logins

That Garda must be a boardsie...

(sorry).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭TheDriver

don't get the joke sorry?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,171 ✭✭✭triple-M

I-d keep my mouth closed and dread checking the post every day for the next few weeks

i assume something will come in the post, its more of it coming to an address I don't know about and worse trouble

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,395 ✭✭✭SCOOP 64

Would you get points for that? surely not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,844 ✭✭✭Jimdagym

nig1 wrote: »
    Would you get points for that? surely not.

Possibly for not obeying road markings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,395 ✭✭✭SCOOP 64

Should have drove all the round the roundabout then took second exit, done that before when long queue on the left.
    still was quicker!

theres something alright for "Failure to obey requirements at junctions, e.g. Not being in the
    correct lane when turning onto another road". 1 penalty point and €60 fine. Cop told me it would be €80 but then again, he didn't seem too knowledgable on the matter

I was also curious to note than I got nothing on paper handed to me, it will be in the post......

nig1: will be doing that in future!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 385 ✭✭Lawless2k12

Hardluck! Thousands do it every day and are never caught or else are never hunted down. Doesn't excuse your disregard for road markings but you were unlucky to get caught. I've had many near misses with guys who do it but I wouldn't mind if there was no one beside them or near them as it doesn't cause a problem (Not saying it should be done, just that it's not a big deal in that scenario).

I wouldn't expect much out of it to be honest unless the guard has a pet hate for lane jumpers. I've seen guards ignore it many, many times so it doesn't seem to be a major factor to them. But no one here will be able to tell you exactly what will happen (Unless the guard is on this :P) as there's a few ways it could pan out so just get on with daily life and see what happens. It's not a major deal.... unless you have 11 points on your licence.... then I'd be sh*tting meself :eek:

thanks. I assumed that when they write up their book, then thats it??
    My concern is that it will be sent to an address to which I have no access.

Surprised I didn't get a "receipt" of some form though, thought you would get a ticket.....

TheDriver wrote: »
    thanks. I assumed that when they write up their book, then thats it??
    My concern is that it will be sent to an address to which I have no access.

Surprised I didn't get a "receipt" of some form though, thought you would get a ticket.....

No that's not final at all. It goes through a few stages before it's sent out. Sometimes nothing gets sent depending on the situation. It's at the discretion of the guard really. In some rare cases, like my neighbour, nothing gets sent out yet 2 years later you might receive a letter saying "Your 2 penalty points have been removed". Caught on his mobile and received nothing yet he got 2 points. Quite strange really...

And if it's sent to the wrong address and you rang to say it was the wrong address then happy days! That might be your escape route. An old friend (Agewise) from the golf club was caught for speeding. He sent a €60 cheque. Fine had increased recently to €80 so it was sent back. He re-sent the €60 cheque with a €20 cheque but it was returned to him yet again as it had to be on one cheque. He then sent his €80 cheque but it had gone up to €160 as he had gone past the deadline and was now penalised further. Took it to court and it was thrown out as the judge deemed he made sufficient attempts at paying the fine.

In your case, you attempted to notify the guard about your address so it's up to him to rectify it. If he doesn't you may get arrested in a few weeks for not showing up in court BUT you won't be at fault :D

And they don't really give ya any documentation at the roadside anymore. Usually just a case of sh*tting bricks for a couple weeks...

An old friend (Agewise) from the golf club was caught for speeding. He sent a €60 cheque. Fine had increased recently to €80 so it was sent back. He re-sent the €60 cheque with a €20 cheque but it was returned to him yet again as it had to be on one cheque. He then sent his €80 cheque but it had gone up to €160 as he had gone past the deadline and was now penalised further. Took it to court and it was thrown out as the judge deemed he made sufficient attempts at paying the fine.

Now thats just a class story!

TheDriver wrote: »
    Now thats just a class story!

Yeah. I laughed quite a bit at it. I'm just curious as to why the judge gave him nothing considering he had 8 points for previous speeding offences.. silly judge! But NOICE! Wouldn't mind a bit of that myself if I was caught :D

so 2 weeks later and Thurles have no record of it on their systems yet. Obviously not going to ring the garda station but guard did say it will be with me within 2 weeks........... Lovely lady said to ring back each week until 3 months are up and then thats that.....