Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

187kph and only a €350fine..is nice....

• 10-01-2013 1:26pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,396 ✭✭✭

A MUSICIAN who drove at up to 187kmh on a motorway as he made his way home after a concert, has been convicted of careless driving.

Peter Wilson (42), AKA Duke Special, had been charged with dangerous driving on the M1 at Gibstown, Co Louth, on August 22 last year but Judge Flann Brennan was told yesterday that gardai would accept a guilty plea to the lesser offence of careless driving.

Wilson, of Lomond Avenue, Belfast, was driving on the northbound carriageway when gardai saw him "driving at a constant speed of 170kmh and at 187kmh at one stage," Inspector Brendan Cadden told Dundalk District Court.

Mr Wilson's solicitor said Mr Wilson held his hands up and was extremely embarrassed to be before the court.

She described the incident as "a once-off" and said her client had €200 in court to make a donation to charity if the court was prepared to leave him without a conviction.

The judge said the excessive speed involved was "at a level I'd normally consider a disqualification". He said he would not do that but was convicting Mr Wilson and fining him €350.

The judge said that if Mr Wilson was found driving like that again, he would be disqualified.

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/courts/musician-drove-car-at-187kmh-court-told-3347955.html

EDIT:JUST NOTICED HE DID GET THE CONVICTION ALSO..sorry!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,060 ✭✭✭Kenny Logins

Bargain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

He got off awfully lightly to be honest. I would have gone with a conviction to be honest if I was a judge.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 473 ✭✭ThreeLineWhip

BX 19 wrote: »
    He got off awfully lightly to be honest. I would have gone with a conviction to be honest if I was a judge.

Would have only been 80 euro if it was a camera that caught him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,332 ✭✭✭Mr Simpson

He did get a conviction by the looks of it, just not a ban

MarkMc wrote: »
    He did get a conviction by the looks of it, just not a ban

Only noticed the edit there in the OP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,270 ✭✭✭tin79

200 euro in court? Cheap fecker.

Guess his lyrics came through. "I dont wanna stand still. I just wanna freewheel"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,238 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

meh...ive driven faster :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,473 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

fug me ..I rushed back from portlaoise last week and was hitting 200kph on the motorway..was morning time and it was quiet so no biggie..
    better slow down methinks :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 308 ✭✭spodoinkle

What was he driving?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,594 ✭✭✭tossy

If he was coming back from a concert (work) i presume it was pretty late or even early in the morning,bit harsh imo.Pity the Guard didn't have a bit of sense and just issue him with a fixed notice/2 points like the Guard who caught me doing similar speeds in similar circumstances at 3am on a motorway.

I suspect he was only brought to court to be made an example of to deter northern drivers - some of whom i've seen doing that kind of speed during the day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,858 ✭✭✭Bigcheeze

I'd be thinking it's counter productive to say "here's a 200 quid donation, with strings attached"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,407 ✭✭✭Dartz

Wasn't there some Judge (Dredd?) in Donegal who sent a man to prison for similar speeds?

Ultimately, cruising at a constant speed like that isn't really dangerous anyway. To be dangerous it has to fall well below the standards.... like weaving between lanes or having your mate tied to the bonnet with leather belts riding the car like a surfboard. It was what it was.

You are thinking of Judge Desmond Zaidan in Kildare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,127 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

he was doing 105mpg, hardly that fast, yes way over speed limit, but only by about 30mph, given a lot of us would do 75mph on motorway, knowing we wont get done for it. I have seen fly by videos on youtube of people overtaking other drivers, who were doing 130-140kph and it made it look like they were standing still!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭Thatnastyboy

Idbatterim wrote: »
    he was doing 105mpg, hardly that fast, yes way over speed limit, but only by about 30mph, given a lot of us would do 75mph on motorway, knowing we wont get done for it. I have seen fly by videos on youtube of people overtaking other drivers, who were doing 130-140kph and it made it look like they were standing still!

:eek: The f*ck was he driving? a g-whizz? :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭mb1725

It would be 116 mph in old money!

120km/h is equivalent to 75mph.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 15,239 Mod ✭✭✭✭FutureGuy

Blazer wrote: »
    fug me ..I rushed back from portlaoise last week and was hitting 200kph on the motorway..was morning time and it was quiet so no biggie..
    better slow down methinks :)

No biggie? Disgraceful imho. Let us know the next time you plan using the motorway so we can avoid being on the same road as you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,512 ✭✭✭runawaybishop

Dartz wrote: »
    Ultimately, cruising at a constant speed like that isn't really dangerous anyway. To be dangerous it has to fall well below the standards.... like weaving between lanes or having your mate tied to the bonnet with leather belts riding the car like a surfboard. It was what it was.

