Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Aengus MacGrianna RTE News

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,234 ✭✭✭Fresh Pots

The poor guy just can't catch a break can he!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,696 ✭✭✭Lisha

Funny

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,696 ✭✭✭Fishooks13

In before tax payers money rant!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

RTE (who we tax tax to...LOL)...have blocked it........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,873 ✭✭✭Skid

RTÉ are being spoilsports and blocking the clip on Youtube.

It still works in this link (at the moment) http://www.independent.ie/national-news/video-aengus-mac-grianna-suffers-another-embarrassing-slipup-live-on-television-3348238.html

we're all human.......still a top news reader in my book

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

That was very funny, I like Aengus MacGrianna and I'm so glad he makes an effort for his public :D

That clip reminds me of my grandmother, she used to brush her hair and put on her lipstick anytime Charles Mitchell was reading the news :D:D:D

LOL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,383 ✭✭✭emeraldstar

Ah, poor Aengus. His face once he realises is priceless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,143 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

he was very annoyed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

Poor Aengus, he's having a hard time of it lately... Hope it doesnt affect his confidence... He should go on Mooney show or something and just have a laugh about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,091 ✭✭✭Antar Bolaeisk

I reckon it's all a ploy to get more people watching the news so that, when the day comes, they can control as many people as possible at once with subliminal messaging.

Stop watching the news!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭DubTony

Somebody has it in for this poor chap.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 454 ✭✭Israel_Dagg

Unreal :D Love his reaction!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,048 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

Poor Aengus, he's having a hard time of it lately... Hope it doesnt affect his confidence... He should go on Mooney show or something and just have a laugh about it.

What else happened him :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,006 ✭✭✭bmwguy

HeidiHeidi wrote: »

He was reading news when his auto cue must have malfunctioned so he just stopped mid story and looked very awkward. Was recent too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,066 ✭✭✭✭Happyman42

The man's a liability, sack him forthwith...or even sooner! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,077 ✭✭✭✭bnt

The story has crossed the Irish Sea, too:
    Happily, the Dubliner has taken the episode in good spirits, calling it one of the hazards of the job.

He said: ‘It was a technical problem and simply one of the hazards of the trade.

'I can’t believe it’s been of such interest, but I am delighted that so many people are watching our digital news channel News Now. And yes, I’m back to the desk as normal again today!’

The clip was an immediate hit online when it emerged on Wednesday night, but much to the dismay of many, RTÉ then removed it from its own play-back service and YouTube.

A spokesman for the station insisted that it was not an effort to censor people’s enjoyment of the clip but rather to ensure that Mac Grianna approved of the clip’s circulation.

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,449 ✭✭✭livEwirE

He's gone global now :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,029 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

He should be in Anchorman 2 :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭Topper Harley

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    He should be in Anchorman 2 :p

You should start a petition to get him a cameo appearance. It could happen. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,640 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

The 'What?!' bit is going to be hard to top for funniest moment of the year. I was in stitches at that.

Fair play to him. I actually thought he was a bit stiff and sombre whenever I've seen him do the news but he seems to have a good sense of humour and I find him far more likeable after seeing this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,972 ✭✭✭cofy

He passes off the bloopers in such a good natured way. I would love to meet him, I'd say he's gas craic, he definitely makes the news interesting.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 420 ✭✭CommanderC

Im just shocked that they do their own make up :p

Aengus has come out of this well.

Watch out for the other Newsreaders starting to make 'accidental' blunders now - they will all want some of the Viral Youtube action.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,097 ✭✭✭roanoke

Kind of funny that I can't find video of a snickers ad that was all the rage back in the late 90s, but now thanks to the digital age moments like this will now probably be available out there in the ether for ever & ever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭DazMarz

The old saying of "Today's news is tomorrow's fish-and-chips wrapper" is long gone. Thanks to the likes of YouTube and social media sites, the news-cycle has been altered forever. The collective memory of the viewing public at large will now be much longer than it was in the past and things will not be forgotten as quickly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,903 ✭✭✭✭ted1

I'm beginning to think its all a ploy to get extra air time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭juan.kerr

The 'what' is funny, but the way he checks himself out just after applying the make up is hilarious.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,711 ✭✭✭C.K Dexter Haven

Hope he's laughing and seeing the funny side of it. He's a good newsreader but has been somewhat unfortunate of late.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,443 ✭✭✭ofcork

On a slighly related note why have rte cut the news on rte2 at night right back,it used to be 20-25mins with a sports person as well and now its 10mins with just a newsreader.

ofcork wrote: »
    On a slighly related note why have rte cut the news on rte2 at night right back,it used to be 20-25mins with a sports person as well and now its 10mins with just a newsreader.

