Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Say something - say nothing ?

• 10-01-2013 02:13PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,439 ✭✭✭

My Friend orders a wrap today off the deli for lunch, and asks for a SMALL amount of tuna and a SMALL amount of salad and for the wrap to be LIGHTLY toasted.

To deli worker continues to put a load of tuna on it and loads of salad, so much that she can barely close the wrap :confused:

My friend looks at me and says "I'm not gonna eat all that"

A few minuets later, she gets her wrap and off we go. Get back to work and the wrap is burnt even though my friend only wanted it lightly toasted :rolleyes:

Anyways point of the story is:
    if the woman had of being making my wrap - I would have told that she put way to much on, and ask her nicely to take some off, also if I asked for it to be lightly toasted and it was burnt, I'd asked for a new one that wasn't burnt to be made.
    My friend said she wouldn't go through all the hassle and embarrass herself in front of every in the Que over a sandwhich... :rolleyes:

AH if you where in the situation what would you do? Say something or think feck it, it's only a sandwich
    ( bare in mind you wont get anything else to eat till dinner time:P)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,332 ✭✭✭Guill

I would eat the wrap and If there was too much I would rewrap it and eat the rest later/tomorrow.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Would have asked that a fresh one not be burnt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭BUBBLE WRAP

FFS... Seriously OP!?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

Bring a packed lunch to work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭BUBBLE WRAP

Biggins wrote: »

Exactly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,439 ✭✭✭SunnyDub1

Guill wrote: »
    I would eat the wrap and If there was too much I would rewrap it and eat the rest later/tomorrow.

Really...... even after it's been heated and burnt ?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭sfwcork

i would go back and burn the building

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

Slow off the mark OP , ya should've offered to eat half the wrap thus you getting a free lunch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,332 ✭✭✭Guill

SunnyDub1 wrote: »
    Really...... even after it's been heated and burnt ?

Yep.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,558 ✭✭✭seven_eleven

I got a chicken wrap today and asked for "a TINY bit of mayonnaise on it". She proceeded to put about 5 heaped teaspoons on it. Im just trying to eat healthy, Its not like it ruined my lunch or anything but to me, a tiny bit is about half a tea-spoon.

This seems to be the problem in every deli.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭9959

Next time, your friend should insist that her 'wrap' be burnt to a crisp, and packed to the gunnels with tuna and salad.

Voila!
    Lightly toasted with the required (modest) amount of tuna and salad.

People do hear things wrong , many years ago when me and Mrs Mattjack moved in together pre children time , we had been on the beer all day of a Sunday.

Anyway when we got home , she asked me would I like a threesome,thats what I think I heard , I immediately said yes and heard her on the phone

She shouted to me "bout half an hour".

The doorbell rang , heard her talking and moments later she called me to the kitchen.

There ya go says she, whats that says I ..... your three in one "curry chips, chicken balls and fried rice".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

My Friend orders a wrap today off the deli for lunch, and asks for a SMALL amount of tuna and a SMALL amount of salad and for the wrap to be LIGHTLY toasted.

Just tell her to eat it all and do a bit of exercise for a change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,697 ✭✭✭Lisha

mattjack wrote: »
    People do hear things wrong , many years ago when me and Mrs Mattjack moved in together pre children time , we had been on the beer all day of a Sunday.

Anyway when we got home , she asked me would I like a threesome,thats what I think I heard , I immediately said yes and heard her on the phone

She shouted to me "bout half an hour".

The doorbell rang , heard her talking and moments later she called me to the kitchen.

There ya go says she, whats that says I ..... your three in one "curry chips, chicken balls and fried rice".

Did mrs mattjack not ask why you ran into kitchen nekkid? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 512 ✭✭✭wilson10

That's what you get with a FG, Labour coalition government.

Lisha wrote: »
    Did mrs mattjack not ask why you ran into kitchen nekkid? :)

No , words to the effect "what are you doing ya fucking idiot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I never say anything, I think there should be a standard for wraps that everybody follows. It doesn't annoy me how much of whatever goes into the wrap but the shape of it can drive me nuts.

A wrap should be a cylinder, I keep getting square ones at my local. Why would anyone think it's acceptable to make a square wrap? WHY?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

Typical Irish really, take what you dont want and pay for it.