Totally correct, if you know better its ok to break the law. The young lads near me, for example, often drive as fast as they think they should as they know better. You can also drive if you have drink taken as long as you know what you are doing. We only peel a few of these guys off the roads a week after all, small numbers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,407 ✭✭✭Dartz

Totally correct, if you know better its ok to break the law. The young lads near me, for example, often drive as fast as they think they should as they know better. You can also drive if you have drink taken as long as you know what you are doing. We only peel a few of these guys off the roads a week after all, small numbers!

Not dangerous as in the 'dangerous' bit before 'Dangerous driving'.

It's speeding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

FutureGuy wrote: »
    No biggie? Disgraceful imho. Let us know the next time you plan using the motorway so we can avoid being on the same road as you.
    Legality aside, what exactly is the problem with 200km/h on an empty motorway with good visibility? It's a relatively closed environment, as long as you can stop within the space you can see to be clear then I don't see any particular danger.

Dartz wrote: »
    Not dangerous as in the 'dangerous' bit before 'Dangerous driving'.

It's speeding.

I bet a lot of people thought that before they mangled the ****e out of their spines. Its inexcusable.
    Anan1 wrote: »
    Legality aside, what exactly is the problem with 200km/h on an empty motorway with good visibility?

Reaction times and cars not being able to safely protect the occupants perhaps?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,988 ✭✭✭✭kippy

Whether it is dangerous or not the point is it was breaking the law and he got caught.
    The issue is whether his "punishment" is consistent with others who have found themselves in a similar situation, and if it isn't, why isn't it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,620 ✭✭✭Heroditas

The Duke of Hazard? :pac:

Reaction times and cars not being able to safely protect the occupants perhaps?
    I edited my post after you answered it. ;)

I'll keep with the latter part of my post so, though i don't really have much knowledge on safety requirements when travelling at speeds in excess of 100mph i imagine the requirements would be much higher.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,127 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

It would be 116 mph in old money!
    right, I only worked out the figures off the top of my head quickly enough, 116mph is quick enough alright! But even at that Id imagine anything but the biggest sh*theaps could achieve that speed or close to it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,378 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

Interesting. Apart from the obvious "should stick to the speed limit", what speed would people feel could be accepted in general before someone would post here?

I.E. Nobody would bat an eyelid at 130*, but what about 140 or 160?

*note that the tv show about the Garda traffic Corp showed them stopping a guy on the M1 commenting that "140 was a bit on the high side"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,721 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

My **** heap will do around 110mph, is say he's got a bit more cash than me though.

Legality aside, what exactly is the problem with 200km/h on an empty motorway with good visibility? It's a relatively closed environment, as long as you can stop within the space you can see to be clear then I don't see any particular danger.

zero problems from waht I can see...on unused sections with no cars I was doing 180-200kph...any soon as I came to any cars etc immediately back down to 140kph till I safely overtook them.

So which was more dangerous? me speeding on an empty road or the 2 truck drivers who parked their artics on the hard shoulders on the opposite sides and were engaged in a conversation in the middle of the motorway?
    This happened on my way back..

CianRyan wrote: »
    My **** heap will do around 110mph, is say he's got a bit more cash than me though.

The Almera? Going down a big hill with the wind behind it :D

Interesting. Apart from the obvious "should stick to the speed limit", what speed would people feel could be accepted in general before someone would post here?

*note that the tv show about the Garda traffic Corp showed them stopping a guy on the M1 commenting that "140 was a bit on the high side"

6% over is fine :p

I'll keep with the latter part of my post so, though i don't really have much knowledge on safety requirements when travelling at speeds in excess of 100mph i imagine the requirements would be much higher.
    The fundamental requirement, to be able to stop within the space which one can see to be clear is a function of both speed and conditions. The faster you go, the more clear road you need. As long as you have it, you're fine.

It all depends on the conditions. Sometimes 30km/h is too fast, sometimes 200 isn't.

The fundamental requirement, to be able to stop within the space which one can see to be clear is a function of both speed and conditions. The faster you go, the more clear road you need. As long as you have it, you're fine.

Right, but of course that assumes you can see the danger and stop in time. You'd imagine that in the other scenario whereby a crash is inescapable that the greater speed would cause more damage/injuries. Obviously you should adjust your speed so that you can always stop in time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 556 ✭✭✭Bobo78

spodoinkle wrote: »
    What was he driving?