Online version? Costs? Combination of both?

RTE 2 viewers more of a progressive audience I imagine who aren't really interested in looking at news/sport at that hour. Changing time I reckon. I still don't understand how advertising works on TV these days with all the online/smart TV programmes on.:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,903 ✭✭✭✭ted1

ofcork wrote: »
    They have a dedicated news channel, no need to tie up time on other channels

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

oh ffs.. Will she ever wash that t-shirt..

Wrong thread again, JA :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

The Don's not angry Aengus, just a little disappointed....

main-005-12.jpg

Yamanoto wrote: »

main-005-12.jpg

Oh. That was low. Real low. :D

Edit. Don will always be King of RTE News.:cool:

Sorry Aengus:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 Citizen101

I'm a sad person who likes to sit down and watch the 9 news on RTE1 in the evening.
    Getting increasingly irritated that they muck around with the time on Sat.
    Not only is it a different time than the other nights, worse, it is not even consistant from week to week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,097 ✭✭✭roanoke

main-005-12.jpg

Great name too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

Citizen101 wrote: »
    I'm a sad person who likes to sit down and watch the 9 news on RTE1 in the evening.
    Not only is it a different time than the other nights, worse, it is not even consistant from week to week.
    You're not alone, my husband was giving out about the very same thing this evening. He sat down to watch the news and got Mrs. Brown's Boys instead. He was not impressed. Thankfully, we've Sky+, so it was just a matter of rewinding to the get the news.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,977 ✭✭✭Soby

main-005-12.jpg

I always thought the Don had the face of an Undertaker.

He always looked like he was about to announce the Russians had launched a Nuclear Bomb.

Having said that, he was a very good Newsreader. Good diction, no frills.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

MrsD007 wrote: »
    You're not alone, my husband was giving out about the very same thing this evening. He sat down to watch the news and got Mrs. Brown's Boys instead. He was not impressed. Thankfully, we've Sky+, so it was just a matter of rewinding to the get the news.

I switched over to RTE1 expecting to catch the weather forecast, and saw Joe Duffy performing what looked like a seance. I'm tempted to ring Liveline on Monday to complain...

Citizen101 wrote: »

I'm right there with ya :mad:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭darkdubh

Skid wrote: »
    RTÉ are being spoilsports and blocking the clip on Youtube.

It still works in this link (at the moment) http://www.independent.ie/national-news/video-aengus-mac-grianna-suffers-another-embarrassing-slipup-live-on-television-3348238.html
    Humourless feckers!They blocked the video of the Late Late creepy stare man as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 Citizen101

RayM wrote: »
    I switched over to RTE1 expecting to catch the weather forecast, and saw Joe Duffy performing what looked like a seance. I'm tempted to ring Liveline on Monday to complain...

I am tempted . . . even though I don't much like the tenor of bitching and outrage on Liveline.

(Remember when Liveline was up in arms about the 2 OAPs whose Killiney home was repossesed? Then it turned out the couple were landlords with about 200 apartments and they had not made mortgage repayments on Killiney hill for about 3 years.!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,758 ✭✭✭Laois_Man

Is it just me - am I tuning in at the wrong times and missed him - but no sign of Aengus reading any news bullitin since this epsiode happened???

Laois_Man wrote: »
    Is it just me - am I tuning in at the wrong times and missed him - but no sign of Aengus reading any news bullitin since this epsiode happened???
    It's just you. :D I wouldn't be watching the news very much but I know I've seen him reading it since this happened.

Reading the 9 o'clock news right now :D

ETA - wearing the very same shirt and tie if I'm not mistaken!

wearing the very same shirt and tie if I'm not mistaken!

I'll have to take you're word for that, noticing people's fashion trends wouldn't be my strong point. :p