I'm constantly asking for a "SMALL" amount of grated cheese on a chicken fillet wrap. The place I go for lunch is always packed, and after accepting a ****ty cheese filled wrap twice, I just keep telling them "sorry thats way too much" when they over fill.

Have got a few dodgy looks from other customers and even afew people intervening. Just tell them to **** off and mind their own business. I'm not paying for something I don't want.

If your mate asked for something, and doesn't get it, why should she take it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,361 ✭✭✭Boskowski

I'd say it straight there and then.
    As in 'sorry that's way too much tuna/ salad. I'd never eat that. Like I said a little tuna please'.

What's wrong with that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,611 ✭✭✭Valetta

Serious 1st world problems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭mahonykid

What i would do now, is probably go into the shop the next day with a bomb strapped to my waist and blow the place sky high whilst screaming "that will teach ye f***ers how to make a wrap"

Or else on the other hand id probably just eat the wrap

• Closed Accounts Posts: 350 ✭✭wtlltw

Few years back, I stood behind someone who ordered a tuna and sweetcorn, onion, chicken tikka and potato salad roll once.

I decided I wasn't hungry that day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Valetta wrote: »
    Developing nations will benefit from our actions here today once they're rich enough to have service stations with deli's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,465 ✭✭✭CruelCoin

To deli worker continues to put a load of tuna on it and loads of salad, so much that she can barely close the wrap :confused:

My friend looks at me and says "I'm not gonna eat all that"

A few minuets later, she gets her wrap and off we go. Get back to work and the wrap is burnt even though my friend only wanted it lightly toasted :rolleyes:

Anyways point of the story is:
    if the woman had of being making my wrap - I would have told that she put way to much on, and ask her nicely to take some off, also if I asked for it to be lightly toasted and it was burnt, I'd asked for a new one that wasn't burnt to be made.
    My friend said she wouldn't go through all the hassle and embarrass herself in front of every in the Que over a sandwhich... :rolleyes:

AH if you where in the situation what would you do? Say something or think feck it, it's only a sandwich
    ( bare in mind you wont get anything else to eat till dinner time:P)

99% of people would complain about not having enough filling...

By the sounds of it, your friends "small" is everyone elses "tiny".

Also: This is burnt: http://24.media.tumblr.com/tumblr_m8cvgrQkNf1qar86bo1_400.jpg
    Not this: http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/a/af/DryToast.jpg

I'm extrapolating here and saying that your firend also considers the least amount of pink in her steak to be "bloody and eww".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,538 ✭✭✭flutterflye

If I didn't notice at the time, I obviously wouldn't go back and complain.
    Most of the time, If I did notice, I'd say nothing - coz I'm not too particular.

But if they were putting something in I didn't want, or burnt it or something, I'd say it - of course I would. Bit strange to pay for something if you're not going to eat it and then have to get something else for lunch :/

wtlltw wrote: »
    Few years back, I stood behind someone who ordered a tuna (Nice) and sweetcorn,(Nice) onion(Nice), chicken tikka(Nice) and potato salad (Nice) roll once.

I decided I wasn't hungry that day.

If all are nice singly, whats wrong with a mash of niceness?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,538 ✭✭✭flutterflye

CruelCoin wrote: »
    I'm extrapolating here and saying that your firend also considers the least amount of pink in her steak to be "bloody and eww".

I'd consider that to be "bloody and eww"!
    I'm not a big meat eater at all though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,494 ✭✭✭The_Gatsby

Valetta wrote: »

Well we live in the 1st world so it's ok. I doubt little JoeBloggs in Uganda would appreciate food going to waste

I'd consider that to be "bloody and eww"!
    I'm not a big meat eater at all though.

No point in having meat if you're going to cremate the bloody thing.

All you have then is a mouth full of bland tastless tough-as-old-boots protein.

More easily edible food such as tofu would suit you better here.

The_Gatsby wrote: »
    Well we live in the 1st world so it's ok. I doubt little JoeBloggs in Uganda would appreciate food going to waste

Only relevent if that food would have had any chance of going to Uganda, let alone being affordable. No, and no are your answers there.