Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Time for a change, advice needed.

Options
  • 10-01-2013 4:10pm
    Registered Users Posts: 6,005 ✭✭✭

Okay, so please stay with me on this one it may be slightly long winded but any advice would be massively appreciated.

As the title says I'm thinking about a change in profession.

I currently work in as an IT Support Technician, my job whilst stable is just not for me, I don't think I'm in it for the long haul and would like a change.

My current job entails a high degree of attention to detail and number crunching. I've always liked numbers and have always been good with them. I do dabble in some accounting related tasks while in my job if asked to cover for people, Invoicing / Vat etc and I enjoy it.

I'm quite a technical person, something which I've heard their maybe a gap in the market, for mainly relating to IT Auditors.

This is where I need your help.

It seems I have 2 routes I could go down.

Route 1 - I go an enroll in a degree as a mature student (part time) Maintaining my current role and salary. This would enable me to get a degree in business, finance or Accounting related which I would be keen too hold as I have aspirations of one day opening my own business and this degree while broad will benefit me in the long run.

Questions I need answering.

Is there a degree in a Dublin college that I can enroll in for September 2013 that is taking mature students and that will allow me to gain exemptions from sitting CAP1, obviously so long as I obtain honors on graduation.