I presume Nissan Micra 1.0l twin cam.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭DubTony

I must be getting old. I usually have a live and let live attitude on these things, but you should suffer the consequences if caught. Last time I was in court for speeding was in 1994 in Naas courthouse. That day anyone driving over 100 MPH on the M7 got a fine of £150 AND a 3 month ban. Translated to today and changed to euro that's the bones of €500. And that was at a time when speeding wasn't as frowned upon as it is today. (No RSA back then) This guy really got a break. I'd have thrown the book at him.

The closest I've ever come to a high speed accident was on the M4. My FTO was limited to 180km/h. As I approached a junction on an empty motorway at full throttle a truck came down the ramp. The problem was he didn't stay on the inside lane. I braked (good brakes) and was shocked at the distance I covered before I slowed down enough. It helped that the trucker realised what was happening and veered back in because it gave me some breathing space.

Scariest incident ever. A real eye opener for me, as I wasn't exactly light footed back then (about 15 years ago). These speeds on a public road, even if it is empty, are insane.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 556 ✭✭✭Bobo78

FutureGuy wrote: »

And there is always one. :P

Right, but of course that assumes you can see the danger and stop in time.
    Absolutely, if you can't then you're driving too fast for the conditions. The beauty of a motorway is that it's generally so much easier to see potential hazards, thus allowing far higher speeds.
    You'd imagine that in the other scenario whereby a crash is inescapable that the greater speed would cause more damage/injuries.
    Yup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,435 ✭✭✭wandatowell

So your saying Duke Special isn't his real name?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,721 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

The Almera? Going down a big hill with the wind behind it :D

Well they're the quoted figures but yeah, that's probably how the got them. :p

Going from 100kph - 120kph in 5th feels like an eternity so I can only imagine the climb to 110mph. Haha

Northerner being made an example of in a Republic court. Paper has never refused ink.

If that was a local, it would have been a €80 fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Considering all of the appalling driving I encounter at 30 and 50kmh on most days , I wouldnt trust the average driver at anything near 187 to be safe. Then add in that half the country drive cars that are maintained just enough to pass an NCT with a good chunk being on the cheapest legal tyres.

I'd rather leave speed limits as they are and risk catching and prosecuting the ones that may be genuinely capable of safely driving at that speed to make sure the carnage that could happen with the rest doesnt.

Considering all of the appalling driving I encounter at 30 and 50kmh on most days , I wouldnt trust the average driver at anything near 187 to be safe. Then add in that half the country drive cars that are maintained just enough to pass an NCT with a good chunk being on the cheapest legal tyres.

I'd rather leave speed limits as they are and risk catching and prosecuting the ones that may be genuinely capable of safely driving at that speed to make sure the carnage that could happen with the rest doesnt.
    That's a fair point too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

Northerner being made an example of in a Republic court. Paper has never refused ink.

If that was a local, it would have been a €80 fine.
    Bull sh1t! Northerner or southerner he's a very lucky-ner

• Closed Accounts Posts: 376 ✭✭sawfish

Wouldnt like to run over a fox or a deer at 187kmph or 200kmph.. well at least it would probably a quick end for the fox anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,462 ✭✭✭projectgtr

ive done well in excess of 200km/h only problem i see is driver training. 200+km/h on a Autobahn in germany with traffic felt very safe, now not that i would do that speed over here :o but if i did i wouldnt do it with any drivers around as drivers over here can be so unpredictable. So legality aside 200km/h on an empty motorway, i definitely dont see a problem.

complete agree..my car is a 5 series, only the best tyres on her, properly maintained etc and to be honest I normally only travel at the limit on the motorway..going up it was cruise control on 122kph and coming back since traffic was practically non-existent I opened her up just to see what it was like as I normally don't be travelling on the motorway and generally stick to the limits.
    I've been to Dublin 3/4 times to collect car parts etc and it's an incredibly boring drive..hard to stay awake when you're travelling from Limerick-Dublin-Limerick..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭Sobanek

Why are you being punished for one offence in many different ways? The only offence he commited was speeding. That's it. I hate the way they try to force a much higher offence on you here. My friend was overtaking in a city (where it was perfectly legal to do so), and he almost got banned from driving since he was "driving dangerously".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 376 ✭✭sawfish

Blazer wrote: »
    complete agree..my car is a 5 series, only the best tyres on her, properly maintained etc and to be honest I normally only travel at the limit on the motorway..going up it was cruise control on 122kph and coming back since traffic was practically non-existent I opened her up just to see what it was like as I normally don't be travelling on the motorway and generally stick to the limits.
    I've been to Dublin 3/4 times to collect car parts etc and it's an incredibly boring drive..hard to stay awake when you're travelling from Limerick-Dublin-Limerick..

At least with the cruise control you just have to hold the wheel . You can rest your foot.

Without cruise control its more tempting to put the foot down i think.